DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ocISPECIAL AGENT, SPECIAL AGENT TRAINEE,
“BAND SPECIAL AGENT SUPERVISOR

BARGAINING UNIT 7 PAY AND BENEFIT SUMMARY AS OF 07/01/2020
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W

EMENT

FITS

N

mm

o This summary is
effective as of
07/01/20

« Information may
change in accord-
ance with collective
bargaining.

Special Agent Trainee - Class Code 8514
$4,127 - $5,566

Special Agent - Class Code 8482

Range A $5,254 - $6,441

Range B $5,987- $7,697

Range C $6,900 - $9,542

Special Agent Supervisor - Class Code 8524
$7,567- $10,480

PAY DIFFERENTIALS (Available if the employee

meets the qualifying criteria)

¢ Bilingual Premium* $200 per pay period

¢ Field Training Officer Pay One Step or 5% over

base salary per pay period

¢ Flight Pay 10% over base salary per pay period

# Task Force Commander Pay $250 per pay
period

LIMITED-TERM APPOINTMENTS

Limited-Term appointments shall not
exceed two years (GC 18530).

Employees may be separated at their or
the departments request at any time prior
to the expiration of the term (2 CCR 282).

No time served in Limited Term appoint-
ment may count toward permanent status
(2 CCR 281).

Employees with Limited Term status are
not afforded the opportunity to participate
in seniority based transfers BU-7 MOU
Article 16.4.

Limited Term appointments are not auto-
matically transferred to permanent status.
Individuals must apply for, and be list

17-18 yrs: 2%
19 yrs: 4%
20 yrs: 5%
21 yrs: 6%
22-24 yrs: 7%
25 yrs: 9%

¢ Education Incentive, per pay period*

¢ $50 POST Intermediate Certificate, or

# $75 Associate Degree, or

¢ $100 POST Advanced Certificate, or

¢ $125 Bachelor's Degree

*Special Agent Trainee is eligible for these

pay differentials.

Office of Human Resources

eligible for appointment into a permanent
position with the Department of Justice.

Direct Deposit is a convenient method to
automatically deposit your net earnings
into the financial institution of your choice.
Once you enroll, all of your paychecks are
transferred to your financial institution.

This includes regular pay and supple-
mental pay, such as overtime. Employees
are eligible to sign up for direct deposit
upon hire.
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Retirement benefit formulas and contri-
bution rates for State employees are
specified in the California Government
Code. CalPERS determines the appropri-
ate retirement formula for each state
employee based on a combination of the
individual’s first hire date with the state
and prior CalPERS membership. This is
accomplished through completion of the
Member Reciprocal Self-Certification,
form number PERS-EAMD-801 (revised
06/18).

CalPERS publication 16 provides infor-
mation on the rights and benefits afford-
ed to eligible CalPERS members in con-
junction with certain other public retire-
ment systems in California.

For more information regarding retire-
ment, reach out to CalPERS at 1-888-
225-7377

Retirement Category: Peace Officer/
Firefighter (PO/FF) BU-7 MOU Article
11.1

Transfer from another state agency -
continuous employment in peace officer
classification; no change

New to State - considered Public Em-
ployees’ Pension Reform Act of 2013
(PEPRA); depending on reciprocal rights,
may be designated as “Classic” by
CalPERS.

NOTE: Special Agent classifications do
not pay into social security.

Prefunding of Post-retirement Health
Benefits (OPEB) - prefund retiree
healthcare, all benefit eligible employ-
ees must contribute 4.0% of the pen-
sionable compensation.
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The CalPERS representatives will need to know
the following to be able to provide an accurate
response:

1.

Your current CalPERS membership status
(active or last day with a CalPERS employer)

1st date employed with the State into the
PO/FF retirement category (CHP, CDCR, etc)

Appointing type into the PO/FF: Special Agent
series

Bargaining unit: RO7 (Special Agent series)
Pays into Medicare
Does not pay Social Security

Tenure: Permanent, or Limited Term and
number of months (appointment must be 6
months or greater)

Time base: 1/2 time or greater

Determining which retirement formula you would be eligible for is based on your actual first hire date with the state of California.

Formula

How Determined

Final Compensation

PO/FF Formula A
(3% at age 50)
G.C.21363.8

Unit 7 employees of the Peace Officer/Fire Fighter (PO/FF) retirement
plan who are employed on or after January 1, 2004 and prior to January
15, 2011, shall be subject to 3% @ 50 service retirement formula

Unit 7 PO/FF employee, who is em-
ployed by the State for the first time
and becomes a member of CalPERS
prior to January 15, 2011, is based
on the highest average monthly pay
rate during twelve (12) consecutive
months of employment.

