• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Laboratory Safety Officer

Class Code: 
H102

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
This four day (32 hour) course will provide students with a basic understanding of the fundamental principles of health and safety that directly relate to forensic laboratory operations. Successful completion of the course will allow the student to assist their laboratory management personnel in maintaining an effective health and safety program. Graduates will understand and be able to follow a standard industrial hygiene approach in problem solving including hazard recognition, evaluation and control, for the subject topics. Course topics will cover issues germane to both technical and administrative staff. Some of the principle topics covered include (but are not limited to) bloodborne pathogens, chemical hygiene plan, ergonomics, exhaust ventilation, waste management and legal issues. Because of the availability of other training, some topics directly related to clandestine drug laboratory scenes and firearms safety will not be addressed in this course. Each class is limited to 12 students. This course is POST reimbursable, Plan IV
Instructor: 
Various
Teaching Methods: 
Lectures, video presentations, practical and written exercises.
Objectives: 
To develop an understanding of essential laboratory health and safety practices and respective regulatory requirements via the interactive exercises and classroom discussions.
Prerequisites: 
Basic understanding of forensic laboratory work activities and familiarization with general chemistry and biology terminology.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading/activity package may be required.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $480.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort descending Date(s)
Rancho Cordova March 9-12, 2015

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]