
BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22970-22971.5 

22970. This division shall be known as and may be cited as the 
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003. 

22970.1. The Legislature finds and declares all of the following: 
(a) The State of California has enacted excise taxes on the 

distribution of cigarettes and tobacco products to provide funding 
for local and state progr.ams, including health services, antismoking 
campaigns, cancer research, and education programs. 

(b) Tax revenues have declined by hundreds of millions of dollars 
per year due, in part, to unlawful distributions and untaxed sales of 
cigarettes and tobacco products conducted by organized crime 
syndicates, street gangs, and international terrorist groups. 

(c) The enforcement of California 1 s cigarette and tobacco products 
tax laws is necessary to collect millions of dollars in lost tax 
revenues each year. 

(d) The licensing of manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, 
distributors, and retailers will help stem the tide of untaxed 
distributions and illegal sales of cigarettes and tobacco products. 

22970.2. The board shall administer a statewide program to license 
manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of 
cigarettes and tobacc? products. 

22970.3. The board may create a Tobacco Tax Compliance Task Force 
for the purpose of advising the board on cigarette and tobacco 
products tax compliance issues that may include, but not. be limited 
to, representatives from the following: 

(a) The board. 
(b) The office of the Attorney General. 
(c) The Franchise Tax Board. 
(d) The Department of AlcohoLic Beverage Control. 
(e) The State Department of Health Services. 
(f) Federal agencies necessary to coordinate programs to combat 

tobacco tax evasion, smuggling, and counterfeiting. 
(g) One person from each of the categories of persons required by 

this division to have a liCense. 
(h) Other states engaged in tobacco tax compliance efforts. 
(i) Local law enforcement 9gencies. 

22971. For purposes of this division, the following terms shall 
have the following meanings: 

(a) "Board" means the State Board of Equalization. 
(b) "Brahd family" has the same meaning as that term is defined in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 30165.1 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code. 

(c) "Cigarette" means a cigarette as defined in Section 30003 of 
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the Revenue and Taxation Code, 
(d) (1) "Control" or "controllingrr means possession, direct or 

indirect, of the power: 
(A) To vote 25 percent or more of any class of the voting 

securities issued by a person. 
(B) To direct or cause the direction of the management and 

policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting 
securities, by contract, other than a commercial contract for goods 
or nonmanagement services, or as otherwise provided; however, no 
individual shall be deemed to control a person solely on account of 
being a director, officer, or employee of that person. 

(2) For purposes of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1), a person 
who, directly or indirectly, owns, controls, holds, with the power to 
vote, or holds proxies representing 10 percent or more of the then 
outstanding voting securities issued by another person, is presumeq 
to control that other person. 

(3) For purposes of this division, the board may determine whether 
a person in fact controls another person. 

(e) ''Display for sale'' means the placement of cigarettes or 
tobacco products in a vending machine or in retail stock for the 
purpose of selling or gifting the cigarettes or tobacco products. For 
purposes of this definition, the clear and easily visible display of 
cigarettes or tobacco products shall create a rebuttable presumption 
that either were displayed for sale. 

(f) "Distributor" means a distributor as defined in Section 30011 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(g) "Gifting" means any transfer of title or possession without 
consideration, exchange, or barter, in any manner or by any means, of 
cigarettes or tobacco products that have been purchased for resale 
under a license issued pursuant to this division if the transfer 
occurs while the license is suspended or after the effective date of 
its revocation. 

(h) "Importer" means an importer as defined in Section 30019 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(i) "Law enforcement agency" means a sheriff, a police department, 
or a city, county, or city and county agency or department 
designated by the governing body of that agency to enforce this 
chapteE or to enforce local smoking and tobacco ordinances and 
regulations. 

(j) "License" means a license issued by the board pursuant to this 
division. 

(k) "Licensee" means any person holding a license issued by the 
board pursuant to this division. 

(1) "Manufacturer'' means a manufacturer of cigarettes or tobacco 
products sold in this state. 

(m) "Notice'' or ''notification'' means, unless as otherwise 
provided, the written notice or notification provided to a licensee 
by the board by either actual delivery to the licensee or by 
first-class mail addressed to the licensee at the address on the 
license. 

(n) "Package of cigarettes'' means a package as defined ~n Section 
30015 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(o) "Person'' means a person as defined in Section 30010 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(p) "Retailer'' means a person who engages in this state in the 
sale of cigarettes or tobacco products directly to the public from a 
retail location. Retailer includes a person who operates vending 
machines from which cigarettes or tobacco products are sold in this 
state. 

(g) ''Retail location'' means both of the following: 
(1) Any building from which cigarettes or tobacco products are 

sold at retail. 
(2) A vending machine. 



(r) ••sale" or "sold'' means a sale as defined in Section 30006 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(s) "Tobacco products 11 means tobacco products as defined in 
subdivision (b) of Section 30121 and subdivision (b) of Section 
30131.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(t) 11 Unstamped package of cigarettes" means a package of 
cigarettes that does not bear a tax stamp as required under Part 13 
(commencing with Section 30001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, including a package of cigarettes that bears a tax 
stamp of another state.or taxing jurisdiction, a package of 
cigarettes that bears a counterfeit tax stamp, or a stamped or 
unstamped package- of cigarettes that· is marked "Not for sale in the 
United States." 

(u) ''Wholesaler'' means a wholesaler as defined in Section 30016 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

22971.1. Commencing January 1, 2006, the Bureau of State Audits 
shall conduct a performance audit of the licensing and enforcement 
provisions of this division, and shall report its findings to the 
board and the Legislature by July 1, 2006. The report shall include, 
but not be limited to: 

(a) The actual costs of the program. 
(b) The level of additiona1 revenue generated by the program 

compared to the period before its implementation. 
(c) Tax compliance rates. 
(d) The costs of enforcement at the varying levels, 
(e) The appropriateness of penalties assessed in this division. 
(f) The overall effectiveness of enforcement programs. 

22971.2. The board shall administer and enforce the provisions of 
this division and may prescribe, adopt, and enforce rules and 
regulations relating to the administration and enforcement of this 
division. 

22971.3. Nothing in this division preempts or supersedes any local 
tobacco control law other than those related to the collection of 
state taxes, Local licensing laws may provide for the suspension or 
revocation of the local license for any violation of a state tobacco 
control law. 

22971.4. No person is subject to the requirements of this division 
if that person is exempt from regulation under the United States 
Constitution, the laws of the United States, or the California 
Constitution. 

22971.5. Any notice required by this division shall be served 
personally or by mail. If by mail, the notice shall be placed in a 
sealed envelope, with postage paid, addressed to the licensee at the 
address as it appears in the records of the board. The giving of 
notice shall be deemed complete at the time of deposit of the notice 
in the United States Post Office, or a mailbox, subpost offic·e, 
substation, or mail chute, or other facility regularly maintained or 
provided by the United States Postal Service, without extension of 
time for any reason. In lieu of mailing, a notice may be served 
personally by delivering to the person to be served and service shall 
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be deemed complete at the time of delivery. Personal service to a 
corporation may be made by delivery of a notice to any person 
designated in the Cod8 of Civil Procedure to be served for the 
corporation with summons and complaints in a civil action, 



BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22972-22974.8 

22972. (a) Commencing June 30, 2004, a retailer shall have in place 
and maintain a license to engage in the sale of cigarettes or 
tobacco products. A retailer that owns or controls more than one 
retail location shall obtain a separate license for each retail 
location, but may submit a single application for those licenses. 

(b) The retailer shall conspicuously display the license at each 
retail location in a manner visible to the public. 

{c) A license is not assignable or transferable. A person who 
obtains a license as a retailer who ceases to do business as 
specified in the license, or who never commenced business, or whose 
license is suspended or revoked, shall immediately surrender the 
license to the board. 

