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on Accusations Prosecuted for Department of  

Consumer Affairs Client Agencies 

 

January 1, 2021 

 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

This is the fourth annual report by the Office of the Attorney General pursuant to Business 

and Professions Code section 312.2, which became effective on January 1, 2016, requiring 

annual reports to be filed by January 1 each year. This report is based on data from Fiscal Year 

2019–20. It provides information concerning accusation referrals received and adjudicated for 

each Department of Consumer Affairs client agency represented by the Licensing Section and 

the Health Quality Enforcement Section of the Office of the Attorney General. 

In Fiscal Year 2019–20, approximately half of the legal work performed by the Licensing 

Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section was for the prosecution of accusations, which 

are the focus of this report. During the fiscal year, 3,530 accusation referrals were received from 

the Department of Consumer Affairs client agencies. About five percent of accusation referrals 

to the Office of the Attorney General were rejected, and seven percent required further 

investigation.  

The Office of the Attorney General adjudicated 3,377 accusation referrals during the year. 

The accusations adjudicated were referred to this office in Fiscal Year 2019–20 or in a prior 

fiscal year. Multiple adjudications can occur when more than one licensee is included within one 

matter, each with different adjudication dates and types, or when a client agency exercises its 

discretion to reject an original adjudication. Approximately 57 percent of the total adjudications 

were by stipulated settlement, 28 percent by default, 12 percent by administrative hearing1, and 

three percent resulted from withdrawal of accusations by the agencies. 

BACKGROUND 

Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section 

The Licensing Section and the Health Quality Enforcement Section of the Office of the 

Attorney General’s Civil Law Division specialize in California professional and vocational 

licensing law. The two sections represent 36 Department of Consumer Affairs licensing 

oversight agencies that issue multiple types of professional and vocational licenses. They 

provide legal representation to these agencies in many kinds of licensing matters to protect 

California consumers and enhance the quality of the professions and vocations. Liaison 

deputies also regularly consult with agency staff to advise them on jurisdictional, legal, and 

                                                           
1 This report’s information is provided against the backdrop of the COVID-19 pandemic in Quarter Four 
of Fiscal Year 19-20. 
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programmatic issues. Each section’s legal staff also provide training for the Department of 

Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, agency investigators, and agency staff.  

Both sections prosecute licensing matters, including accusations (license discipline), which 

comprise about 52 percent of their combined caseload. The balance of prosecution matters 

consists of: 

 statements of issues—appeal hearings when a license application has been denied;  

 interim suspension petitions—hearings before the Office of Administrative Hearings for 

immediate suspension of a license;  

 injunction proceedings—brought in superior court to stop unlicensed practice; 

 post-discipline matters—when a licensee petitions for reduction of penalty or 

reinstatement of a revoked license; 

 citations—appeal hearings when a citation and/or fine has been issued; 

 Penal Code section 23 petitions—seeking a license restriction during the pendency of a 

criminal proceeding;  

 subpoena enforcement actions—to obtain records needed for the investigation of 

complaints; 

 judicial review proceedings—superior court review of final administrative decisions;  

 appeals—usually from superior court review proceedings; and  

 civil litigation related to license discipline—defending agencies in civil lawsuits brought in 

state or federal courts; and 

 third-party subpoenas—to obtain records in litigation from non-party client agencies. 

Business and Professions Code section 312.2 requests data only for the prosecution of 

accusation matters by the two sections. Accusations are the primary component of the 

enforcement program for each licensing agency. The legal services in other types of licensing 

matters handled by the sections are not included in this report, except where accusations are 

combined with petitions to revoke probation. 

Department of Consumer Affairs Client Agencies 

The 36 Department of Consumer Affairs agencies represented by the Licensing Section and 

the Health Quality Enforcement Section each have different licensing laws, programs, and 

processes unique to their practice areas. A few agencies issue only one type of license, but 

most issue multiple license types. As a result, agencies differ in how they refer accusation 

matters to the Office of the Attorney General. Some agencies refer one matter for each 

licensee, while others refer multiple licensees involved in the same or related acts for which 

discipline will be sought in a single accusation. Nearly half of client agencies represented by the 

Licensing Section file a single accusation naming all licensees involved in the events underlying 

the disciplinary action. None of the agencies represented by the Health Quality Enforcement 

Section file a single accusation against multiple licensees. Instead, a separate accusation is 

filed against each licensee. When multiple licensees are involved in the same events, the 

accusations may be consolidated for hearing. Any agency may also refer additional 

investigations to this office for prosecution while an initial accusation matter is pending, and 

these subsequent investigations are counted as additional accusation referrals in this report.  
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There are also other differences in how client agencies respond to and participate in legal 

matters. Some agencies have higher default rates, and some have higher rates of 

representation by counsel in their accusation matters. The applicable burden of proof varies 

based on the type of professional, vocational, or business license. Generally, when there are 

specific educational and testing requirements to obtain a license, disciplinary charges must be 

proved by clear and convincing evidence to a reasonable certainty. Most accusation matters 

brought by Department of Consumer Affairs licensing agencies are subject to this burden of 

proof, but a few license types are subject to a lower burden of proof, i.e., preponderance of 

evidence. Generally, these are licenses that permit operation of a business at a specific 

location, such as an automotive repair dealership or pharmacy.  

Only about a dozen Department of Consumer Affairs agencies are required to file their 

accusations within a prescribed statute of limitations, which generally ranges from one to five 

years, but may be longer in specific circumstances. Beginning on July 1, 2019, six Department 

of Consumer Affairs agencies were required to order disciplined licensees to provide patients a 

probation disclosure prior to their first visit concerning their probationary order in either all or 

specific circumstances. All Department of Consumer Affairs client agencies except the Medical 

Board of California are entitled to recover their costs of investigation and prosecution from 

respondents. The data included in this report are consistent with each client’s licensing 

programs and practices to the extent possible. But as a result of variances among agencies, 

data are not typically comparable to each other in any meaningful way.  

