• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Footwear Impression Evidence Comparison

Class Code: 
E141

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Los Angeles
Class Description: 
This 5-day (38-hour) course reviews essential information for those who examine footwear impression evidence and must provide written reports and expert testimony on their observations and conclusions. The course provides an understanding of basic footwear manufacturing techniques as they assist in the evaluation of class characteristics, as well as which aspects of manufacturing may enhance examination results. In addition, the wear and random individual characteristics, which enable positive identification of a shoe, are covered. Approximately 35-40 exercises and case examinations will be independently conducted by each student and discussed to teach and re-enforce both fundamental examination methodology and observations, and to provide experience with a variety of examination results ranging from identifications to non-identifications. Additional items to be covered include creation of exemplar impressions of suspected footwear, contusion impressions, shoe sizing, hands-on chemical enhancement of impressions, barefoot impressions, and a thorough review of the photography, casting and lifting methods necessary to recover this form of evidence
Instructor: 
William Bodziak, Bodziak Forensics, Palm Coast, FL
Teaching Methods: 
Lectures, practical exercises, critiques, discussions and examination
Objectives: 
To gain familiarity with principles, techniques and systematic practices used for the collection, recovery, preservation and examination of footwear and footwear impression evidence.
Prerequisites: 
This class is limited to qualified crime laboratory personnel who will examine footwear and footwear impression evidence. It is geared to both new and experienced examiners.
Materials Fee: 
A $100.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Location Date(s)sort ascending
TBA March 7-11, 2016

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]