• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel

Clothing Examination

Class Code: 

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Rancho Cordova or Los Angeles
Class Description: 

This 3-day (24-hour) course is designed to provide basic steps in clothing examination in the crime laboratory. The course will cover the following topics: 1) techniques for examining stains and deposits on clothing items, 2) describing and documenting deposits and stains, and 3) collection and preservation of body fluid stains and some trace evidence.

Donald T. Jones
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, discussions, demonstrations, and laboratory exercises.
The student will learn the basic steps in clothing examination and documentation. The student will learn to describe the nature and manner of deposit of body fluids and be able to recognize and describe other commonly encountered materials. The student will learn to provide a good record that is defensible in court. Laboratory practice will include exercises in describing the clothing item, its condition including any apparent damage, the appearance of any biological stains, and the limited use of presumptive chemical testing. In addition, students will be introduced to the recognition, description, and preservation of non-biological evidence.
Experience with documentation of scientific testing. This class is suitable for the new examiner, and for examiners whose experience in clothing examination is limited to sampling of body fluid stains. Preference will be given to applicants with six months of experience in either forensic serology or forensic DNA analysis
POST-certified; no cost to California public crime laboratory personnel. A $360.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort ascending Date(s)
Rancho Cordova February 6-8, 2018
Los Angeles February 27- March 1, 2018

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]