Investigation Process 

Agencies also differ in how they investigate their cases. Most commonly, agencies 

investigate using their own staff, including inspectors, sworn and unsworn investigators, 

investigator assistants, or analysts. Certain kinds of cases must be referred to the Department 

of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, consistent with Complaint Prioritization Guidelines 

developed pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 328. Medical Board cases are 

excluded from the requirements of section 328. All agencies strive to investigate complaints 

efficiently and rely on the Attorney General’s staff for counsel, as needed. 

Administrative Adjudication Process 

If the investigation reveals evidence that a licensee has violated the agency’s practice act, 

the agency refers the matter to the Office of the Attorney General to initiate a legal proceeding 

to revoke, suspend, limit, or condition the license, which is called an accusation. (Gov. Code, § 

11503.)  

Upon receipt, a deputy attorney general reviews the transmitted evidence to determine its 

sufficiency to meet the requisite burden of proof and for any jurisdictional issues. If the evidence 

is insufficient and circumstances suggest additional avenues for evidentiary development, the 

deputy may request further investigation from the agency. When evidence is insufficient and 

further investigation is not recommended, or legal issues prevent prosecution, the Office of the 

Attorney General declines prosecution, and the case is rejected.  

Based on sufficient evidentiary support, a deputy attorney general prepares an accusation to 

initiate the agency’s adjudicative proceeding. In some cases, when the accusation is being 

prepared, a deputy attorney general may request supplemental investigation. The accusation 

pleading is sent to the agency for signature by the executive director, executive officer, or other 
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designated complainant for the agency. The accusation is filed when the complainant signs it. 

When charged in an accusation, a respondent has a right to an adjudicative hearing under the 

California Administrative Procedure Act (Gov. Code, §11500 et seq.). Once served with the 

accusation, the respondent must file a notice of defense within fifteen days, or is in default. 

Once the notice of defense has been received, a hearing is scheduled with the Office of 

Administrative Hearings. If no notice of defense is received, then a default is prepared for 

presentation to the client agency. 

The deputy attorney general prosecutes the accusation case before the Office of 

Administrative Hearings. Upon conclusion of the hearing, the case is submitted to the 

administrative law judge who presided over the hearing. The administrative law judge prepares 

a proposed decision and sends it to the agency for its board or committee’s voting and decision. 

Of course, a stipulated settlement, which can include a public reprimand, probation, stipulated 

license surrender, or revocation, can occur at any time and is the most common method of 

adjudication of accusation matters. 

The agency itself, through the board or committee, makes its decision in each accusation 

case. The agency can accept or reject a settlement, and if rejected, the proceedings will 

continue. After an administrative hearing, the agency can accept the proposed decision issued 

by the administrative law judge, in which case it becomes final. However, the agency may opt to 

reduce the penalty or reject the proposed decision and order the hearing transcript. After review 

of the transcript and the evidence, the agency can then adopt the proposed decision or issue its 

own decision. Most cases are resolved when the agency accepts a stipulated settlement or 

proposed decision. But if not, additional proceedings ensue, which take more time. 

Even after an agency’s decision is issued, it may not be final. A respondent may exercise 

the right to petition for reconsideration and, if granted by the agency, the decision will be 

reconsidered. This can also happen if an agency decides a case based upon the default of a 

respondent for failure to file a timely notice of defense or failure to appear at a duly noticed 

hearing. Upon petition by the respondent, the agency can vacate the default decision and 

additional proceedings are conducted. Each of these types of post-submission events will 

lengthen the processing of a case and require further adjudication.  

Once the agency’s decision is final, it is still subject to judicial review in administrative 

mandamus and appellate proceedings. In very few cases, judicial review under Civil Procedure 

Code section 1094.5 results in remand to the agency to conduct further administrative 

proceedings or reconsider its decision. In these cases, the final decision of the agency may be 

delayed by months or even years. 

MEASURES REPORTED 

The text of Business and Professions Code section 312.2 is set forth in its entirety in the 

attached appendix. We provide the following interpretation of terms and description of the 

manner in which data were gathered for each of the reporting metrics in subdivisions 

(a)(1)-(a)(7) and (b)(1)-(b)(6). 
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(a)(1) The number of accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 

 

Accusation matter means an investigation of one or more complaints that an agency has 

referred to the Office of the Attorney General. This office will review evidence and, if 

appropriate, prosecute the matter through the disciplinary process as an accusation.  

Accusation matters are counted by each investigation report received that bears a distinct 

investigation number. Some agencies request that more than one respondent be named and 

prosecuted in a single accusation, in which case the investigation number is counted as an 

accusation matter for each respondent. Multiple investigations may be referred during the time 

that the Office of the Attorney General is prosecuting the agency’s initial accusation referral, 

which can span different fiscal years. Each investigation received during the reporting period is 

counted for each respondent to which it pertains. 

(a)(2) The number of accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 

 

Rejected for filing describes the determination, made by a deputy attorney general with a 

supervisor’s approval, that an accusation should not be filed. An accusation can be rejected for 

many reasons, including: (1) the evidence submitted is insufficient to meet the burden of proof 

to sustain a cause for discipline under the agency’s applicable practice act; (2) the events in 

question are not within the statute of limitations; and (3) disciplinary action is not supported by 

law or public policy. When prosecution is declined, the investigative file is returned to the client 

agency and the case is closed in the Office of the Attorney General. 

A rejection for filing during the reporting period is counted once for each respondent to 

which the rejection pertains, without regard to the number of investigations referred to the Office 

of the Attorney General for consideration.  

(a)(3) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by 
 the Attorney General. 

