• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Interpretation of Infrared Spectra

Class Code: 
C131

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute /
Class Description: 
This three-day (24 hour) course provides training in the theory, comparison, identification, and interpretation of the infrared spectra of organic compounds. The course is intended for forensic scientists involved in the analysis of materials such as controlled substances, paints, fibers, and explosives where infrared spectra are used for identification. Students should possess knowledge of organic and physical chemistry commensurate with a baccalaureate degree in one of the natural sciences. Students must be familiar with the preparation and presentation of spectra. This is NOT a laboratory course. Successful completion of this course will provide the student with a basic understanding of the mechanism and theory of infrared spectroscopy and the capability of elucidating organic structures using band assignments. Students will be expected to solve practical problems in structural determinations. They may be asked to give brief oral presentations of the problem solutions. Each class is limited to 24 students. POST has suspended reimbursement for Plan IV until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Robert L. Julian, Ph.D.
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures and practical exercises.
Objectives: 
Students will be able to demonstrate the use of a systematic approach toward comparison and interpretation of infrared spectra.
Prerequisites: 
Organic Chemistry. Preparation and presentation of infrared spectra.
Preparation: 
Review nomenclature of organic chemical functional groups.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of class. make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $360.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort ascending Date(s)
Orange County Sept. 23-25, 2014

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]