PO/FF Formula B
(2.5% at age 55)
G.C. 21363

Exception: (below are subject to PO/FF Formula A)

PO/FF retirement members first employed by the State on and after Janu-
ary 15, 2011 and prior to January 1, 2013 and qualify for CalPERS mem-
bership are subject to PO/FF Formula B.

¢ Former state employees who return to state on or after 01/15/2011

¢ State employees hired prior to 01/15/2011 and were subject to Alternate Re-
tirement Program (ARP)
# State employee on approved LOA prior to 01/15/2011 who return to active on
or after 01/15/2011

¢ Persons who are already a member or annuitants of CalPERS as a State employ-
ee priorto 01/15/2011

Unit 7 PO/FF employee, who is em-
ployed by the State for the first time
and becomes a member of CalPERS
on or after January 15, 2011, is
based on the highest average
monthly pay rate during thirty-six

PO/FF PEPRA

(2.5% at age 57)
G.C. 7522.25 (c)

Employees brought into CalPERS Membership for the first time on and

after January 1, 2013 and who are not eligible for reciprocity with anoth-
er California public employer as provided in GC 7522.02 (c) shall be sub-
ject to PEPRA Retirement Formula

(36) consecutive months of employ-
ment.
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NEFILS

Rather than receiving three separate state
contributions for medical, dental, and vision
benefits, employees eligible for Consolidated
Benefits (CoBen) receive a single monthly
contribution to pay for all three benefits.
CoBen eligibility is determined through the
collective bargaining process. Currently,
employees in Bargaining Units 2, 7, 8, 16,
17, 18, and 19 are under CoBen.

If the CoBen allowance exceeds the total
cost of the medical, dental, and vision plans
an eligible employee has chosen, the em-
ployee receives the excess amount as addi-
tional taxable income each month.

Transfer from another state agency to DOJ:
benefits are uninterrupted; no changes al-
lowed unless there is a permitting event. For
example, change of geographical location
may be a permitting event; ie San Diego to
Sacramento.

New to State Benefits Eligibility Criteria - all
below are eligible upon hire

¢ Permanent - Full Time
¢ Permanent - %2 Time or greater

4 Limited Term - Full Time, when initial
appointment is in excess of 6 months

¢ Permanent - Intermittent (not eligible_
upon appointment; must meet specific
criteria)

If the CoBen allowance is less than the total
cost of the benefit plans the employee has
chosen, the employee pays the difference
through pre-tax payroll deductions.

Cash Option in lieu of health and dental
benefits refer to CoBen Handbook, page 10

Employees with qualifying group health and
dental coverage through another source,
such as a spouse or domestic partner, may
elect to receive cash in lieu of enroliment in
a state health and dental benefit. This addi-
tional cash is treated as taxable income.

Enrollment in the cash option for dental

only is not allowed.
WE
PAMILY

See CalPERS website for health insurance
options for state employees:
www.calpers.ca.gov, select: active members;
health; plans & rates, 2021, and “state” for
current options.

RO7 employees are eligible for Consolidated
Benefits and may enroll in Delta Dental
insurance upon appointment in a benefit
eligible position.

See CalHR website for dental and vision
options for state employees.
www.calhr.ca.gov, select employees; bene-
fits; select specific coverage from list for

Enrollment into the state's
Basic Vision Plan for eligible
employees and their eligible
dependents is automatic.

For employees wanting to
enroll into the Premier Vi-

sion Plan, they must posi-
tively elect to enroll. Once
enrolled into the Premier

plan, the employee will be
required to maintain their
enrollment for a 12-month

minimum enroliment period.

The adjacent chart shows a
brief comparison of the
vision benefit plans, see
CalHR website for full de-
scriptions.

Basic Vision Plan

Premier Vision Plan

Frame: Once every calendar
year - $75 allowance

Frame: Once every calendar year
- $200 allowance

Copayments:

Eye exam: $10.00
Lenses and/or a frame: $25.00

Copayments: Same as Basic

Additional:

Polycarbonate lenses: $15.00

Standard Progressive lenses: $0

Premium Progressive lenses:
$40-$50

Custom: $95-$120

Contact Lenses:

A $110 allowance will be pro-
vided towards the standard eye
examination, contact lens eval-
uation examination, fitting
costs, and materials.

Contact Lenses:

A $200 allowance will be provid-
ed towards the standard eye
examination, contact lens evalu-
ation examination, fitting costs,
and materials.

Visually Necessary contact lenses are covered in full when pre-
scribed by a VSP member doctor with prior authorization from VSP.
Under both the Basic and Premier Vision plan
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Employees first hired by the State
after 01/01/1989 that retire from
the state and have 20 or more years
of CalPERS time will receive 100%
of the state's share for health premi-
ums.