(d) A license shall be valid for a 12-month period, and shall be 
renewed annually. 

22972.1. (a) Notwithstanding Section 22972 or Section 22973, the 
board may issue. to a retailer a temporary license with a scheduled 
expiration da~e, as determined by the board, that occurs on or before 
September 30, 2004. 

(b) A temporary license issued pursuant to this section shall be 
automatically terminated upon the board's issuance of a license 
pursuant to Section 22973.1. 

(c) A temporary license issued pursuant to this section is subject 
to the same suspension, revocation, and forfeiture provisions that 
apply to licenses issued by the board pursuant to Section 22973.1. 

22973. (a) An application for a license shall be filed on or before 
April 15, 2004, on a form prescribed by the board and shall include 
the following: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant. 
(2) The business name, address, and telephone number of each 

retail location. For applicants who control more than one retail 
location, an address for receipt of correspondence or notices from 
the board, such as a headquarters or corporate office of the 
retailer, shall also be included on the application and listed on the 
license. Citations issued to licensees shall be forwarded to all 
addressees on the license. 

(3) A statement by the applicant affirming that the applicant has 
not been convicted of a felony and has not violated and will not 
violate or cause or permit to be violated any of the provisions of 
this division or any rule of the board applicable to the applicant or 
pertaining to the manufacture, sale, or distribution of cigarettes 
or tobacco products. If the applicant is unable to affirm this 
statement, the application shall contain a statement by the applicant 
of the nature of any violation or the reasons that will prevent the 
applicant from complying with the requirements with respect to the 
statement. 

( 4) If any other licenses or permits have been. issued by the board 
or the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to the applicant, 



the license or permit number of those licenses or permits then in 

effect. 


(5) A statement by the applicant that the contents of the 

application are complete, true, and correct. Any person who signs a 

statement pursuant to this subdivision that asserts the truth of any 

material matter that he or she knows to be false is guilty of a 

misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to one year in the 

county jail, or a fine .of not more than one thousand dollars 

($1,000), or both the imprisonment and the fine. 

(6) The signature of the applicant. 
(7) Any other information the board may require. 
(b) The board may investigate to determine the truthfulness and 


completeness of the information provided in the application. The 

board may issue a license without further investigation to an 

applicant for a retail location if the applicant holds a valid 

license from the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control for that 

same location. 


(c) The board shall provide electronic means for applicants to 

download and submit applications. 


(d) (1) A one-time license fee of one hundred dollars ($100) shall 
be submitted with each application. An applicant that owns or 
controls more than one retail location shall obtain a separate 
license for each retail location, but may submit a single application 
for those licenses with a one-time license fee of one hundred 
dollars ($100) per location. 

(2) The one-time fee required by this subdivision does not apply 
to an application for renewal of a license for a retail location for 
which the one-time license fee has already been paid, If a license is 
reinstated after its expiration, the retailer, as a condition 
precedent to its reinstatement, shall pay a reinstatement fee of one 
hundred dollars ($100). 

22973.1. (a) The board shall issue a license to a retailer upon 
receipt of a completed application and payment of the fees prescribed 
in Section 22973, unless any of the following apply: 

(1) The retailer, or if the retailer is not an individual, any 
person controlling the retailer, has previously been issued a license 
that is suspended or revoked by the board for violation of any of 
the provisions of this division. 

(2) The application is for a license or renewal of a license for a 
retail location that is the same retail location 'as that of a 
retailer whose license was revoked or is subject to revocation 
proceedings for violation of any of the provisions of this division, 
unless: 

(A) It has been more than five years since a previous license for 
the retail location was revoked. 

(B) The person applying for the license provides the board with 

documentation demonstrating that the applicant has acquired or is 

acquiring the premises or business in an arm 1 s len9th transaction. 

For purposes of this section, an "arm 1 s length transaction 11 is 

defined as a sale in good faith and for valuable consideration that 

reflects the fair market value in the open market between two 

informed and willing parties, neither under any compu.lsion to 

participate in the transaction. A sale between relatives, related 

companies or partners, or a sale for the primary purpose of avoiding 

the effect of the violations of this division that occurred at the 

retail location, is presumed not to be made· at 11 arm 1 s length. 11 


(3) The retailer, or if the retailer is not an individual, any 
person controlling the retailer, has been convicted of a felony 

.Pursuant to Section 30473 or 30480 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
(4) The retailer does not possess all required permits or licenses 
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required under the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
(b) ( 1) Any retailer who is denied a license may petition for a 

redetermination of the board's denial of the license within 30 days 
after service upon that retailer of the notice of the denial of the 
license. If a petition for redetermination is not filed within the 
30-day period, the determination of denial becomes final at the 
expiration of the 30-day period. 

(2) Every petition for redetermination shall be in writing and 
shall state the specific grounds upon which the petition is founded. 
The petition may be amended to state additional grounds at anytime 
prior to the date on which the board issues its order or decision 
upon the petition for redetermination. 

(3) If the petition for redetermination is filed within the 30-day 
period, the board shall reconsider the determination of the denial 
and, if the retaile~ has so requested in the petition, shall grant 
the retailer an oral hearing and shall give the retailer at least 10 
days' notice of the time and place of the hearing. The board may 
continue the hearing from time to time as may be necessary, 

(4) The order or decision of the board upon a petition for 
redetermination becomes final 30 days after mailing of notice 
thereof. 

22973.2. The board shall, upon request, provide to the State 
Department of Health Services, the office of the Attorney General, a 
law enforcement agency, and any agency authorized to enforce local 
tobacco control ordinances, access to the board 1 s database of 
licenses issued to retailers within the jurisdiction of that agency 
or law enforcement agency. The agencies authorized by this section to 
access the board's database shall only access and use the board 1 s 
database for purposes of enforcing tobacco control laws and shall 
adhere to all state laws, policies, and regulations pertaining to the 
protection of personal information and individual privacy, 

22974. A retailer shall retain purchase invoices that meet the 
requirements set forth in Section 22978,4 for all cigarettes or 
tobacco products the retailer purchased for a period of four years, 
The records shall be kept at the retail location for at least one 
year after the purchase. Invoices shall be made available upon 
request during normal business hours for review inspection and 
copying by the board or by a law enforcement agency. Any retailer 
found in violation of these requirements or any person who fails, 
refuses, or neglects to retain or make available invoices for 
inspection and copying in accordance with this section shall be 
subject to penalties pursuant to Section 22981. 

22974.3. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, 
upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 
retailer or any other person possesses, stores, owns, or has made a 
retail sale of an unstamped package of cigarettes, the board or the 
law enforcement agency shall be authorized to seize unstamped 
packages of cigarettes at the retail, or any other person's location. 
Any cigarettes seized by a law enforcement agency shall be delivered 
to the board, or its designee, within seven days, ·unless the 
cigarettes will be destroyed by that law enforcement agency, or 
unless the cigarettes are otherwise required to be used as evidence 
in an administrative, criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an 
ongoing law enforcement operation. Any cigarettes seized by the 
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board or delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be 
deemed forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set forth 
in Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of Chapter 
7.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. In addition to the inventory of 
unstamped packages of cigarettes of a retailer or of any other 
person that is subject to forfeiture and seizure, the possession 1 

storage, ownership, or retail sales of unstamped packages of 
cigarettes by a retailer or other person, as applicable, shall 
conStitute a misdemeanor punishable by the following actions: 

(1) A first violation involving seizure of a total quantity of 
less than 20 packages of unstamped cigarettes shall be a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment 
not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 
imprisonment. 

(2) A second violation within five years involving a seizure of a 
total quantity of less than 20 packages of unstamped cigarettes shall 
be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than two thousand 
dollars ($2,000) but not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) or 
imprisonment not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 
fine and imprisonment, and shall also result in the revocation of the 
license. 

