• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Latent Print Comparisons

Class Code: 
E152

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
This five-day (38 hour) course is intended for individuals responsible for the comparison and identification of latent prints and is designed to acquaint students with the fundamental principles and methods of friction ridge identification. Friction ridge formation, orientation of latent finger and palm impressions, verification and reporting procedures, and note taking and documentation will be discussed. Students will participate in comparison and courtroom testimony practical exercises. Although this course is intended for the new or less experienced latent print examiner, it is not intended for the individual with no previous fingerprint experience and has been designed to follow the Fingerprint Pattern Recognition (E150) and Latent Print Techniques (E151) courses. The student should already be familiar with fingerprint history, terminology, and pattern recognition, and also the effects of development techniques on the appearance of latent impressions. Each class is limited to 15 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Felita Chapman & Others
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, demonstrations, and practical exercises.
Objectives: 
Students will be required to compare and correctly identify a number of latent finger and palm impressions and orally defend the identifications to the satisfaction of the instructors. Students will also be expected to pass a written test at the conclusion of this class.
Prerequisites: 
Completion of Fingerprint Pattern Recognition (E150) or equivalent and Latent Print Techniques (E151) or equivalent.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of class. Make checks payable to the Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort descending Date(s)
Rancho Cordova April 27-May 1, 2015

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]