 

Further investigation requested describes an instance in which a deputy attorney general 

determines that the evidence in the investigation is insufficient to meet the burden of proof, but 

that there are avenues available to augment the evidence and support a cause for discipline 

under the agency’s applicable practice act. With supervisory approval, the deputy may request 

further investigation from the agency, the Division of Investigation, or internally at the Office of 

the Attorney General. When further investigation is requested in a matter handled by the 

Licensing Section, the file remains open pending receipt of supplemental investigation and is 

documented accordingly. In the Health Quality Enforcement Section, the file is returned to the 

client agency and the matter is closed. The file is reopened if the matter is rereferred to the 

Office of the Attorney General with additional evidence.  

Each request for further investigation made during the reporting period is counted in each 

matter, and is not necessarily associated with the number of referrals received in the matter, or 

the number of respondents to which the further investigation may pertain. There may be only 

one request for further investigation in a matter that contains more than one respondent or more 
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than one investigation. There may also be more than one further investigation request made 

pertaining to a single respondent in a matter with only one referral. 

(a)(4) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the 
 Attorney General. 

 

Further investigation received describes the additional investigation received as a result of 

further investigation requested, as described above. Very rarely will an agency refer a matter 

back to the Office of the Attorney General with an additional investigation and request 

reconsideration of a previous decision not to prosecute (i.e., rejection). If the matter is accepted 

for prosecution, this is also recorded as further investigation received. Additional investigation 

received is distinguished from a new referral of an accusation matter from a client agency, 

which is counted in subdivision (a)(1), but is not counted in (a)(4). 

Each supplemental investigation received during the reporting period is counted in each 

matter and is not necessarily associated with the number of referrals received in the matter or 

the number of respondents to which the further investigation may pertain.  

(a)(5) The number of accusations filed by each constituent entity. 

 

Accusation means the initial accusation filed in a matter to initiate proceedings to revoke or 

suspend a license against one or more respondents, and any subsequent amended accusation 

filed in the matter. Accusations may be amended during the pendency of a case for a variety of 

reasons, most commonly because the client agency refers an additional investigation of a new 

complaint and the accusation is amended to add new causes for discipline based on the new 

investigation. Filed means the accusation or amended accusation is signed by the agency’s 

designee, known as the complainant, who is usually the executive officer or executive director of 

the agency. The accusation is filed on the date the document is signed. 

Each accusation or amended accusation filed during the reporting period is counted and 

reported under subdivision (a)(5). 

 (a)(6) The number of accusations a constituent entity withdraws. 

 

On occasion, the complainant withdraws the accusation after it has been filed, terminating 

the prosecution of the accusation matter. A common reason for an accusation to be withdrawn 

is the death of the respondent against whom the accusation is filed. In other cases, the 

evidentiary basis for the matter may change during litigation, or evidence received from a 

respondent in the course of discovery may lead to re-evaluation of the merits of the case.  

The withdrawal of an accusation is counted separately for each respondent named in the 

accusation.  
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(a)(7) The number of accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 

 

Adjudication means that the work of the Office of the Attorney General has been completed 

and the case will be brought before the agency’s decision maker for its final decision. There are 

four types of adjudicative events: (1) a default decision and order is prepared and sent to the 

agency because a respondent did not file a notice of defense or failed to appear at a duly 

noticed administrative hearing; (2) a stipulated settlement is signed by a respondent and sent to 

the agency, which considers the acceptance of the disposition of the matter for that respondent; 

(3) the submission of the case at the conclusion of an administrative hearing to an 

administrative law judge to prepare a proposed decision, and the decision is sent to the agency 

for its consideration; and (4) withdrawal of an accusation by the complainant, which terminates 

the matter. An adjudicative event for each respondent named in an accusation is necessary 

before the matter is fully adjudicated. Every adjudicative event that occurs during the reporting 

period is counted.  

Multiple adjudicative events can also occur in cases with only a single respondent. This 

happens when an agency does not accept a stipulated settlement, does not adopt a proposed 

decision submitted by an administrative law judge, grants reconsideration of its decision, or 

when a superior court judge remands the matter to the agency for further consideration. 

(b)(1) The average number of days from the Attorney General receiving an accusation 
 referral to when an accusation is filed by the constituent entity. 

 

The date that each accusation referral is received in the Office of the Attorney General is 

documented. The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(1) begins on the date of 

receipt of the first accusation referral in each matter and ends on the date the complainant signs 

the initial accusation. Amended accusations received after the client agency’s initial referral are 

not included in the average. 

(b)(2) The average number of days to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to 
 the Attorney General after further investigation is received by the Attorney General 
 from a constituent entity or the Division of Investigation. 

 

Prepare an accusation in subdivision (b)(2) is different from filing an accusation in 

subdivision (b)(1). An accusation is prepared (i.e., the preparation is based on a deputy attorney 

general’s familiarization with the technical subject matter issues, thorough review of the 

evidence and expert reports to determine chargeable causes for discipline, then drafting, and 

supervisorial review of the accusation) by the assigned deputy and then sent to the complainant 

at the agency to be reviewed, approved, and signed.  

Rereferred means the date when supplemental investigation has been received by the 

Office of the Attorney General in response to a request for further investigation, or, in rare 

cases, following rejection of an accusation matter.  

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(2) begins on the date each initial 

accusation referral was received in the Office of the Attorney General – including time for initial 

review of the matter, request for further investigation, further investigation conducted, receipt of 
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the supplemental investigation by the Office of the Attorney General from the agency, re-review 

by the deputy, and the deputy preparing the accusation – and ends on the date the deputy 

sends the prepared accusation to the complainant for review and filing in each matter. The 

average may also include the review of additional referrals received while further investigation is 

being conducted on the initial referral. 

Notably, the matters that required further investigation before preparation of an accusation 

reported in subdivision (b)(2) are included in the average number of days to file accusations 

reported in subdivision (b)(1). As a consequence, delays in preparing accusations for cases that 

required further investigation generally will increase the average number of days to file the 

agency’s accusations (reported in subdivision (b)(1)).  

(b)(3) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
 General transmitting a stipulated settlement to the constituent entity. 

