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ATTACHMENT A 
 

STD 399 Economic and Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

 
 
Economic Impact Statement 
Section A – Estimated Private Sector Cost Impacts 
 
A.3 
Number of Businesses Impacted 
 
Per Penal Code section 26825, firearms dealers shall agree to process firearms transactions 
pursuant to the private party transfer requirements of section 28050 et. seq.  According to the 
Department’s records, as of August 2, 2023, there were 1,799 licensed firearms dealers in 
California.  These numbers change daily, as new licenses are approved and old licenses expire. 
The Department estimates that the total number of businesses directly impacted by these 
regulations will be 1,799.   
 
Although the Department does not have direct information regarding the business size of 
licensed firearms dealers, approximately 280 firearms dealers are one of five corporations: Bass 
Pro Outdoor World, Big 5 Sporting Goods, Dick’s Sporting Goods, Sportsman’s Warehouse and 
Turner’s Outdoorsman.  The remaining businesses have only one, two or (rarely) three locations, 
and, if set up as corporations, have corporate headquarters in California (i.e., are “independently 
owned” and not “dominant in its field of operation”).  Therefore, using the consolidated small 
business definition in Government Code section 11346.3, subdivision (b)(4)(B), as a guide, the 
Department estimates that approximately 1,519 licensed firearms dealers, or 84%, are “small 
businesses.”  
 
 
Section B – Estimated Costs 
 
Any cost impact to businesses would be due to the additional time it will take to notify the 
Department when a firearm is retained for a period of up to 45 days so that the transferor or 
seller or the person loaning the firearm may designate a person to take possession of that firearm.  
The Department estimates that it will take ten minutes to complete the report.  Assuming the 
additional staff time for a retail worker costs a minimum of $15.50 per hour, the Department 
estimates that each notification to the Department when a firearm is retained for a period of up to 
45 days will indirectly cost each firearms dealer an additional $2.58 per report.  
 
The Department recorded 546,965 attempted private party transfers between January 1, 2019, 
and December 31, 2022.  Of those attempted transfers, 2,539 were denied for the attempted 
purchaser.  During a private party transfer, the firearm is in the possession of a firearms dealer. 
During this time, the Department must perform a background check on the attempted seller 
before the dealer can release the firearm back to that person.  (Pen. Code, § 28050, subd. (d).)  
Of the 2,539 denied private party transfers during that four-year period, 125 sellers were 
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prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.  This scenario would require the 
firearms dealer to retain possession of the firearm for a period of up to 45 days or to surrender 
the firearm to local law enforcement, and then notify the Department of the retention or 
relinquishment.  The Department has determined that the current number of these scenarios – 
approximately 31 each year – provides a reasonable approximation of the number of future 
scenarios each year.   
 
There are 1,799 licensed firearms dealers in California, which means that the average firearms 
dealer will face the above scenario once every 58 years (1,799/31).  At current wages, it will cost 
a firearms dealer $2.58 in staff time to complete the required form.   
 
 
Fiscal Impact Statement 
 
Section B - Fiscal Effect on State Government 
 
A Crime Analyst I will process each report received by the Department, inputting information 
from the form into firearms IT systems (the Automated Firearms System and the Armed and 
Prohibited Persons System) and verifying the status of each firearm in those systems.  The 
Department’s experience processing similar reports leads it to estimate that it will take 
approximately 20 minutes to process each report.  The Department anticipates receiving 31 
reports each year.  Because it takes 20 minutes to process each form, this new program function 
will require 10.3 hours for a Crime Analyst I (31 x 20 = 620 minutes).   
 
At the hourly rate for overtime for a mid-step Crime Analyst I, plus incidentals, the cost to the 
Department for this absorbed workload will be approximately $427 for the first 12 months 
subsequent to implementation of these regulations.   
 
When dealers start reporting the information electronically via the DES on July 1, 2024, there 
will be no cost to the Department. 