(3) A first vio-lation involving seizure of a total quantity of 20 
packages of unstamped cigarettes or more shall be a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisonment 
not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 
imprisonment. 

(4) A second violation within five years involving seizure of a 
quantity of 20 packages of unstarnped cigarettes or more shall be a 
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than five thousand 
dollars ($5,000) but not to exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) 
or imprisonment not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 
fine and i_mprisonment, and shall also restJl_t 1_n the revocation of the 
license. 

(b) Upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 
retailer or any other person possesses, stores, owns, or has made a 
retail sale of tobacco products on which tax is due but has not been 
paid to the board, the board or law enforcement agency is authorized 
to seize such tobacco products at the retail, or any other person's 
location. Any tobacco products seized by a law enforcement agency 
shall be delivered to the board, or its designee, within seven days, 
unless otherwise required to be used as evidence in an 
administrative, criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an 
ongo.ing law enforcement operation. Any tobacco products seized by the 
board or delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be 
deemed forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set 
forth in Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of 
Chapter 7.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. It shall be presumed 
that tax has not been paid to the board on all tobacco products in 
the possession of a retailer or of any other person until the 
contrary is established by a proof of payment to the board or by a 
purchase invoice that shows that the retailer or other person, as 
applicable, paid the tax included purchase price to a licensed 
distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer, or importer as described in 
Section 22978.4. The burden of proof that tax has been paid on 
tobacco products shall be upon the retailer or the other person, as 
applicable, in possession thereof. Possession of untaxed tobacco 
products on which tax is due but has not been paid as required is a 
violation of th~s division and subjects the retailer or other person, 
as applicable, to the actions described in Section 22981. 
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22974.4. The board shall revoke the license, pursuant to the 
provisions applicable tO the revocation of a license as set forth in 
Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, of any retailer or 
any person controlling the retailer that has: 

(a) Been convicted of a felony pursuant to Section 30473 or 30480 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) Had any permit or license revoked under any provision of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code. 

22974.5. Any retailer who fails to display a license as required in 
Section 22972 shall, in addition to any other applicable penalty, be 
liable for a penalty of five hundred dollars ($500). 

22974.7. In addition to any other civil or criminal penalty 
provided by law, upon a finding that a retailer has violated any 
provision of this division, the board may take the following actions: 

(a) In the case of the first offense, the board may revoke or 
suspend the license or licenses of the retailer pursuant to the 
procedures applicable to the revocation of a license set forth in 
Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) In the case of a second or any subsequent offense, in addition 
to the act~on authorized under -subdivision (a), the board may impose 
a civil penalty in an amount not t~ exceed the greater of either of 
the following: 

(1) Five times the retail value of the seized c~garettes or 
tobacco products. 

(2) Five thousand dollars ($5,000). 

22974.8. (a) (1) The board shall take action against a retailer, 
convicted of a violation of either the Stake Act (Division 8.5 
(commencing with Section 22950) or Section 308 of the Penal Code, 
according to the schedule set forth in subdivision (b) . 

(2) Convictions of violations by a retailer at one retail location 
may not be accumulated against other locations of that same 
retailer. 

(3) Convictions of violations accumulated against a prior retail 
owner at a licensed location may not be accumulated against a new 
retail owner at the same retail location. 

(4) Prior to suspending or revoking a retailer 1 s license to sell 
cigarette and tobacco products, the board shall notify the retailer. 
The notice shall include instructions for appealing the license 
suspension or revocation. 

(b) (1) Upon the first conviction of a violation of either the 
STAKE Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950) or Section 
308 of the Penal Code, the retailer shall receive a warning letter 
from the board that delineates the circumstances under which a 
retailer 1 s license may by suspended or revoked and the amount of time 
the license may be suspended or revoked. The retaj_ler and its 
employees shall receive training on tobacco control laws from the 
Department of Health Services upon a first conviction. 

(2) Upon the second conviction of a violation of either the STAKE 
Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) or Section 308 of 
the Penal Code within 12 months, the retailer shall be subject to a 
fine of five hundred dollars ($500). 

(3) Upon the third conviction of a violation of either the STAKE 
Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) or Section 308 of 
the Penal Code within 12 months, the retailer shall be subject to a 
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fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000). 
(4) Upon the fourth to the seventh conviction of a violation of 

either the STAKE Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) 
or Section 308 of the Penal Code within 12 months, the board shall 
suspend the retailer's license to sell cigarette and tobacco products 
for 90 days. 

(5) Upon the eighth conviction of a violation of the STAKE Act 
(Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950) or Section 308 of the 
Penal Code within 24 months, the board shall revoke the retailer's 
license to sell cigarette and tobacco products. 

(c) The decision of the board to suspend or revoke the retailer's 
license may be appealed to the board within 30 days after the notice 
of suspension or revocation. All appeals shall be submitted in 
writing. 

(d) The board's authority to take action against retailers, as set 
forth in this section, commences on the date of the release of the 
results from the survey undertaken by the Department of Health 
Services pursuant.to Section 22952 of the Business and Professions 
Code Section 22952 to comply with Section 1926 of Title XIX of the 
federal Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300x-26), and any 
implementing regulations adopted in relation thereto by the United 
States Department of Health and Human Services, showing that the 
youth purchase survey finds that 13 percent or more of youth were 
able to purchase cigarettes. The board's authority to take action 
under this section is inoperative on or after the date of the 
subsequent release of the results from the survey showing that less 
than 13 percent of youth were able to purchase cigarettes. 
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BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22975-22978.8 

22975. (a) In addition to licenses required pursuant to Part 13 
(commencing with Section 30001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, commencing June 30, 2004, every distributor and every 
wholesaler shall annually obtain and maintain a license to engage in 
the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products. 

(b) Licenses shall be valid for a calendar year period upon 
payment of the fee prescribed in Section 22977.1, unless surrendered, 
suspended, or revoked prior to the end of the calendar year, and may 
be renewed each year upon payment of such fee. 

(c) A license is not assignable or transferable. A person who 
obtains a license as a distributor or as a wholesaler who ceases to 
do business as specified in the license, or who never commenced 
business, or whose license is suspended or revoked, shall immediately 
surrender the license to the board. 

22976. A distributor or a wholesaler that, at the time of 
application, holds a valid license issued by the board pursuant to 
Section 30140 or 30155 of the Revenue and Taxation Code may be issued 
a license without further investigation. 

'2.'2.9'1"1. (a) An application for a license shall be on a form 
prescribed by the board and shall include the following: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant. 
(2) The business name, address, and telephone number of each 

location where cigarettes or tobacco products will be sold. For 
applicants -who control more than one location, an address for receipt 
of correspondence or notices from the board, such as a headquarters 
or corporate office, shall also be included in the application and 
listed on the license. Citations issued to licensees shall be 
forwarded to all addressees on the license. 

(3) A statement by the applicant affirming that the applicant has 
not been convicted of a felony and has not violated and will not 
violate or cause or permit to be violated any of the provisions of 
this division or any rule of the board applicable to the applicant or 
pertaining to the manufacture, sale, or distribution of cigarettes 
or tobacco products. If the applicant is unable to affirm this 
statement, the application shall contain a statement by the applicant 
of the nature of any violation or the reasons that will prevent the 
applicant from complying with the requirements with respect to the 
statement. 

(4) If any other licenses or permits have been issued by the board 
or the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to the. applicant, 
the license or permit numbers for such licenses or permits then in 
effect. 

(5) A statement by the applicant that the contents of the 
application are complete, true, and correct. Any person who signs a 
statement pursuant to this subdivision that asserts the truth of any 
material matter that he or she knows to be false is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to one year in the 
county jail, or a fine of not more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000), or both the imprisonment and the fine. 