 

Settlements are negotiated according to authorization provided by the complainant based on 

the agency’s published disciplinary guidelines. A stipulated settlement is provided to the 

agency’s decision maker who decides whether to accept the settlement as its disposition of the 

case against the respondent.  

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(3) begins on the date of filing for 

the initial accusation in each matter, and ends on the date the stipulated settlement for each 

respondent is sent to the agency for its consideration. 

(b)(4) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
 General transmitting a default decision to the constituent entity. 

 

If a respondent fails to send a notice of defense to the assigned deputy attorney general or 

agency within 15 days after service of the accusation, or fails to appear at a duly noticed 

administrative hearing on the accusation, the respondent is in default. The agency can opt to 

present the case to an administrative law judge without participation by the respondent, who has 

defaulted. However, most often the agency requests that the deputy prepare a default decision 

and order for the agency’s decision maker to consider issuing as its final decision against the 

respondent. Many agencies have delegated authority to their executive officers to adopt default 

decisions as a matter of course, without consideration by the board itself. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(4) begins on the date each initial 

accusation in a matter is filed, and ends on the date of transmission of the default decision and 

order to the agency for each respondent. 

(b)(5) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 
 General requesting a hearing date from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

 

After a notice of defense has been received from each respondent named in an accusation, 

the deputy attorney general assigned to the matter is responsible for coordinating with opposing 

counsel, unrepresented respondents, prosecution witnesses, and the Office of Administrative 

Hearings to determine a hearing date when everyone is available. The deputy attorney general 
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prepares a request to set the hearing based on this coordination and sends it to the Office of 

Administrative Hearings to calendar the hearing. 

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(5) begins on the date the initial 

accusation in each matter is filed, and ends on the date the request to set a hearing is sent to 

the Office of Administrative Hearings. Infrequently, a request to set a hearing is done more than 

once in a case, usually because a continuance has been granted. Only the first request to set a 

hearing in a case is included in calculating the average.  

(b)(6) The average number of days from the Attorney General's receipt of a hearing date 
 from the Office of Administrative Hearings to the commencement of a hearing. 

 

When the Office of Administrative Hearings receives the request to set hearing sent by the 

deputy attorney general, the hearing date is set on its calendar and the parties are informed of 

the hearing date. Unless an intervening motion for a continuance is granted by an administrative 

law judge, the hearing will commence on that date and, depending on the length of the hearing 

and intervening factors, may conclude on the same day or at a later date.  

The calculation of the average reported for subdivision (b)(6) begins on the date the deputy 

attorney general receives notice from the Office of Administrative Hearings that the hearing date 

has been set, and ends on the date the hearing actually commences. When motions to continue 

hearings are granted, the commencement of hearings are delayed, and the average number of 

days will increase as a consequence. 

METHODOLOGY 

Case Management System 

This report is based on data entered by legal professionals in ProLaw, the case 

management system of the Office of the Attorney General. Each matter received from a client 

by the Licensing Section and the Health Quality Enforcement Section is opened in this system. 

Rules for data entry have been created by the sections and are managed by the Case 

Management Section of the Office of the Attorney General, which dictates the definitions, 

dating, entry, and documentation for each data point. Section-specific protocols, business 

processes, and uniform standards across all professionals responsible for data entry ensure the 

consistency, veracity, and quality of the reported data. The data entered has been verified to 

comply with established standards. The data markers in administrative cases have been used to 

generate the counts and averages in this report. Every effort has been made to report data in a 

transparent, accurate, and verifiable manner. The Office of the Attorney General continues to 

improve its technology, systems, and protocols, and to integrate these improvements into its 

business routines and operations. 

 

Data Presentation 

The information required to be reported by Business and Professions Code section 312.2 

has been organized separately for each constituent entity in the Department of Consumer 

Affairs represented by the Licensing Section and the Health Quality Enforcement Section of the 

Office of the Attorney General.  
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Each entry includes the number and types of licenses issued by the agency, which were 

taken from the 2019 Annual Report of the California Department of Consumer Affairs, 

containing data from Fiscal Year 2018–19, or otherwise verified by the licensing agency. The 

report can be found online at: https://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/2019_annrpt.pdf.  

 

 Each client agency is unique and cannot easily be compared to others. The following 

Department of Consumer Affairs website contains links for further information: 

http://www.dca.ca.gov/about_dca/entities.shtml.  

 

Any applicable statute of limitations has been included for each client agency’s entry, as well 

as the frequency of agency accusations naming more than one respondent.  

 

Table 1 on the entry for each agency provides the counts for various aspects of accusation 

matters as requested under subdivision (a) of Business and Professions Code section 312.2, 

such as the number of accusation referrals received and the number of accusations filed 

(subds. (a)(1) and (a)(5)).  

 

Table 2 provides metrics required under Business and Professions Code subdivision (b) of 

section 312.2, which are based on accusation matters adjudicated during the year as reported 

under subdivision (a)(7). We have included the mean, median, standard deviation, and number 

of values in the data set. The average expresses the central or typical value in a set of data, 

which is most commonly known as the arithmetic mean. The central value in an ordered set of 

data is the median. Compared to the median, the mean is more sensitive to extreme values, or 

outliers, and the number of values, or sample size. When the mean and median are nearly 

equivalent, that is a likely indicator that there are few extreme values in the data set. However, 

when there is a large difference between the mean and median, it is likely that extreme values 

are skewing the data. The standard deviation (SD) for a data set reflects dispersion. A low SD 

indicates that data points tend to be close to the mean, while a high SD indicates that data 

points are spread out over a wider range of values.  