Employees first hired by the State
after 01/01/2017 that retire from
the state and have 25 or more years
of State time will receive 100% of
the state's share for health premi-
ums.

If the health plan premium is more
than the state's share, the retiree
will be responsible to pay any
amount above that. Out of pocket
cost will depend on which type of
coverage the employee selects.

Please refer to the bargaining unit 7
contract located on the CalHR web-
site for additional information or
clarification.

With Savings Plus you can build
a retirement 401 (k) and/or 457

account.

Automatic payroll

'deductions from your paycheck
are invested in funds you select
from the Savings Plus portfolio
menu. Money from your
paycheck that you invest this
way is not taxed until you
eventually withdraw it, generally

during retirement.
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Public Employees Retirement California Department of Human

Office of the Attorney General

System (CalPERS) Resources (CalHR)
WWW.0AG.CA.GOV/CAREERS WWW.CALPERS.CA.GOV (Active WWW,CALHR.CA.GOV (State Em-
Member, Health or Retirement) ployee, Essential Benefits)
Health Dental
e Benefit eligjbility e Benefit eligibility
e Eligible dependents e Eligible dependents
PAYROLL AND BENEFIT e Plans available for state e Plans available for state
SERVICES employees employees

Division of Operations (OPS)

Basic Vision and Premier Vision

Retirement
Office of Human Resources it elisibili
; e Changing Retirement i tcclighility

1300 | street, suite 720 Systems (ie: from Public to e Eligible dependents
Sacramento, CA 95814 State) (PUB 16) e Plan Description
Phone: (916) 210-6021 e Peace Officer/Fire Fighter

RO7 Sworn Peace Officers
Fax: (916) 322-0112 EPUB 7 ) Savings Plus pre-tax deduction
E-mail: PBS@doj.ca.gov e 401 and 457

e Safety (RO7 Non-Peace
Officers) (PUB 7)

Additional optional benefits
e Miscellaneous (most DOJ 4 .

Paid Holidays for state employees are listed employees) (PUB 6)

to the right. e Military Service Credit Op-

tions (PUB 15)
State employees are provided paid leave in

accordance with their bargaining unit con-
tracts. State service and leave accruals are
earned based on qualifying pay periods
(QPP). Accruals are available for use the

New Year's Day (January 1)

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
(3rd Mon in Jan)

¢ President's Day (3rd Mon in

month following. 2 Professional Development Days upon hire
. ; February)
(8 hour days), annually on a Fiscal Year basis
Transfer from another state agency - leave ¢ Cesar Chavez Day (March
balances transferred to new agency except  California Wounded Warriors Transitional 31)
for CTO and Excess (these are cashed out).  -€ave Act (CalHR 190) B ohial Day (Iast Mon in
2 Professional Development Days per fiscal ¢  Employees first hired on or after January May)
year (if exhausted at previous agency must 1, 2016, are entitled to 96 hours of addi-
wait until July 1) tional sick leave for treatment of a ser- ¢ Independence Day (July 4)
o L o
vice-connected 'disablhty rated at 30% or & Labor Day (1st Mon in Sept)
New to state more by the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs. ¢ Veteran's Day (November
PerS(.)naI Holiday - mgst be in a'position Vacation (VA)/Sick Leave (SL) program, 11)
that includes a probationary period required waiting period for VA if enrolling is (6 ¢ Thanksgiving Day (4th Thurs
¢ Perm: accrues 1 unit upon completion QPP), sick leave available upon accrual or in November)
of 6 months employment (one 8 hour  Annual Leave (AL) program hours available for  Day after Thanksgiving
day) use upon accrual :
¢ Christmas (December 25)
¢ Limited Term: not eligible
Accrual Rates for Rank-and-File Employees, in All Bargaining Units Except 6 and 8 Please note:
Length of Service Vacation Sick Leave Annual Leave 4 If a holiday falls_on Saturd_ay,
1 month to 3 years 7 hours/month & | 8 hours/month 11 hours/month ﬁg%giiﬁ:éﬁﬁi’;ﬁﬂ?ﬁ'"g
37 months to 10 years | 10 hours/ month & | 8 hours/month 14 hours/month Veteran's Day, in which case the
1241 months to 15 yrs 12 hours/ month & | 8 hours/month 16 hours/month holiday is observed Friday, Nov.
181 months to 20 yrs 13 hours/ month & | 8 hours/month 17 hours/month 10)
241 months and over 14 hours/ month & | 8 hours/month 18 hours/month
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