• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Forensic Alcohol Supervisor

Class Code: 
T109

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Rancho Cordova
Class Description: 
This one-week (40-hour) course presents the scientific principles relating to the analysis of blood, breath, and urine samples for alcohol content as well as the effects of alcohol on a person?s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely. This course meets the requirements of Section 1216.1(e)(2) of Title 17 of the California Code of Regulations to waive the two years experience necessary to qualify as a Forensic Alcohol Supervisor. The course will include the following subjects: (A) Value and purpose of forensic alcohol analysis, including breath alcohol; (B) Physiology of alcohol; (C) Pharmacology and toxicology of alcohol; (D) Laboratory methods of alcohol analysis; (E) Instruments and procedures for breath alcohol determination; (F) Practical laboratory demonstration of the student?s ability to perform alcohol analysis; (G) Interpretation of blood alcohol results; correlation of levels with observations of behavior and demeanor; and of levels with amount of ingested alcohol; (H) Court testimony; (I) Court decisions regarding chemical tests of alcohol; and (J) Requirements of Title 17.
Instructor: 
Various
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, audiovisual presentations, and demonstrations.
Objectives: 
Students will be able to relate impairment with blood alcohol concentration, describe the metabolism and elimination of alcohol in humans, design and perform their own impairment studies, and be conversant with current California regulations controlling alcohol testing.
Prerequisites: 
Forensic Alcohol Analyst.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading material and project.
Materials Fee: 
$50.00 Materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of the class. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to California public crime laboratory personnel. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:


No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]