
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

May 1, 2013 

 
Dear County and District Superintendents: 
 

California is facing an alarming truancy problem, which impacts not only truant students 
and their families, but also schools, law enforcement, and the community as a whole. 
 

Over 1.8 million students, almost 30 percent of the state’s student body, were truant in 
California in the 2010-11 school year.1  Over 700,000 of those truant students – about 
40 percent – were in elementary school.  In fact, approximately 24 percent of all elementary 
school students were truant in 2010-2011.2  California law places a duty on us – parents, 
educators, and law enforcement – to ensure that our young children attend school every day.  
This duty is especially critical when it comes to elementary school children, who are too young 
to shoulder sole responsibility for getting themselves to school each morning. 
 

We have basic laws in California that require school districts to take certain steps when 
students are truant.  They include the following obligations:  
 
1. Truancy Classification and Reporting Requirement 
 

School districts are required to classify as “truant” any pupil who is absent from school 
without a valid excuse for three full days in one school year or tardy or absent for more than a 
30-minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on three occasions, or any such 
combination.  They also must report to the attendance supervisor or to the district superintendent 
any pupil who is classified as “truant.”3 
 
 

                                                 
1 California Department of Education, Data Quest, accessed April 30, 2013, 
http://dq.cde.ca.gov/dataquest/Expulsion/ExpReports/StateExp.aspx?cYear=2010-
11&cChoice=ExpData1&Pageno=1. 
2 California Department of Education, Data Quest, accessed April 30, 2013, 
http://dq.cde.ca.gov/dataquest/expulsion/ExpReports/ExpOtherSchool.aspx?sType=6061&dType=none&co=All%2
0Counties&TheYear=2010-11&sortby=b. 
3 Education Code section 48260.   
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2. Required Notification of First Truancy   
 

The school district must notify the pupil’s parent or guardian of the pupil’s first 
truancy by the most cost-effective method possible (which may include electronic mail or a 
telephone call).  The notification must include the following information: 
 

(1) That the pupil is truant; 
 

(2) That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at 
school; 
 

(3) That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an 
infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48290) of 
Chapter 2 of Part 27 (Education Code sections 48290 et seq.); 
 

(4) That alternative educational programs are available in the district; 
 

(5) That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to 
discuss solutions to the pupil’s truancy; 
 

(6) That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Education Code section 48264; 
 

(7) That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving 
privilege pursuant to Vehicle Code section 13202.7; and 
 

(8) That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and 
attend classes with the pupil for one day.4  
 
3. Required Reporting of Subsequent Truancies 
 

When a pupil who has once been reported as a truant is again absent from school without 
a valid excuse one or more days, or tardy on one or more days, the school district shall again 
report the student as a truant to the attendance supervisor or the superintendent of the school 
district.5  
 
4. Required Notification of Third Truancy/Designation as “Habitual Truant” 
 

After a pupil has been reported as a truant three or more times in a school year, an 
appropriate school district officer or employee must make a “conscientious effort” to hold at 
least one meeting with the pupil’s parent or guardian and the pupil.  If the school district 
makes such a conscientious effort, the pupil is deemed a “habitual truant.”  The requirement that 
the school district make a conscientious effort means “attempting to communicate with the 

                                                 
4 Education Code section 48260.5. 
5 Education Code section 48261. 
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parents of the pupil at least once using the most cost-effective method possible, which may 
include electronic mail or a telephone call.”6   
 

For your convenience, a sample First Notification of Truancy Letter and a sample Third 
Truancy Letter (Habitual Truant), in multiple languages, are available on the California 
Department of Education (CDE) Website at http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/ai/sb/sarbhandbook.asp 
and in the State School Attendance Review Board (SARB) Handbook, at Appendix A, pp. 63-64 
and 70.   
 

This early intervention is essential:  parents and guardians must be informed as early as 
possible of their child’s attendance problem and be included from the start in the efforts to 
resolve the issue before it becomes more serious.  The school district and the School Attendance 
Review Board (SARB) must work closely with pupils who have school attendance issues and 
their families in order to keep pupils in school, on track, and out of the juvenile justice system.  
In order to be effective, these efforts must start from the beginning of children’s enrollment in 
elementary school. 
 

The Attorney General’s Office is currently preparing an analysis of elementary school 
truancy in California and its impact on public safety.  My office plans to issue a public report 
that will describe in more detail the negative public safety consequences and poor outcomes for 
children who become truant in elementary school.  The report will also identify basic truancy 
enforcement and prevention strategies that require the engagement of parents, educators, law 
enforcement, and others.    
 

To help our office with this effort, and to give truancy the serious attention it deserves, 
we need to hear from you.  I encourage you to contact Deputy Attorney General Catherine Z. 
Ysrael to discuss what anti-truancy efforts your district has undertaken or that you believe would 
be helpful in your district’s efforts to reduce truancy and chronic absence among elementary 
school children.  Deputy Attorney General Ysrael can be reached at (916) 324-5437. 
 

Thank you for your attention to this important issue.  I look forward to working with you 
to combat truancy and improve student attendance across California.  Our safety and prosperity 
as a state depend on it. 
 

Sincerely, 

Attorney General 
 
cc: The Honorable Tom Torlakson, Superintendent of Public Instruction 
 Dr. Michael Kirst, President, State Board of Education 

                                                 
6 Education Code section 48262. 


