• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Detection and Recovery of Footwear and Tire Impressions

Class Code: 
E140

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento or Los Angeles
Class Description: 
This three-day (24-hour) class is designed for crime scene technicians and investigators and others who need to recovery techniques for footwear and tire impression evidence. The course provides extensive information, and some hands-on practical exercises, to assist non-examiners in understanding why footwear and tire impression evidence is important, and how to recover it. Also covered is what this information can do to assist the investigation, and the type of examination results that can be expected. Included are instruction and demonstrations of how to document, photograph and cast impressions, the use of several electrostatic and other lifting methods, and the latest methods and formulations for chemically enhancing impressions at both the crime scene and in the laboratory. Numerous other related topics are also covered, including identification and utilization of footwear and tire impressions, shoe sizing, contusion impressions, footwear and tire databases, and barefoot impressions. Case histories will be used to demonstrate the application of the topics covered in class.
Instructor: 
William Bodziak, Bodziak Forensics, Palm Coast, FL
Teaching Methods: 
Lectures, demonstrations, practical exercises, critiques, discussions
Objectives: 
To understand why and how footwear and tire track impression evidence is detected and recovered.
Prerequisites: 
This class is designed for crime scene technicians, criminal investigators and others who need to improve their understanding of and recovery techniques for footwear and tire impression evidence.
Materials Fee: 
A $75.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to the California State Department of Justice
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $360.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort ascending Date(s)
TBA March 2-4, 2016
Los Angeles Feb. 25-27, 2015

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]