State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

Department of Justice

Regulatory Action:

Title 11, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections: 9

999.501, 999.502

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Section 11349.3

OAL Matter Number: 2019-1031-02

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

In this resubmittal of OAL Matter No. 2019-0829-02S, the Department of Justice is adopting regulations pertaining to an initial license fee and a license renewal fee for a licensed pawnbroker or secondhand dealer.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2020.

Date:

November 19, 2019

Original: Xavier Becerra, Attorney

General

Copy: Julia Zuffelato

For:

Kenneth J. Pogue

Director

Attorney

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

TITLE 11. LAW DIVISION 1. ATTORNEY GENERAL CHAPTER 20. CALIFORNIA PAWN AND SECONDHANDDEALER SYSTEM (CAPSS)

Chapter 202. California Pawn and SecondhandDealer System (CAPSS)

Article 2. License Fees

§ 999.501. Initial License Fee.

- (a) The initial license fee for a licensed pawnbroker or a secondhand dealer is \$300.00.
- (b) The initial license fee shall be paid by check or money order payable to California Department of Justice and submitted to the licensing authority.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 21641, 21642, and 21642.5, Business and Professions Code; Sections 21300, and 21301, Financial Code.

Reference: Sections 21641, 21642, and 21642.5, Business and Professions Code; Sections 21300, and 21301, Financial Code.

§ 999.502. License Renewal Fee.

- (a) The license renewal fee for a licensed pawnbroker or a secondhand dealer is \$300.00.
- (b) The license renewal fee shall be paid by check or money order payable to California Department of Justice and submitted to the licensing authority.
- (c) The license term is two years from the date of issue. If not renewed, the license is expired the calendar day following the end of the license term.
- (d) License renewal fees must be received by the Department prior to the end of the license term. Thereafter, license renewal fees are delinquent.
- (e) Access to CAPSS shall be denied whenever license renewal fees are delinquent for 60 calendar days beyond the expiration date of the license.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 21641, 21642, and 21642.5, Business and Professions Code;

Sections 21300, and 21301, Financial Code.

Reference: Sections 21641, 21642, and 21642.5, Business and Professions Code;
Sections 21300, and 21301, Financial Code.