• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Toolmark Comparison Criteria

Class Code: 
E201

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
The one-week (40-hour) course will provide students with an introduction to the concepts and rationale of identifying striated and non-striated impression evidence. Each student will develop a rational, objective basis for making such identifications. This course is intended for criminalists, forensic scientists, or related specialists who have responsibility for comparing and identifying firearm and toolmark evidence. Each class is limited to 12 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
John Murdock, Contra Costa County Sheriff's Office & Bruce Moran, Sacramento County DA's Office
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, demonstrations, group discussions, and practical laboratory exercises. Students should plan to have assigned homework completed during the week.
Objectives: 
Students will be required to complete a series of practical exercises, identify impressions with the tools responsible, and orally explain the related concepts of identification and the rationale for the identification to the satisfaction of the instructors.
Prerequisites: 
Must currently be performing casework in firearms/toolmark identification and be familiar with common equipment and teminology used in that discipline. Completion of Firearms and Toolmarks introduction I and II (E102 and E103) is desirable, but not mandatory.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading material may be assigned. Students should consider bringing notebook PCs for group presentations.
Materials Fee: 
A $70.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:


No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]