• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

ADVANCED CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION

Class Code: 
S902

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Rancho Cordova
Class Description: 
This POST-approved course will be directed to the forensic investigator responding to complex crime scenes that expand to multiple jurisdictions or involve multiple (high count) fatalities. In addition, the class in advanced reconstruction and major scene logistics focuses on techniques relevant to the investigation of the serial criminal and long-duration investigations involving the “at-large and unknown perpetrator,” often the seed of what becomes an unsolved homicide. The course helps students develop practical skills to effectively process extraordinary scenes and to support the reconstruction of the perpetrator(s)’ activities. Students will participate in a mock scene investigation involving multiple or mass deaths occurring at multiple locations.
Instructor: 
Joe Rynearson
Teaching Methods: 
This course involves classroom time and outdoor processing of crime scenes. Rain or shine, a complex major scene with multiple body count will be processed. Be prepared for the weather.
Objectives: 
Students should come to class prepared to discuss the specific human and material resources within their jurisdiction that are available to support a crime-scene response requiring several days of on-site processing. Examples of such events include areas of high-count homicides in densely populated public areas or linked events involving multiple investigating agencies and/or recovery of illicitly buried bodies.
Preparation: 
Students should bring a basic crime scene kit including: measuring devices (at least a 20-foot tape and/or 100-foot tape), scene-sketching materials, field-use fingerprint materials (brush, powder, lift tape and cards), packaging materials and note-taking materials and camera with flash.
Materials Fee: 
$35.00 Materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of the class. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:


No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]