(6) Signature of the applicant. 
(7) Any other information the board may require. 
(b) The board may investigate to determine the truthfulness and 

completeness of the information provided in the application. 
(c) The board shall provide electronic means for applicants to 

download and submit applications. 

22977.1. (a) Every distributor and every wholesaler shall file an 
application, as prescribed in Section 22977, on or before April 15, 
2004. Each application shall be accompanied by a fee of one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) for each location. The fee shall be for a calendar 
year and may not be prorated. Subject to meeting the requirements of 
this section and Section 22977.2, the board shall issue a license. 

(b) Every distributor and every wholesaler who commences business 
after the last day of May 2004, or who commences selling or 
distributing cigarettes or tobacco products at a new or different 
place of business in this state after the last day of May 2004, shall 
file with the board an application as. prescribed in Section 22977 at 
least 30 days prior to commencing such business or commencing such 
sales or distributions; and all distributors and all wholesalers that 
fail to timely file an application for a license under subdivision 
{a) shall file with the board an application as prescribed in Section 
22977. Each application shall be accompanied by a fee of one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) for each location. The fee shall be for a 
calendar year and may not be prorated. Subject to Section 22977.2, 
the board, within 30 days after receipt of an application and payment 
of the proper fee shall issue a license. 

(c) For calendar years beginning on and after January 1, 2005, 
every di~tributor, and every wholesaler shall file an application for 
renewal of the license prescribed in Section 22977, accompanied w.ith 
a fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each location where 
cigarettes and tobacco products are sold, in the form and manner as 
prescribed by the board. 

22977.2. (a) The board shall issue a license to. a distributor or a 
wholesaler upon receipt of a completed application and payment of the 
fee prescribed in Section 22977.1, unless any of the following 
apply: 

(1) The distributor or the wholesaler, or if the distributor or 
the wholesaler is not an individual, any person controlling the 
distributor or the wholesaler, has previously been issued a license 
that is suspended or revoked by the board for violation of any of the 
provisions of this division. 

(2) The application is for a license or renewal of a license for a 
distributor or a wholesaler, whose license is revoked or revocation 
is pending, unless: 

(A) It has been more than five years since a distributor's or a 
wholesaler's previous license was revoked. 

(B) The person applying for the license provides the board with 
documentation demonstrating that the appliCant has acquired or is 
acquiring the business in an arm's length transaction. For purposes 
of this section, an ''arm's length transaction'' is defined as a sale 
in good faith and for valuable consideration that reflects the fair 
market value in the open market between two informed and willing 
parties, neither under any compulsion to participate in the 
transaction. A sale of the business between relatives, related 
companies or partners 1 or a sale for the primary purpose of avoiding 
the effect of the violations of state tobacco control laws that were 
committed by the distributor or wholesaler is presumed not to be made 
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at "arm's length." 
(3) The distributor or the wholesaler, or if the distributor or 

the wholesaler is not an individual, any person controlling the 
distributor or the wholesaler has been convicted of a felony pursuant 
to Section 30473 or 30480 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) (1) Any distributor or any wholesaler who is denied a license 
may petition for a redetermination of the board's denial of the 
license within 30 days after service upon that distributor or that 
wholesaler of the notice of the denial of the license, If a petition 
for redetermination is not filed within the 30-day period, the 
determination of denial becomes final at the expiration of the 30-day 
period. 

(2) Every petition for redetermination shall be in writing and 
shall state the specific grounds upon which the petition is founded. 
The petition may be amended to state additional grounds at anytime 
prior to the date on which the board issues its order or decision 
upon the petition for redetermination. 

(3) If the petition for redetermination is filed within the 30-day 
period, the board shall reconsider the determination of the denial 
and, if the distributor or the wholesaler has so requested in the 
petition, shall grant the distributor or wholesaler an oral hearing 
and shall give the distributor or the wholesaler at least 10 days' 
notice of the time and place of the hearing. The board may continue 
the hearing from time to· time as may be necessary. 

(4) The order or decision of the board upon a petition for 
redetermination becomes final 30 days after mailing of notice 
thereof. 

22978. The board shall, upon request, provide to the State 
Department of Health Services, the office of the Attorney General, a 
law enforcement agency, and any agency authorized to enforce .1 ocal 
tobacco control ordinances, access to the board's database of 
licenses issued to distributors and wholesalers for locations within 
the jurisdiction of that agency or law enforcement agency. The 
agencies authorized by this section to access the board's database 
shall only access and use the board's database for purposes of 
enforcing tobacco control laws and shall adhere to all state laws, 
policies, and regulations pertaining to the protection of personal 
information and individual privacy. 

22978.1. All distributors and all wholesalers shall retain purchase 
records that meet the requirements set forth in Section 22978.5 for 
all cigarettes or tobacco products purchased. The records shall be 
maintained for a period of one year from the date of purchase on the 
distributor's or the wholesaler's premises identified in the license, 
and thereafter, the records shall be made available for inspection 
by the board or a law enforcement agency for a period of four years. 
Any distributor or any wholesaler found in violation of these 
requirements, or any person who fails, refuses, or neglects to retain 
or make available invoices for inspection and copying in accordance 
with this section shall be subject to penalties pursuant to Section 
22981. 

22978.2. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, 
upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 
distributor possesses, stores, owns, or has made a sale of an 
unstamped package of cigarettes bearing a counterfeit California 
state tax stamp or that a wholesaler possesses, stores, owns, or has 
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made a sale of an unstamped package of cigarettes, the board or the 
law enforcement agency shall be authorized to seize the unstamped 
packages of cigarettes at the distributor's or, the wholesaler's 
location. Any cigarettes seized by a law enforcement agency shall be 
delivered to the board, or its designee, within seven days, unless 
otherwise required to be used as evidence in an administrative, 
criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an ongoing law 
enforcement investigation. Any cigarettes seized by the board or 
delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be deemed 
forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set forth in 
Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of Chapter 7.5 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. In addition to the distributor's or 
wholesaler's inventory of unstamped packages of cigarettes being 
subject to seizure and forfeiture, the possession, storage, ownership 
or sale by a distributor or wholesaler of the unstamped package of 
cigarettes in the manner described above, shall constitute a 
misdemeanor punishable by the following actions: 

(1) A first violation involving seizure of a total quantity of 
less than 20 unstamped packages of cigarettes shall be a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment 
not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 
imprisonment. 

(2) A second violation within five years involving seizure of a 
total quantity of less than 20 unstamped packages of cigarettes shall 
be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than two thousand 
dollars ($2,000) but not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) or 

·imprisonment 	not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 
fine and imprisonment, and shall also result in the revocation of the 
license. 

(3) A first violation involving seizure of a total quantity of 20 
unstamped packages of cigarettes or more shall be a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisonment 
not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 
imprisonment. 

(4) A second violation within five years involving seizure of a 
total quantity of 20 unstamped packages of cigarettes or more shall 
be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than five thousand 
dollars ($5,000) but not to exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) 
or imprisonment not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 
fine and imprisonment, and shall also result in the revocation of the 
license. 

(b) Upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 
distributor or a wholesaler possesses,_ stores, owns, or has made a 
sale of tobacco products on which tax is due but has not been paid to 
the board, or its designee, the board or law enforcement agency is 
authorized to seize such tobacco products at the distributor or 
wholesaler location. Any tobacco products seized by a law enfor'cement 
agency shall be delivered to the board within seven days, unless 
otherwise required to be used as evidence in an administrative, 
criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an ongoing law 
enforcement operation. Any tobacCo products seized by the board or 
delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be deemed 
forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set forth in 
Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of Chapter 7.5 
of the Revenue and-Taxation Code. It shall be presumed that tax has 
not been paid to the board on all tobacco products in the possession 
of a distributor or a wholesaler until the contrary is established by 
the distributor•s proof of payment to the board or by a purchase 
invoice that shows that the wholesaler paid the tax included purchase 
price to a licensed distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer, or 
importer as described in Section 22978.4. The burden of proof that 
tax has been paid on tobacco products shall be upon the distributor 
or wholesaler in possession thereof. Possession by a distributor or a 



" 

wholesaler of tobacco products on which tax is due but has not been 
paid as required is a violation of this division and subjects the 
distributor or wholesaler to the actions described in Section 22981. 