 

The individual client agency entries that follow have been organized in alphabetical order for 

convenience. 

https://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/2019_annrpt.pdf
http://www.dca.ca.gov/about_dca/entities.shtml
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California Board of Accountancy 

 

The California Board of Accountancy regulated 106,587 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with six 

license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own investigators, 

who are either certified public accountants or analysts. Some investigations are assisted by the Office 

of Attorney General and the Board’s Enforcement Advisory Committee through the taking of testimony 

under oath of licensees under investigation. There were multiple respondents in about 26 percent of the 

board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 49 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  2 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 3 

(5) accusations filed. 57 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 6 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 86 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

157 117 172 67 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

443 168 395 5 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

165 123 123 74 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

43 43 12 2 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

107 83 96 19 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

96 86 53 4 
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California Acupuncture Board 

 

The California Acupuncture Board regulated 12,353 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one 

license type — Licensed Acupuncturist. Complaints received by the board are investigated by the 

Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There 

is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. Effective July 1, 2019, all 

licensees subject to an order of probation issued on or after July 1, 2019 must provide a probation 

disclosure to their patients or their patients’ guardians or health care surrogates prior to their first visit. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 16 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 22 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 11 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

92 77 59 11 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

346 228 334 6 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

85 99 26 3 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

57 54 38 5 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

198 198 24 2 
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California Architects Board 

 

The California Architects Board regulated 21,550 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one 

license type — Architect. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the Board’s own 

staff and architect consultants and, when appropriate, referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs 

Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The statute of limitations to file an 

accusation is generally five years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 3 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 3 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 5 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

88 81 18 3 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

208 208 0 1 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

89 89 5 2 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

238 238 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

84 84 0 1 
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California State Athletic Commission 

 

The California State Athletic Commission regulated 3,902 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with 

eight license types. The commission referred one other matter to the Office of the Attorney General in 

Fiscal Year 2019–20, but did not refer any accusation matters. There is no statute of limitations within 

which to file accusations for this agency. 

There were no accusation prosecution data for this agency in Fiscal Year 2019–20. 
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Bureau of Automotive Repair 

 

The Bureau of Automotive Repair regulated 75,094 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with nine 

license types. Complaints and other matters are investigated by the bureau’s own program 

representatives. There were multiple respondents in approximately 41 percent of the bureau’s 

accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20. The statute 

of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from the act or omission charged in the 

accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 334 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 2 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  5 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 2 

(5) accusations filed. 254 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 13 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 491 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

177 135 141 355 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

266 295 156 8 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

278 238 180 209 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

151 65 179 155 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

169 102 147 77 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

182 168 103 83 



 

16 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

 

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology regulated 621,742 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with 

12 license types. The board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects establishments for 

health and safety. The board’s cases are investigated by the board’s own inspectors or other staff, and 

when appropriate, may also be referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of 

Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. Approximately seven percent of the board’s 

accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20 had multiple 

respondents. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency.  

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 77 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  2 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 78 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 95 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

99 89 71 85 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

123 0 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

189 159 108 53 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

73 58 51 34 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

87 60 67 20 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

86 86 6 2 
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Board of Behavioral Sciences 

 

The Board of Behavioral Sciences regulated 116,940 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with seven 

license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own investigators 

or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 

Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three 

years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 77 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  3 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 3 

(5) accusations filed. 88 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 4 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 84 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

88 80 67 83 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

42 42 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

165 141 112 53 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

103 62 85 13 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

103 91 77 28 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

117 92 48 13 
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Cemetery and Funeral Bureau 

 

The Cemetery and Funeral Bureau regulated 13,418 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with 12 

license types. Most complaints received by the bureau are investigated by the bureau’s field 

representatives or staff or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. Approximately 58 percent of the bureau’s 

accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20 had multiple 

respondents. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from the act or 

omission for cemetery licensees and two years for funeral licensees charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 7 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 3 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 10 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

183 169 109 6 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

237 287 70 3 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

123 123 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

133 133 0 2 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

147 142 31 4 
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Board of Chiropractic Examiners  

 

The Board of Chiropractic Examiners regulated 12,427 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with one 

license type — Doctor of Chiropractic. It also authorizes satellite offices, chiropractic corporations, and 

referral services. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own 

investigators or staff, or referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 

file accusations for this agency. Effective July 1, 2019, all licensees subject to an order of probation 

issued on or after July 1, 2019 must provide a probation disclosure to their patients or their patients’ 

guardians or health care surrogates prior to their first visit.  

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 23 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  4 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 18 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 18 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

97 94 65 17 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

256 256 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

275 292 122 10 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

53 53 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

147 156 75 6 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

231 196 130 4 
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Contractors State License Board 

 

The Contractors State License Board regulated 308,018 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with two 

license types and many classifications, including General Contractor. Most complaints received by the 

board are investigated by the board’s own enforcement representatives, some of whom are sworn 

investigators. There were very few multiple respondents in the board’s accusation cases prosecuted by 

the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20. However, the number of adjudications 

reported in subdivision (a)(7) include licensees affiliated with respondents that are entities. The statute 

of limitations to file an accusation is generally four years from an act or omission charged in the 

accusation.  

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 469 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 4 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  26 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 16 

(5) accusations filed. 349 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 19 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 377 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

195 150 145 301 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

317 291 155 18 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

291 261 165 146 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

102 61 99 171 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

134 101 110 79 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

156 128 167 38 
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Court Reporters Board of California 

 

The Court Reporters Board of California regulated 6,338 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one 

license type — Certified Shorthand Reporter. Most complaints received by the board are investigated 

by the board’s own staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of 

Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations 

within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 3 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 4 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 3 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

85 91 22 3 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

0 0 0 0 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

41 41 1 2 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

45 45 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

77 77 0 1 
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Dental Board of California 

 

The Dental Board of California regulated 191,146 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 16 license 

types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own staff or investigators, 

some of whom are sworn investigators. They may also be referred to the Department of Consumer 

Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. The statute of 

limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in 

the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 56 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  6 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 3 

(5) accusations filed. 59 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 3 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 65 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

99 86 79 63 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

247 265 89 4 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

362 339 206 52 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

190 170 196 7 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

204 189 110 26 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

266 193 162 3 
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Dental Hygiene Board of California 

 

The Dental Hygiene Board of California regulated 32,966 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 

four license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by board staff: an 

enforcement analyst and a non-sworn special investigator. However, some complaints require 

assistance from Dental Board Investigators, who are sworn officers and have jurisdiction over a dental 

office. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 23 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 20 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 20 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

76 59 76 19 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

122 73 106 11 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

36 30 10 4 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

79 63 67 7 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

162 117 78 3 
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Bureau of Household Goods and Services 

 

 The Bureau of Household Goods and Services regulated 44,588 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 

with 16 license types. Most complaints received by the bureau are investigated by the bureau’s own 

investigators or staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 

file accusations for this agency.  

