

Office of the New York State Attorney General

Letitia James Attorney General

January 9, 2025

Hon. Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Hon. Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary of Homeland Security 2707 Martin Luther King Jr Ave SE Washington, DC 20528-0525

Dear President Biden and Secretary Mayorkas,

We write on behalf of the States of New York, Arizona, California, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Vermont to request that your administration extend and expand Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations to prevent deportation of noncitizens to countries that are extraordinarily unsafe, whether because of armed conflict, environmental catastrophe, or other circumstances. TPS is a critical humanitarian tool to ensure that our nation's immigration policy remains consistent with our long history of providing safe haven to those who flee armed conflict, natural disasters, and repressive conditions. Moreover, TPS recipients are critical contributors to the States' communities; they employ people as business owners, work in critical fields such as healthcare and childcare, and are active members in civic life.

Under the TPS program, nationals from designated countries who are already present in the United States can apply to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. If an individual is eligible, the agency will grant them TPS status, which provides authorization to work in the United States and protection from deportation for as long as the designation for their home country remains in place. A TPS designation for a particular country lasts up to eighteen months, and the federal government must determine whether to extend or terminate the designation at least sixty days prior to expiration.

At present, seventeen countries are designated for TPS, all of which are not places to which it is safe to return. From Afghanistan to Yemen, the current list of designated countries reflects a judgment by the United States that our moral and legal obligations require us to allow people from these countries who are already present in the United States to stay here until conditions in their home countries improve.

We urge you to extend TPS designations for all countries currently so designated, but at a minimum, we ask that you extend the designations of countries whose designation is set to expire within the next six months: Afghanistan, Cameroon, El Salvador, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, South Sudan, Sudan, Ukraine, and Venezuela.

Additionally, we urge you to designate the following countries for TPS: Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Libya, and Mali. According to the U.S. Department of State, these countries are all experiencing widespread human rights violations, including extrajudicial killings.² Several of these countries are experiencing armed conflict that jeopardizes civilian lives and involves conflict-related sexual violence, use of child soldiers, and other horrors. There are relatively few nationals of these countries in the United States, and extending the TPS designation to these countries would therefore not reflect a significant change to immigration policy, but it would reaffirm for the world the United States' commitment to serve as a safe haven for those who have fled violence, disaster, and repression.

Sincerely,

Letitia James Attorney General

Letutia James

State of New York

¹ The full list of countries, as of December 2024, is: Afghanistan, Burma (Myanmar), Cameroon, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Haiti, Honduras, Lebanon, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, and Yemen. U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services, Temporary Protected Status, available at https://www.uscis.gov/humanitarian/temporary-protected-status.

² See, U.S. Dep't of State, 2023 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Burkina Faso, available at: https://www.state.gov/reports/2023-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/central-african-republic/;

U.S. Dep't of State, 2023 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Democratic Republic of the Congo, available at: https://www.state.gov/reports/2023-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/democratic-republic-of-the-congo/;

U.S. Dep't of State, 2023 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Libya, available at: https://www.state.gov/reports/2023-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/libya/; U.S. Dep't of State, 2023 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Mali, available at: https://www.state.gov/reports/2023-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/mali/.

Kris Mayes

Kris Mayes Attorney General State of Arizona

Rob Bonta Attorney General State of California

Kathy Jennings Attorney General State of Delaware

Anne E. Lopez Attorney General State of Hawai'i

Sime Elpez

Kwame Raoul Attorney General State of Illinois Jonon M. Frey

Aaron M. Frey Attorney General State of Maine

Anthony G. Brown Attorney General State of Maryland

Andrea Joy Campbell Attorney General State of Massachusetts

Hana Wessel

Dana Nessel Attorney General State of Michigan

Keith Ellison Attorney General State of Minnesota

Aaron D. Ford Attorney General State of Nevada Mel

Peter Neronha Attorney General State of Rhode Island

Charty N. Ch

Charity R. Clark Attorney General State of Vermont