• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Latent Print Techniques

Class Code: 
E151

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
This one-week (38 hour) course is intended for individuals responsible for collecting latent print evidence at crime scenes and/or processing evidence for latent prints in the laboratory. The course is designed to acquaint students with various techniques used in the development of latent prints, as well as the sequence in which the techniques should be applied in order to achieve the best possible results. The students will participate in practical exercises involving fingerprint powders and lifting techniques, the applicaton of ninhydrin, cyanoacrylate fuming, laser/forensic light source and photographic techniques, and courtroom testimony. The course will also cover laboratory safety, friction ridge formation, latent print constituents, note taking and documentation, packaging and handling of evidence, and latent print evaluation. While they are briefly reviewed, an understanding of basic fingerprint pattern types, fingerprint history, and terminology is assumed. These subjects are covered thoroughly in the prerequsite course Fingerprint Pattern Recognition (E150). Each class is limited to 15 students. This course is POST reimbursable, Plan IV.
Instructor: 
Felita Chapman & Others
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, demonstrations, and practical laboratory exercises
Objectives: 
Students will be required to develop latent finger prints on a variety of surfaces using print powders, ninhydrin, and cyanoacrylate ester and evaluate them against for comparison to the satisfaction of the instructors. Students will also be expected to pass a written test at the conclusion of the class.
Prerequisites: 
Familiarity with basic crime scene processing, photography, and completion of Fingerprint Pattern Recognition (E150) or equivalent.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading package.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due and payable at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to the Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort descending Date(s)
Rancho Cordova Dec. 8-12, 2014

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]