There were no accusation prosecution data for this agency in Fiscal Year 2019–20. 
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Landscape Architects Technical Committee 

 

The Landscape Architects Technical Committee regulated 3,868 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, 

with one license type — Landscape Architect. Most complaints received by the committee are 

investigated by the committee’s own enforcement staff, and some are reviewed by the committee’s 

subject matter experts. When appropriate, complaints may be referred to the Department of Consumer 

Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The statute of limitations to file an 

accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

There were no accusation prosecution data for this agency in Fiscal Year 2019–20. 
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Licensed Midwives Program (Medical Board of California) 

 

The Medical Board of California regulated 429 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 for the Licensed 

Midwives Program, with one license type — Licensed Midwife. Complaints received by the Midwives 

Program are investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health 

Quality Investigation Unit. There is no specific statute of limitations within which to file accusations for 

this program. However, because licensed midwives are within the jurisdiction of the Medical Board of 

California, accusations are filed within the same limitations period pertaining to the Medical Board, 

which is generally three years from the discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 3 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 3 

(5) accusations filed. 4 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 1 

Table 2 are based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

32 32 0 1 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

18 18 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

176 176 0 1 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

0 0 0 0 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

31 31 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

0 0 0 0 
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Medical Board of California 

The Medical Board of California regulated 163,795 licenses, registrations, and permits of eight 

types in Fiscal Year 2018-19 (excluding Licensed Midwives, data for which is set forth on the 

preceding page). Data for Physicians and Surgeons, Research Psychoanalysts, and 

Polysomnographic Program are consolidated below. Complaints received by the board are 

investigated by its in-house Complaint Investigation Office or by the Department of Consumer Affairs 

Division of Investigation, Health Quality Investigation Unit. From July 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018, 

the board referred accusation matters completed in the Vertical Enforcement and Prosecution 

investigation model, pursuant to Government Code section 12529.6 (repealed January 1, 2019). The 

statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or 

omission charged in the accusation. Effective July 1, 2019, under specified circumstances, all 

licensees subject to an order of probation issued on or after July 1, 2019 must provide a probation 

disclosure to their patients or their patients’ guardians or health care surrogates prior to their first 

visit. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

.Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 550 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 77 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  62 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 216 

(5) accusations filed. 412 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 14 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 337 
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  Medical Board of California (continued) 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions Code 

section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 68 54 64 331 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 195 149 146 5 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 306 296 192 266 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 122 79 103 20 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 154 88 176 110 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 221 200 137 35 
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Naturopathic Medicine Committee 

 

The Naturopathic Medicine Committee regulated 1,073 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one 

type of license — Naturopathic Doctor. Complaints received by the committee are investigated by the 

Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. The 

Committee did not refer any accusation matters in Fiscal Year 2019–20. There is no statute of 

limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. Effective July 1, 2019, all licensees subject to 

an order of probation issued on or after July 1, 2019 must provide a probation disclosure to their 

patients or their patients’ guardians or health care surrogates prior to their first visit.  

There were no accusation prosecution data for this agency in Fiscal Year 2019–20. 
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California Board of Occupational Therapy 

 

The Board of Occupational Therapy regulated 17,543 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with two 

license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own investigators 

or staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 

and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file 

accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 17 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 11 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 16 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

142 146 73 12 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

246 246 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

297 287 148 5 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

56 42 30 7 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

90 74 53 4 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

218 218 72 2 
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California State Board of Optometry 

 

The Board of Optometry includes the Dispensing Optician Committee. The board regulated 19,048 

licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 12 types of licenses, including those for Optometrist and 

Registered Dispensing Optician. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s 

own staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 

and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. The board does not employ its own investigators. The statute 

of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged 

in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 4 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 1 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 11 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 8 

Table 2 are based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

134 128 85 8 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

138 138 54 2 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

47 49 10 3 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

121 121 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

124 124 0 1 
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Osteopathic Medical Board of California 

 

The Osteopathic Medical Board of California regulated 11,120 licenses and registrations in Fiscal 

Year 2018–19, with one type of license — Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon. Complaints received 

by the board are investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Health Quality Investigation Unit. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three 

years from discovery of the act or omission charged in the accusation. Effective July 1, 2019, under 

specified circumstances, all licensees subject to an order of probation issued on or after July 1, 2019 

must provide a probation disclosure to their patients or their patients’ guardians or health care 

surrogates prior to their first visit. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 12 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  3 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 4 

(5) accusations filed. 15 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 10 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 134 70 137 10 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 282 282 92 2 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 216 202 48 7 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 77 77 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 201 201 58 2 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 112 112 0 1 
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California State Board of Pharmacy 

 

The Board of Pharmacy regulated 139,473 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 28 license types. 

