• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Mitochondrial DNA Analysis

Class Code: 
R602

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
Jan Bashinski DNA Laboratory / CCI Richmond
Class Description: 
This 10-1/2 day (86-hour) course conveys in-depth information on human mitochondrial genome biology, evolution, and inheritance as well as practical experience on analytical methods to type genetic variation in this genome. Guidelines on quality assurance, quality control and statistical interpretation of mitochondrial DNA data are reviewed for case work and human identification (missing persons programs). Class is limited to twelve students.
Instructor: 
Jan Bashinski DNA Laboratory Staff and guest lecturers
Teaching Methods: 
Lecture, discussion, demonstrations, and exercises
Objectives: 
Students will gain laboratory experience on (1) DNA extraction from hair, (2) Real Time quantitative PCR for assessment of nuclear and mitochondrial genome copies, (3) PCR amplification of variable regions HV1 and HV2, (4) Microchip (Agilent)-based quantification of amplified products, (5) cycle sequencing and separation of di-deoxy termination products on the ABI Prism 3100 platform, (6) sequence analysis (Sequencher software) and (7) typing of amplified products by Linear Array (Sequence-specific Oligonucleotides). Participants will obtain an understanding on interpretational issues/guidelines regarding both modes of typing (sequencing and Linear Array) with emphasis on the interpretation of patterns of heteroplasmy, and statistical assessments of frequency estimates of mitochondrial haplotypes. Recent developments in SNP-typing technology for variable sites outside of the HV1 and HV2 regions (coding regions) and applications of mitochondrial DNA typing to animal forensic investigations, will also be covered.
Prerequisites: 
SWGDAM-specified courses; casework or casework in-training experience or approval by the CCI Biology/Program Manager
Materials Fee: 
$75.00 Materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of the class. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
POST-certified; no cost to California public crime laboratory personnel. A $1,200.00 tuition fee is required for all other public agencies, private sector, or out of state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:


No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]