22978.4. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (7), each 
distributor and each wholesaler shall include the following 
information on each invoice for the sale of cigarettes or tobacco 
products: 

(1) The name, address,. and telephone number of the distributor or 
wholesaler. 

(2) The license number of the distributor or the wholesaler as 
provided by the board. 

(3) The amount of excise taxes due to the board by the distributor 
on the sale of cigarettes and tobacco products. 

(4) The name, address, and license number of the retailer, 
distributor 1 or wholesaler to whom cigarettes or tobacco products are 
sold. 

(5) An itemized listing of the cigarettes or tobacco products 
sold. 

(6) The date the cigarette or tobacco products are sold. 
(7) Notwithstanding paragraph (3), a distributor that is also a 

retailer or manufacturer shall inciude either one of the following on 
each invoice for the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products: 

(A) A statement that reads: "All California cigarette and tobacco 
product taxes are included in the total amount of this invoice.rr 

(B) The amount of excise taxes due to the board by the distributor 
on the distribution of cigarettes and tobacco products. 

(b) Each invoice for the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products 
shall be legible and readable. 

(c) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section shall 
be a misdemeanor subject to penalties pursuant to Section 22981. 

22978.5. (a) Each distributor and each wholesaler of cigarette and 
tobacco products subject to licensing under this chapter shall 
maintain accurate and complete records relating to the sale of those 
products, including, but not limited to, receipts, invoices, and 
other records as may be required by the board, during the past four 
years with invoices for the past year to be maintained on the 
premises for whiCh the license was issued, and shall make these 
·records available upon request by a the board or a law enforcement 
agency. 

(b) Failure of a distributor or a wholesaler to comply with this 
section shall be a misdemeanor subject to penalties pursuant to 
Section 22981. 

22978.6. The board shall revoke the license, pursuant to the 
provisions applicable to the revocation of a license as set forth in 
Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, of any distributor or 
any wholesaler or any person controlling any distributor or any 
wholesaler that has: 

(a) Been convicted of a felony pursuant to Section 30473 or 30480 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) Had any permit or license revoked under any provision of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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22978.7. In addition to any other civil or criminal penalty 
provided by law, upon a finding that any distributor or any 
wholesaler has violated any provision of this division, the board may 
take the following actions: 

(a) In the case of the first offense, the board may revoke or 
suspend the license or licenses of the distributor or the wholesaler 
pursuant to the procedures applicable to the revocation of a license 
set forth in Section 3·0148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) In the case of a second or any subsequent offense, in addition 
to the action ~uthorized under subdivision (a), the board may impose 
a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed the greater of either of 
the following: 

(1) Five times the retail value of the seized cigarettes or 
tobacco products. 

(2) Five thousand dollars ($5,000). 

22978.8. The board shall include on its Web site the name of any 
wholesaler or distributor whose license has been suspended or 
revoked. 

---.. -.--~----·--~~~~ 
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BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22979-22979.7 

22979. (a) Every manufacturer and every importer shall obtain and 
maintain a license to engage in the sale o~ cigarettes. In order to 
be eligible for obtaining and maintaining a license under this 
division, a manufacturer or importer shall do all of the following in 
the manner specified by the board: 

(1) Submit to the board a list of all brand families that they 
manufacture or import. 

(2) Update the list of all brand families that they manufacture or. 
import whenever a new or additional brand is manufactured or 
imported, or a listed brand is no longer manufactured or imported. 

(3) Consent to jurisdiction of the California courts for the 
purpose of enforcement of this division, Sections 104555 to 104557, 
inclusive, of the Health and Safety Code, Section 30165.1 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, 
and appoint a registered agent for service of process in this state 
and identify the registered agent to the board and the Attorney 
General. 

{4) Waive any sovereign immunity defense that may apply to any 
enforcement action brought by the Attorney General or the board to 
enforce this division, Sections 104555 to 104557, inclusive, of the 
Health and Safety Code, or Part 13 (commencing with Section 30001) of 
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and regulations adopted 
thereto. Any waiver shall be express and in writing, in a form and 
manner acceptable to the Attorney General. In lieu of this waiver, a 
manufacturer or importer may file with the Attorney General a surety 
bond in a form and manner directed by the Attorney General, written 
in favor of the State of California and conditioned on the 
performance by the manufacturer or importer of all its duties and 
obligations under this division, Sections 104555 to 104557, 
inclusive, of the Health and Safety Code, Part 13 (commencing with 
Section 30001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and 
regulations adopted thereto. The bond shall be posted by a corporate 
surety located within the United States in an amount equal to the 
greater of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or the amount of escrow 
the m~nufacturer or importer in either its current or predecessor 
form was required to deposit as a result of the largest of its most 
recent five calendar years' sales in California. The bond may be 
drawn upon by the Attorney General to cover unsatiSfied escrow 
obligations, tax obligations, claims for penalties, claims for 
monetary damages, and any other liabilities that are subject to the 
licensee's claim of sovereign immunity against enforcement of the 
laws specified above. In the event a nonparticipating manufacturer is 
required to post a surety bond under this paragraph, the amount of 
the bond shall be reduced by the amount of any surety bond that is in 
force and required of that nonparticipating manufacturer under 
paragraph (5) of subdivision (c) of Section 30165.1 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code. A manufacturer or importer that has neither waived 
any sovereign immunity defense nor posted a surety bond as provided 
in this section shall not be eligible to obtain and maintain a 
license under this division. 

· (b) In order to be eligible for obtaining and maintaining a 
license under this division, a manufacturer or importer that is a 
"tobacco product manufacturer" in subdivision (i) of Section 104556 
of the Health and Safety Code, shall do all of the following in the 



manner specified by the board: 
(1) Certify to the board that it is a "participating manufacturer" 

as 	defined in subsection II(jj) of the ''Master Settlement Agreement'' 
(MSA), or is in full compliance with paragraph (2) of subdivision 
(a) of Section 104557 of the Health and Safety Code, Section 30165.1 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto. Any person who makes a certification pursuant to this 
subdivi~ion that asserts the truth of any material matter that he or 
she knows to be false is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment of up to one year in the county jail, or a fine of not 
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both the imprisonment and 
the fine. 

(2) Submit to the board a list of all brand families that fit 
under the category applicable to the manufacturer or importer, in 
accordance with the following: 

(A) Brand families that are to be counted, in the unit volume and 
market shares determined pursuant to subsections II(z) and II(mm) of 
the MSA and Exhibit E thereto, in calculating the manufacturer's 
annual payments under the MSA. 

(B) Brand families that are to be counted in calculating the 
manufacturer's escrow deposits under paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 
of Section 104557 of the Health and Safety Code. 

(C) The manufacturer or importer shall update the list whenever a 
new or additional brand is manufactured or imported or a listed brand 
is no longer manufactured or imported. 

(c) The board may not grant or permit the maintenance of a license 
to any manufacturer or an importer of cigarettes that does not 
affirmatively certify, both at the time the license is granted and 
annually thereafter, compliance with paragraph (4) of subdivision 
·(a), that ·all packages of cigarettes manufactured or imported by that 
person and distributed in California fully comply with subdivision 
(b) of Section 30163 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, and that the 
cigarettes contained in those packages are the subject of filed 
reports that fully comply with all requirements of the federal 
Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act (15 U.S.C, Sec, 1331 et seq.) 
for the reporting of ingredients added to cigarettes, ·For purposes of 
the federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act requirement, 
cigars weighing three pounds or less per 1,000 are excluded from the 
definition of cigarette. 