The board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects pharmacies for compliance. Most 

complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own inspectors, who are licensed 

pharmacists themselves. There were multiple respondents in about 41 percent of the board’s 

accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20. There is no 

statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 372 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 9 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  24 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 18 

(5) accusations filed. 237 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 289 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

214 138 224 221 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

490 386 346 14 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

368 277 329 173 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

117 61 135 80 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

154 106 136 60 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

146 124 152 21 
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Physical Therapy Board of California 

 

The Physical Therapy Board of California regulated 40,332 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 

two license types — Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant. Complaints received by the 

board are investigated by the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations 

and Enforcement Unit. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 38 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 3 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  5 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 4 

(5) accusations filed. 23 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 29 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 76 71 52 23 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 256 273 147 19 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 78 78 32 2 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 250 329 123 10 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 120 120 0 1 
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Physician Assistant Board 

 

 The Physician Assistant Board regulated 13,113 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one license 

type — Physician Assistant. Complaints received by the board are investigated by the Department of 

Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health Quality Investigation Unit. Until December 2019, the 

board followed the Medical Board of California’s limitations period, generally three years from discovery 

of the act or omission charged in the accusation. There is no statute of limitations within which to file 

accusations for this agency. 

 The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 19 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  3 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 15 

(5) accusations filed. 19 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 29 

 Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

69 38 100 25 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

318 318 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

378 286 363 23 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

57 57 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

224 173 201 6 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

0 0 0 0 
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Podiatric Medical Board 

The Podiatric Medical Board regulated 2,554 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with three license 

types, including Doctor of Podiatric Medicine. Complaints received by the board are investigated by 

the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Health Quality Investigation Unit. The 

statute of limitations generally requires accusations to be filed within three years after the discovery 

of the act or omission charged in the accusation. Effective July 1, 2019, all licensees subject to an 

order of probation issued on or after July 1, 2019 must provide a probation disclosure to their 

patients or their patients’ guardians or health care surrogates prior to their first visit.  

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 9 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  2 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 4 

(5) accusations filed. 11 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 9 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 44 32 39 9 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 320 236 190 6 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 0 0 0 0 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 57 48 32 5 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 192 203 53 3 
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Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

 

The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education issues three types of approvals that authorize 

private postsecondary institutions to operate. It regulated 1,116 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19. The 

bureau does not employ investigators and most complaints are investigated by the board’s own staff or 

are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and 

Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for 

this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 12 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 2 

(5) accusations filed. 20 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 16 

 Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

128 127 90 15 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

175 175 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

261 230 148 10 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

92 44 93 4 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

119 111 72 6 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

162 162 0 1 
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Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists 

 

The Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists regulated 173,608 

licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with 28 license types. The board does not employ investigators and 

most complaints are investigated by the board’s own staff or are referred to the Department of 

Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit, when appropriate. 

There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 36 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 2 

(5) accusations filed. 28 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 27 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

181 137 197 27 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

355 158 293 3 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

290 255 154 18 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

72 40 76 6 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

240 236 84 4 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

147 147 22 2 
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Professional Fiduciaries Bureau 

 

The Professional Fiduciaries Bureau regulated 756 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with one 

license type — Professional Fiduciary. Complaints received by the bureau are investigated by the 

bureau’s own staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 

file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 5 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 5 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 1 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

372 372 0 1 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

283 283 0 1 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

0 0 0 0 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

0 0 0 0 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

0 0 0 0 
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California Board of Psychology 

 

The California Board of Psychology regulated 20,186 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with three 

license types — Psychologist, Psychological Assistant, and Registered Psychologist. The statute of 

limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the act or omission charged in 

the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 55 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 5 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  10 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 9 

(5) accusations filed. 46 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 1 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 34 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

88 76 71 34 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

220 220 129 2 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

215 204 110 25 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

89 90 51 4 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

99 58 107 9 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

313 274 197 4 
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Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers 

 

The Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers regulated 10,636 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with six 

license types. Most complaints received by the bureau involved violations of the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice and are investigated by the bureau’s own staff of investigators 

who each hold a certified appraiser license. Federal law directs the resolution of administrative 

actions within one year after a complaint is filed with the bureau. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 14 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  0 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 10 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 10 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

46 39 36 10 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

131 127 76 5 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

47 44 16 4 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

67 67 0 1 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

173 173 0 1 
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Board of Registered Nursing 

 

The Board of Registered Nursing regulated 559,824 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 10 

license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own staff of 

investigators, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to 

file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 855 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 48 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  53 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 48 

(5) accusations filed. 930 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 26 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 976 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

113 77 105 930 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

252 178 192 41 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

183 162 120 577 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

53 37 54 261 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

109 91 78 214 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

181 147 155 92 
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Respiratory Care Board of California 

 

The Respiratory Care Board of California regulated 23,490 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with 

one license type — Respiratory Care Practitioner. Complaints received by the board are investigated by 

board staff. The statute of limitations to file an accusation is generally three years from discovery of the 

act or omission charged in the accusation. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 32 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 7 

(5) accusations filed. 30 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 30 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

71 52 51 29 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

166 167 52 2 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

159 176 57 16 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

78 61 52 7 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

60 60 36 11 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

112 118 23 5 
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Bureau of Security and Investigative Services 

 

The Bureau of Security and Investigative Services regulated 416,485 licensees in Fiscal Year 

2018–19 with 23 license types. Most complaints received by the bureau are investigated by the 

bureau’s own staff, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. About six percent of the bureau’s accusation 

cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 2019–20 had multiple 

respondents. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 16 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 23 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 21 

 Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

109 87 81 19 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

91 91 13 2 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

226 281 109 9 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

85 77 42 8 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date. 

81 91 40 5 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

109 126 57 4 
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Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensers Board 

The Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensers Board regulated 

33,118 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19 with 11 license types, including Speech and Language 

Pathologist, Audiologist, Dispensing Audiologist, Speech Language Pathology Assistant, and Hearing 

Aid Dispenser. Complaints received by the board are investigated by the Department of Consumer 

Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There is no generally applicable 

statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency, with the exception of certain kinds 

of violations for which an accusation must be filed within three or four years from the act or omission 

charged in the accusation. 

