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QECEIVE),

To: The Office of the Attorney General

ATTN: Ashley Johannson, Initiative Coordinator MAY 2 7 2015

1300 | Street, 17" Floor v

Sacramento, CA 95814 INITIATIVE COORDINATOR
(916) 445-4752 | Www.0ag.ca.gov ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

RE: Request for Circulating Title and Summary; Signed Certifications; The Fair Wage Act of 2016
Dear Ms. Johansson:

Pursuant to Article Il, Section 10(d) of the California Constitution, this letter respectfully requests that
the Attorney General prepare a circulating title and summary of the enclosed proposed statewide
initiative: “The Fair Wage Act of 2016.” Also enclosed are the required signed statements pursuant to
California Elections Code sections 9001 and 9608, and a check in the amount of $200. Our addresses as
registered voters are included in this letter.

Please direct all inquiries and correspondence regarding this proposed initiative to:

Amber Maltbie

Nossaman, LLP

777 S. Figueroa Street, 34™ Floor

Los Angeles, CA 95814 _
Phone: 213-612-7803

Email: amaltbie@nossaman.com

Sincerely,

Steve Trossman, Proponent
1616 N. Easterly Terrace

Los Angeles, CA 90039

Enclosures: Initiative language; Certifications, money order
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The Fair Wage Act of 2016

. This initiative measure is submitted to the people in accordance with the provisions of
Article II, Section 8, of the California Constitution.

This initiative measure amends and adds sections to the Labor Code; therefore, existing
provisions proposed to be deleted are printed in strikeeut type and new provisions proposed to be
added are printed in italic type to indicate that they are new.

SEC. 1. Name.

This act shall be known as the Fair Wage Act of 2016.

SEC. 2. Findings and Purpose.

The People of California find and declare that:

(@) The purpose of The Fair Wage Act of 2016 (“the Act”) is to ensure that workers
receive wages that will financially support them and their families.

(b) To achieve this purpose, The Fair Wage Act of 2016 will increase the minimum
wage by $1 per hour each January 1 until it reaches $15 per hour in 2021, and in
each year thereafter the minimum wage will be adjusted to keep pace with the
cost of living in California.

() Many working Californians, including parents and seniors, have full-time jobs yet
struggle to make ends meet. The minimum wage has not kept pace with the cost
of living and is worth less today than it was 50 years ago. This loss of purchasing
power means millions of Californians are unable to afford an adequate standard of
living, which harms families and the State’s economy and budget."

(d Almost one-quarter of California residents live in poverty.> More than half of
California minimum wage earners are over 30 years old and thirty percent have
children.® Californians cannot support a family on the current minimum wage of
$10 per hour, or $20,800 per year, for people working full time.

(e) Despite being employed full-time, Californians who are paid the current
minimum wage often must rely on the State’s social safety net to meet their basic
needs.

€3] The purchasing power of the minimum wage will continue to erode if it is not
adjusted yearly to reflect increases in the cost of living.

(2) Raising the minimum wage will increase the earnings of many Medi-Cal
recipients, making them eligible for federal subsidies on California’s health
benefit exchange, saving the State millions of dollars a year in Medi-Cal costs.

(h) Raising the minimum wage will boost economic activity and increase sales and
income taxes.’

4

Uhttp://www.irle.berkeley.edu/cwed/briefs/2014-02.pdf
% http://www.census.gov/content/dam/Census/library/publications/2014/demo/p60-251.pdf
3 http://www.irle.berkeley.edu/cwed/briefs/2014-02.pdf
* http://www.irle.berkeley.edu/cwed/briefs/2014-02.pdf
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SEC 3.

Californians working in a wide variety of jobs and industries are paid the
minimum wage, and it is the goal of this Act to protect all such workers,
regardless of whether they are employed by single, multiple, or joint employers.
To this end, the People confirm Guerrero v. Superior Court (2013) 213 Cal. App.
4th 912, which recognized that the state minimum wage law protects low-wage
workers with multiple or joint employers, including, for example, persons
employed under the In-Home Supportive Services Act (Welf. & Inst. Code

§ 12300 et seq.).

The Act also will ensure that the California Department of Industrial Relations
publicizes changes to the minimum wage, as it has when the minimum wage has
been increased in the past.

The People intend that the Legislature or the Industrial Welfare Commission may
narrow or eliminate current exemptions from state minimum wage requirements,
but may not expand current exemptions or create new exemptions from state
minimum wage requirements.

Section 1182.12 of the Labor Code is amended, to read:

§ 1182.12. Minimum wage

(@)

()

Notw1thstand1ng any other prov151on of thls part on and after Ja-}y—l—ZLQM——the

less—thaﬂ—ten—de}l%&@lr@)—per—heﬁr—. January 1, 20] 7, the minimum wage for all
industries shall be not less than eleven dollars ($11) per hour, and shall be raised
by one dollar ($1) per hour each subsequent January 1 until it reaches fifieen
dollars ($15) per hour in 2021, and thereafier shall be adjusted each January 1 to
keep pace with the increasing cost of living, as described in subdivision (D).

(1) On and after January 1, 2022, the minimum wage for all industries shall be
not less than an amount that is the result of an automatic adjustment on January 1
of each year, so the minimum wage keeps pace with the cost of living, as provided
in paragraph (2).

(2) On or before October 15, 2021, and on or before each following October 15,
the California Department of Industrial Relations shall calculate an adjusted
minimum wage to maintain employee purchasing power by increasing the current
year's minimum wage by the rate of inflation. The adjusted minimum wage shall
be calculated to the nearest cent using the California Consumer Price Index for
Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers, or a successor index, for the twelve
months prior to each September 1 as calculated by the California Department of
Industrial Relations. Each adjusted minimum wage increase calculated under
this paragraph (2) takes effect on the following January 1.

This section shall not be construed to preclude an increase of the minimum wage
Jfor any or all industries by the Industrial Welfare Commission to an amount
greater than the rate required pursuant to subdivision (a) or (b). Nor shall this
section be construed to permit a decrease in the minimum wage if, as calculated
pursuant to subdivision (b), the rate of inflation is negative.

> http://www.irle berkeley.edu/cwed/briefs/2014-02.pdf
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(d) No later than October 15 of each year, commencing October 15, 2017, the
California Department of Industrial Relations shall publicize the minimum wage
for all industries that will take effect the following January 1.

SEC. 4. Amendment.

Pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 10 of Article II of the California Constitution, this Act
may be amended either by a subsequent measure submitted to a vote of the people at a statewide
election or by statute validly passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor, but only to
further the purposes of the Act and not to reduce the minimum wage required by this Act.

SEC 5. Severability.
It is the intent of the People that the provisions of this Act are severable and that if any provision
of this Act, or the application thereof to any person or circumstance, is held invalid, such

invalidity shall not affect any other provision or application of this Act that can be given effect
without the invalid provision or application.
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