(d) A license issued to a manufacturer or an importer under this 
division is only valid with respect to the manufacturer or importer 
designated on the license and may not be transferred or assigned to 
another manufacturer or importer. 

(e) Any manufacturer or importer that is issued a license under 
this division that does not commence business in the manner specified 
or designated in the license, ceases to do business in the manner 
specified or designated in the license, or is notified that the 
license is suspended or revoked, shall immediately surrender that 
license to the board. 

(f) (1) Any manufacturer or any importer who is denied a· license 
may petition for a redetermination of the board's denial of the 
license within 30 days after service upon that manufacturer or that 
importer of the notice of the denial of the license. If a petition 
for redetermination is not filed within the 30-day period, the 
determination of denial becomes final at the expiration of the 30-day 
period. 

(2) Every petition for redetermination shall be in writing and 
shall state the specific grounds upon which the petition is founded. 
The petition may be amended to state additional grounds at anytime 
prior to the date on which the board issues its order or decision 
upon the petition for redetermination. 

(3) If the petition for redetermination is filed within the 30-day 
period, the board shall reconsider the determination of the denial 



and, if the manufacturer or the importer has so requested in the 
petition, shall grant an oral hearing and shall give the manufacturer 
or the importer at least 10 days' notice of the time and place of 
the hearing. The board may continue the hearing from time to time as 
may be necessary. 

(4) The order or decision of the board upon a petition for 
redetermination becomes final 30 days after mailing of notice 
thereof. 

(g) In any action brought by the Attorney General or the board to 
enforce this division, Sections 104555 to 104557, inclusive, of the 
Health and Safety Code, Part 13 (commencing with Section 30001) of 
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, or regulations adopted 
thereto, including, but not limited to, an action to suspend or 
revoke a license issued under this section, if the licensee raises a 
sovereign immunity defense with respect to an aspect of that 
proceeding, the license in question shall be subject to revocation. 
In the event of a revocation under this subdivision, the person whose 
license has been revoked shall not be eligible for a license under 
this section in the future, unless that person agrees to waive any 
sovereign immunity defense that may apply to an enforcement action 
brought by the Attorney General or the board to enforce this 
division, Sections 104555 to 104557, inclusive, of the Health and 
Safety Code, Part 13 (commencing with Section 30001) of Division 2 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code, or regulations adopted thereto. The 
Attorney General shall inform the board in the event a sovereign 
immunity defense is raised by a licenseholder. 

22979.1. (a) An application for a license by a manufacturer or by 
an importer shall be on a form prescribed by the board and shall 
include the following: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant. The 
business name, address, and telephone number of the corporate 
offices, Citations issued to licensees shall be forwarded to all 
addressees on the license. 

(2) License number for any other valid licenses or permits issued 
by the board. 

(3) Signature of the applicant under oath to verify application 
information. 

(4) The name 1 address, and telephone number of the person 
designated by the manufacturer or the importer as its agent for 
receipt of service of process in this state. 

(5) Any other information the board may require. 
(b) The board may conduct an inquiry to determine whether the 

applicant complies with the provisions of this division. 
(c) The board shall provide electronic means for applicants to 

download and submit applications. 

22979.2. (a) On or before January 1, 2004, every manufacturer and 
every importer shall pay to the boar·d an administration fee. The 
amount of the administration fee shall be one cent ($0.01) per 
package of cigarettes (1) manufactured or imported by the 
manufacturer or the importer and .( 2) shipped into this state during 
the 2001 calendar year as reported to the board. The board shall 
notify each manufacturer and each importer of the amount due under 
this section. 

(b) This section shall apply to every manufacturer and every 
importer required to be licensed pursuant to Section 22979. All 
manufacturers and all importers that may become eligible for 
licensure on or after December 1, 2003, shall be notified by the 



board of the appropriate fee due and shall pay that fee within 90 
days of notification. 

(c) All manufacturers and all importers that begin operations in 
the state after enactment of this division shall be charged a fee 
commensurate with their respective market share of (1) cigarettes 
manufactured or imported by the manufacturer or the importer and (2) 
sold in this state during the next calendar year as estimated by the 
board. The fee shall be at an amount not less than that paid pursuant 
to subdivision (a) by the smallest manufacturer, but may not be more 
than that paid by the eighth largest manufacturer. 

(d) The board shall administer this fee in accordance with the Fee 
Collection Procedures Law, Part 30 (commencing with Section 55001) 
of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

22979.21. Every manufacturer or importer of tobacco products shall 
obtain and maintain a license under this division to engage in the 
sale of tobacco products. In order to be eligible for obtaining and 
maintaining a license under this division, a manufacturer or importer 
shall do all of the following in the manner specified by the board: 

(a) Submit to the board a list of all tobacco products they 
manufacture o~ import. 

(b) Update the list of all tobacco products brands they 
manufacture or import whenever a new or additional brand i,s 
manufactured or imported or a listed brand is no longer manufactured 
or imported. 

(c) Consent to jurisdiction of the California courts for the 
purpose of enforcement of this division and appoint a registered 
agent for service of process in this state and identify the 
registered agent to the board. 

(d) The Legislature finds that solely appointing a registered 
agent for the purpose of service of process in this state pursuant to 
this subdivision does not establish a nexus with this state for tax 
purposes. 

(e) This section shall become operative May 1, 2007. 

22979.22. (a) An application for a license by a manufacturer or by 
an importer of tobacco products shall be on a form prescribed by the 
board and shall include the following: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant. For 
applicants whose corporate offices are at a separate location, the 
business name, address, and telephone number of the corporate office. 
Citations issued to licensees shall be forwarded to all addressees 
on the license. 

(2) If any other licenses have been issued by the board to the 
applicant, the license or permit numbers for each license or permit 
then in effect. 

(3) A statement by the applicant affirming that the applicant has 
not been convicted of a felony and has not violated and will not 
violate or cause or permit to be violated any of the provisions of 
this division or any rule of the board applicable to the applicant or 
pertaining to the manufacture, sale, or distribution of cigarettes 
or tobacco products. If the applicant is unable to affirm this 
statement, the application shall contain a statement by the applicant 
of the nature of any violation or the reasons that will prevent the 
applicant from complying with the requirements with respect to the 
statement. 

(4) A statement by the applicant that the contents of the 
application are complete, true, and correct. Any person who signs a 
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statement pursuant to this subdivision that asserts the truth of any 
material matter that he or she knows to be false is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to one year in the 
county jail, or a fine of not more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000), or both imprisonment and fine. 

(5) Signature of the applicant. 
(6) The name, address, and telephone number of the person 

designated by the manufacturer or the importer as its agent for 
receipt of service of process in this state. 

(7) Any other information the board may require. 
(b) The board may investigate to determine the truthfulness and 

completeness of the information provided in the application. 
(c) The board shall provide electronic means for applicants to 

download and submit applications. 

22979.23. (a) Every manufacturer or importer of chewing tobacco or 
snuff shall submit with each application a one-time license fee of 
ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 

(b) Every manufact~rer or importer of tobacco products, excluding 
chewing tobacco or snuff, shall submit with each application a 
one-time license fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

(c} If a manufacturer or importer is required to submit an 
application under, and to pay the fees required by, both subdivisions 
(a) 'and (b), the total amount of fees required to be submitted under 
this section shall not exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 

22979.24. (a) Every manufacturer or importer holding a license 
pursuant to Section 22979.21 shall file a monthly report to the 
board, in a manner specified by the board, which may include, but is 
not limited to, electronic media. The monthly report shall include, 
but is not limited to, the following: 

(1) A list of all distributors licensed pursuant to Section 22975 
to which the manufacturer or importer shipped its tobacco products or 
caused its tobacco products to be shipped. 