 The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 4 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 0 

(5) accusations filed. 4 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 5 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

169 128 180 5 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

0 0 0 0 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

267 256 60 4 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

63 63 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

44 44 2 2 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

0 0 0 0 
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Structural Pest Control Board 

 

 The Structural Pest Control Board regulated 28,710 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with five 

license types. Most complaints received by the board are investigated by the board’s own staff of 

investigators, or are referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, 

Investigations and Enforcement Unit when appropriate. There were multiple respondents in about 

seven percent of the board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in 

Fiscal Year 2019–20. The statute of limitations requires a complaint to be received by the board within 

two years from an alleged act or omission, and generally the accusation must be filed within 18 months 

after the board’s receipt of the complaint. 

 The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 69 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 52 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 66 

 Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

61 47 48 59 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

107 107 0 1 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

240 213 210 20 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

110 57 133 35 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

200 107 226 15 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

129 145 44 7 
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Veterinary Medical Board 

 

The Veterinary Medical Board regulated 47,482 licensees in Fiscal Year 2018–19, with seven 

license types. The board receives consumer complaints and routinely inspects veterinary hospital 

premises for compliance. The board’s cases are investigated by the board’s own inspectors or other 

staff and, when appropriate, may also be referred to the Department of Consumer Affairs Division of 

Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit. There were multiple respondents in about 21 

percent of the board’s accusation cases prosecuted by the Office of the Attorney General in Fiscal Year 

2019–20. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 21 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 0 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  1 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 1 

(5) accusations filed. 24 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 2 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 29 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
accusation is filed. 

187 178 106 22 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

228 243 70 3 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
settlement is sent to the agency. 

296 288 174 20 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
sent to the agency. 

41 41 0 1 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
requesting a hearing date. 

167 124 158 5 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
commencement of a hearing. 

312 357 117 3 
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Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 

 

The Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians regulated 135,528 licensees in Fiscal 

Year 2018–19 with two license types — Vocational Nurse and Psychiatric Technician. Most complaints 

received by the board are investigated by the board’s own staff or investigators, and are referred to the 

Department of Consumer Affairs Division of Investigation, Investigations and Enforcement Unit when 

appropriate. There is no statute of limitations within which to file accusations for this agency. 

The tables below show data for Fiscal Year 2019–20. 

Table 1 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (a) 

Number of – Count 

(1) accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 250 

(2) accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 16 

(3) accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by the Attorney General.  19 

(4) accusation matters for which further investigation was received by the Attorney General. 15 

(5) accusations filed. 259 

(6) accusations withdrawn. 0 

(7) accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General. 268 

Table 2 is based on the adjudicated accusation matters reported under Business and Professions 

Code section 312.2, subdivision (a)(7) in Table 1. 

Table 2 – Business and Professions Code Section 312.2, Subdivision (b) 

Average number of days for adjudicated accusation matters –  Mean Median SD Count 

(1) from receipt of referral by the Attorney General to when an 
 accusation is filed. 

93 71 86 263 

(2) to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred to the 
 Attorney General after further investigation is received. 

230 197 171 19 

(3) from the filing of an accusation to when a stipulated 
 settlement is sent to the agency. 

218 212 148 108 

(4) from the filing of an accusation to when a default decision is 
 sent to the agency. 

70 51 56 107 

(5) from the filing of an accusation to the Attorney General 
 requesting a hearing date. 

114 91 82 72 

(6) from the Attorney General’s receipt of a hearing date to the 
 commencement of a hearing. 

156 151 87 49 
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CONCLUSION 

Over time, this report will reveal trends and correlations that can be used to drive beneficial 

changes in business processes. The insights and value derived from these data will also provide the 

basis for the Office of the Attorney General to support the acquisition of additional resources and data 

tools as needed. We will endeavor to identify performance gaps as additional relevant data are 

generated and case delivery mechanisms are examined. We anticipate that this report will facilitate 

collaboration among the Office of the Attorney General, Office of Administrative Hearings, and 

Department of Consumer Affairs, all of which join in responsibility for protection of the public through 

efficiency in adjudicating accusation matters. 

 

This Attorney General’s Annual Report on Accusations Prosecuted for Department of Consumer 

Affairs Client Agencies is also available on the Attorney General’s website at: 

http://oag.ca.gov/publications. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this report, or if you would like additional information, please 

contact Sirat Attapit, Director of Legislative Affairs, at (916) 210-6192.  

http://oag.ca.gov/publications
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APPENDIX 

 

Business and Professions Code section 312.2 states:  

(a) The Attorney General shall submit a report to the department, the Governor, and the 

appropriate policy committees of the Legislature on or before January 1, 2018, and on or 

before January 1 of each subsequent year that includes, at a minimum, all of the 

following for the previous fiscal year for each constituent entity within the department 

represented by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section of the 

Office of the Attorney General: 

(1) The number of accusation matters referred to the Attorney General. 

(2) The number of accusation matters rejected for filing by the Attorney General. 

(3) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was requested by 

the Attorney General. 

(4) The number of accusation matters for which further investigation was received by 

the Attorney General. 

(5) The number of accusations filed by each constituent entity. 

(6) The number of accusations a constituent entity withdraws. 

(7) The number of accusation matters adjudicated by the Attorney General.  

(b) The Attorney General shall also report all of the following for accusation matters 

adjudicated within the previous fiscal year for each constituent entity of the department 

represented by the Licensing Section and Health Quality Enforcement Section: 

(1) The average number of days from the Attorney General receiving an accusation 

referral to when an accusation is filed by the constituent entity. 

(2) The average number of days to prepare an accusation for a case that is rereferred 

to the Attorney General after further investigation is received by the Attorney 

General from a constituent entity or the Division of Investigation. 

(3) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 

General transmitting a stipulated settlement to the constituent entity. 

(4) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 

General transmitting a default decision to the constituent entity. 

(5) The average number of days from an agency filing an accusation to the Attorney 

General requesting a hearing date from the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

(6) The average number of days from the Attorney General's receipt of a hearing date 

from the Office of Administrative Hearings to the commencement of a hearing. 

(c) A report to be submitted pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be submitted in compliance 

with Section 9795 of the Government Code. 
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