(2) The total wholesale cost of the products. 
(b) The board may suspend the license or revoke the license, 

pursuant to the provisions applicable to the revocation of a license 
set forth in Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, of any 
importer or any manufacturer that has failed to comply with the 
requirements of this section. 

(c) All information and records provided to the board pursuant to 
subdivision (a} are confidential in nature and shall not be disclosed 
by the board. Information required under subdivision (a} are not 
public records under the California Public Records Act, as described 
in Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Division 7 of Title 
1 of the Government Code and shall not be open to public inspection. 

(d) The amendments made to this section by the act adding this 
subdivision shall become operative May 1, 2007. 

22979.3. The board shall, upon request, provide to the State 
Department of Health Services, the office of the Attorney General, a 
law enforcement agency, and any agency authorized to enforce local 
tobacco control ordinances, access to the board's database of 
licenses issued to manufacturers and importers for locations within 
the ·jurisdiction of that agency or law enforcement agency. The 
agencies authorized by this section to access the board's database 
shall only access and use the board's database for purposes of 
enforcing tobacco. control laws and shall adhere to all state laws, 
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policies, and regulations pertaining to the protection of personal 
information and individual privacy. 

22979.4. All importers shall retain purchase records that meet the 
requirements set forth in Section 22979.5 for all cigarettes or 
tobacco products purchased and other records required by the board. 
The records shall be maintained for a period of one year from the 
date of purchase on the importer's premises identified in the 
license, and thereafter, the records shall be made available for 
inspection by the board or a law enforcement agency for a period of 
four ye?rs. Any importer found in violation of these requirements, or 
any person who fails, refuses, or neglects to retain or make 
available invoices for inspection and copying in accordance with this 
section shall be subject to penalties pursuant to Section 22981. 

22979.5. (a) Each manufacturer and each importer of cigarette and 
tobacco products subject to licensing under this chapter shall 
maintain accurate and complete records relating to the sale of those 
products, including, but not limited to, receipts, invoices, and 
other records as may be required by the board, during the past four 
years with invoices for the past year to be maintained on the 
premises for which the license was issued, and shall make these 
records available upon request by a representative of the board or a 
law enforcement agency. 

(b) Failure of a manufacturer or an importer to comply with this 
section shall be a misdemeanor subject to penalties pursuant to 
Section 22981. 

22979.6. (a) Each manufacturer and each importer shall include the 
following information on each invoice for the sale for distribution, 
wholesale, or retail sale of cigarettes or tobacco products: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the manufacturer, 
or importer. 

(2) The license number of the manufacturer or importer as provided 
by the board. 

(3) The name, address, and license number of the person to whom 
cigarettes or tobacco products are sold. 

{4) An itemized listing of the cigarettes or tobacco products 
sold. 

(b) Each invoice for the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products 
shall be legible and readable. 

(c) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section shall 
be a misdemeanor subject to penalties pursuant to Section 22981. 

22979.7. In addition to any other civil or criminal penalty 
provided by law, upon a finding that a manufacturer or importer has 
violated any provision of this division, the board may take the 
following actions: 

(a) In the case of the first offense, the board may revoke or 
suspend the license or licenses of the manufacturer or importer 
pursuant to the proCedures applicable to the revocation of a license 
set forth in Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) In the case of a second or any subsequent offense, in addition 
to the action authorized under subdivision (a), the board may impose 
a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed the greater of either of 
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the following: 
(1) Five times the retail value of the seized cigarettes or 

tobacco products defined as cigarettes under this section. 
(2) Five thousand dollars ($5,000) . 



BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22980-22983 

22980. (a) (1) Any peace officer, or board employee granted limited 
peace officer status pursuant to paragraph (6) of subdivision (a) of 
Section 830. 11 of the Penal Code, upon presenting approp'riate 
credentials, is authorized to enter any place as described in 
paragraph (3) and to conduct inspections in accordance with the 
following paragraphs, inclusive, 

(2) Inspections shall be performed in a reasonable manner and at 
times that are reasonable under the circumstances, taking into 
consideration the normal business hours of the place to be entered. 

(3) Inspections may be at any place at which cigarettes or tobacco 
products are sold, produced, or stored or at any site where evidence 
of activities involving evasion of cigarette or tobacco products tax 
and violations of Section 30165.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code 
may be discovered. 

(4) Inspections shall be reque~ted or conducted no more than once 
in a 24-hour period. 

(b) Any person that refuses to allow an inspection shall be 
subject to the penalties imposed pursuant to Section 22981. 

22980.1. (a) No manufacturer or importer shall sell cigarettes or 
tobacco products to a distributor, wholesaler, retailer, or any other 
person who is not licensed pursuant to this division or whose 
license has been suspended or revoked, 

(b) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), no distributor or 
wholesaler shall sell cigar~ttes or tobacco products to a retailer, 
wholesaler, distributor, or any other person who is not licensed 
pursuant to this division or whose license has been suspended or 
revoked, 

(2) This subdivision does not apply to any sale of cigarettes or 
tobacco products by a distributor, wholesaler, or any other person to 
a ·retailer, wholes.aler, distributor, or any other person that the 
state, pursuant to the United States Constitution, the laws of the 
United States, or the California Constitution, is prohibited from 
regulating. 

(c) No retailer 1 distributor, or wholesaler shall purchase 
packages of cigarettes or tobacco products from a manufacturer or 
importer who is not licensed pursuant to this division or whose 
license has been suspended or revoked. 

(d) (1) No retailer, or wholesaler shall purchase cigarettes or 
tobacco products from any person who is not licensed pursuant to this 
division or whose license has been suspended or revoked. 

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (c), no distributor shall purchase 
cigarettes or tobacco products from any person who is required to be 
licensed pursuant to this division but who is not licensed or whose 
license has been suspended or revoked. 

(e) Each separate sale to, or by, a retailer, wholesaler, 
distributor, importer, manufacturer, or any other person who is not 
licensed pursuant to this division shall constitute a separate 
violation. 

{f) No manufacturer, distributor, wholesaler, or importer may sell 
cigarette or tobacco products to any retailer or wholesaler whose 
license has been suspended or revoked unless all outstanding debts of 
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that retailer or wholesaler that are owed to a wholesaler or 
distributor for cigarette or tobacco products are paid and the 
license of that retailer or wholesaler has been reinstated by the 
board. Any payment received from a retailer or wholesaler shall be 
credited first to the outstanding debt for cigarettes or tobacco 
products and must be immediately reported to the board. The board 
shall determine the debt status of a suspended retailer or wholesaler 
licensee 25 days prior to the reinstatement of the license. 

(g) No importer, distributor, or wholesaler, or distributor 
functioning as a wholesaler, or retailer, shall purchase, obtain, or 
otherwise acquire any package of cigarettes to which a stamp or meter 
impression may not be affixed in accordance with subdivision (b) of 
Section 30163 or subdivision (e) of Section 30165.1 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code, or any cigarettes obtained from a manufacturer or 
importer that cannot demonstrate full compliance with all 
requirements of the federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act 
(15 U.S.C. Sec. 13335a et seq.) for the reporting of ingredients 
added to cigarettes. 

(h) (1) Failure to comply with the provisions of this section 
shall be a misdemeanor subject to penalties pursuant to Section 
22981. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), a manufacturer or importer who 
uses the most up-to-date licensing information provided by the board 
on the board•s Web site to determine a person•s licensing status is 
presumed to be in compliance with this section. 

(i) The amendments that are made to this section by the act adding 
this subdivision shall become operative May 1, 2007. 

22980.2. (a) A person or entity that engages in the business of 
selling cigarettes or tobacco products i.n this state either without a 
valid license or after a license has been suspended or revoked, and 
each officer of any corporation that so engages in this business, is 
guilty of a rnisde~eanor punishable as provided in Section 22981. 

(b) Each day after notification by the board or by a law 
enforcement agency that a manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, 
importer, retailer, or any other person required to be licensed under 
this division offers cigarette and tobacco products for sale or 
exchange without a valid license for the location from which they are 
offered for sale shall constitute a separate violation. 

(c) Continued sales or gifting of cigarettes and tobacco products 
either without a valid license or after a notification of ~uspension 
or revocation shall constitute a violation punishable as provided in 
Section 22981, and shall result in the seizure of all cigarettes and 
tobacco products in the poss·ession of the person by the board or a 
law enforcement agency. Any cigarettes and tobacco products seized by 
the board or by a law enfOrcement agency shall be deemed forfeited. 

22980.3. (a) Licenses issued pursuant to this division shall be 
subject to suspension or revocation for violations of this division 
or the Revenue and Taxation Code as provided in this section. 

(1) In addition to any applicable fines or penalties for a 
violation, upon first conviction of a violation, a licensee shall 
receive a written notice from the board detailing the suspension and 
revocation provisione of this division. At its discretion, the board 
may also suspend a license for up to 30 days. 

(2) In addition to any applicable fines or penalties for a 
violation, upon a second conviction of a violation within four years 
of a previous violation, the license shall be revoked. 



(b) The date of the occurrence of a violation shall be used to 
calculate the duration between subsequent violations. A violation 
shall be noted in the license record at the board only after judicial 
conviction or final adjudication of a violation. 

(c) Upon updating a record for a violation triggering a 
suspension, the board shall serve the licensee with a notice of 
suspension and shall order the licensee to cease the sale, gifting, 
or displaying for sale of cigarettes or tobacco products for the 
period of the suspension. The notice of suspension shall inform the 
licensee of the effective dates of the suspension. 

(d) Continued sales or gifting of cigarettes or tobacco products 
after the effective date of the suspension shall constitute a 
violation of this division and result in the revocation of a license. 

(e) Upon completion of a suspension period, a license shall be 
reinstated by the board upon certification that all outstanding debts 
of that retailer or wholesaler that are owed to a w.holesaler or 
distributor for the purchase of cigarettes and tobacco products are 
paid. 

(f) Upon updating a record for a violation triggering a 
revocation, the board shall serve the licensee with a notice of 
revocation and shall order the licensee to cease the sale, gifting, 
or displaying for sale of cigarettes or tobacco products on and after 
the effective date of the revocation. The notice of revocation shall 
inform the licensee of the effective date of the revocation. 

(g) After a revocation, a previously licensed applicant may apply 
for a new license after six months. The board may, at its discretion, 
issue a new license. 

(h) Upon updating a license record for a violation, suspension, or 
revocation to a license of a person or entity that owns or controls 
more than one location, the board shall send notice in writing of the 
violations, suspensions, or revocations within 15 days of the board' 
s action to the address included in the applibation and listed on the 
license for receipt of correspondence or notices from the board. 

(i) Upon suspension or revocation of a license pursuant to this 
section, the board shall notify all licensed distributors and 
wholesalers by electronic mail within 48 hours of the suspension or 
revocation of that license. All licensed distributors and wholesalers 
shall provide the board and shall update, as necessary, an 
electronic mail address that the board can use for purposes of making 
the notifications required by this subdivision. 

(j) Violations by a licensee at one location may not be 
accumulated against other locations of that same licensee. Violations 
accumulated against a prior owner at a licensed location may not be 
accumulated against a new owner at the same licensed location. 

(k) For purposes of this section, a violation includes vio~ations 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code relating to cigarettes and tobacco 
products, and violations of this division. Only one violation per 
discrete action shall be counted toward a suspension or revocation of 
a license. 

22980.4. A person who, after receiving a notice of suspension or 
revocation, continues to display for sale cigarettes or tobacco 
products shall be subject to a civil penalty of one thousand dollars 
($1,000) for each offense, and shall not be subject to Section 22981. 

22980.5. (a) A retailer whose license has been suspended or revoked 
by order of the board shall conspicuously post a notice at both of 
the following locations: 

(1) Each public entrance to the retail location. 'I'he notice shall 



directly face any person who enters the retail location and shall not 
be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four feet 
or greater than nine feet from the floor. 

(2) Each cash register and other point of retail sale. The notice 
Shall be posted so as to be readily viewable by a person standing at 
or approaching the cash register or other point of retail sale. The 
notice shall directly face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed 
from view or placed at a height of less than four feet or greater 
than nine feet from the floor. 

(b) The notices described in this section shall be in the size and 
form prescribed by the board. The. notice shall be provided by the 
board and may be reproduced in the same size and form in order to 
comply with subdivision (a). 

(c) A retailer whose license was suspended shall post the notice 
at the retail location that was the subject of the suspension for the 
duration of the suspension. 

(d) A retailer whose license was revoked shall post the notice at 
the retail location that was the subject of the revocation for a 
30-day period from the effective date of the revocation. 

(e) Every retailer who fails to post the notices as required by 
this section, who alters the notice provided by the board, or who 
removes the notice before the posting period required in subdivision 
(c) or {d), as appropriate, expires, shall be subject, 
notwithstanding Section 22981, to a civil penalty of one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) for each offense. 

22981. Any violation of this division by any person, except as 
otherwise provided, is a misdemeanor. Each offense shall be punished 
by a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), or 
imprisonment not exceeding one year in a county jail, or both the 
fine and imprisonment. The court shall order any fines assessed be 
deposited in the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance Fund. 

22982. Any prosecution for a violation of any of the penal 
provisions of this division shall be instituted within four years 
after the commission of the offense. 

22983. The provisions of Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 55121) 
of Part 30 of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code apply with 
respect to the collection of the fees, civil fines, and penalties 
imposed pursuant to 'this division. 



BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 22990-22991 

22990. (a) All moneys collected pursuant to this division shall be 
deposited in the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance Fund, 
whi~h is hereby created in the State Treasury. No moneys in the 
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance Fund shall be used to 
supplant state or local General Fund money for any purpose. 

(b) All moneys in the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance 
Fund are available for expenditure, upon appropriation by the 
Legislature, solely for the purpose of implementing, enforcing, and 
administering the California Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing 
Act of 2003. 

22991. The amount of eleven million dollars ($11,000,000) is 
appropriated from the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance Fund 
during the 2003-04 fiscal year to the State Board of Equalization for 
the purpose of implementing, enforcing, and administering the 
California Cigarette and Tobacco Products_Licensing Act of 2003, 
subject to the following provisions: 

(a) Spending under the appropriation made by this subdivision is 
limited solely to revenues in the fund that are derived from fees 
imposed on cigarette and tobacco product manufacturers, wholesalers, 
distributors, importers, and retailers. 

(b) Of the total amount appropriated under this subdivision, five 
million four hundred thousand dollars ($5,400,000) is available for 
reimbursement to the Department of Justice through an interagency 
agreement with the board for investigation and enforcement 
assistance. 

(c) The expenditure of any funds from the appropriation made by 
this subdivision shall require the prior approval of the Director of 
Finance. The amounts appropriated may be approved for expenditure on 
an allotment basis and shall he limited to the amounts necessary t-o 
carry out the operating and staffing plans for the implementation of 
the California Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003 
as approved by the Department of Finance. The Department of Finance 
shall notify the Joint Legislative Budget Committee of its approval 
of any expenditur~ authorization ~0 days prior to that approval. 




