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PROTECT HOMEOWNERS AND CLOSE
CORPORATE TAX LOOPHOLES ACT

SECTION 1. Title.

This Act shall be known as the "Protect Homeowners and Close Corporate Tax
Loopholes Act."

SECTION 2. Findings and Declarations.

The People of the State of California find and declare that:

1. In 2009, the Legislature and Governor enacted $31 billion in cuts to the state budget,
eliminating health care and other vital services to our neediest citizens. They furloughed
state workers and continue to raise tuition at every institution ofpublic higher education.

2. Public schools are bearing the brunt ofthese cuts. Over the last two years, the State
has cut more than $17 billion from the K-12 school system. Schools have laid offover
20,000 classroom teachers and educational support staff. There will be no new textbooks
for years. Entire athletic programs have been eliminated. Class sizes in many schools
have grown to the point where high school classes may contain more than 40 students.

3. Police and fire services are threatened along with our state parks.

4. California's property tax system contains a gigantic loophole that allows corporations
and commercial property owners to avoid paying their fair share. That loophole often
allows businesses to change ownership without being reassessed, which homeowners
cannot do. As a result, the burden ofpaying for things like police and fire services now
falls more heavily on homeowners.

,
5. Unlike single-family residences, commercial buildings produce income for their
owners. Furthermore, California commercial real property tax rates are among the lowest
in the nation. It makes sense, therefore, to reassess commercial real property at current
market value and use the increased revenues to restore vital services to our seniors and
health care to our kids, protect funding ofpublic safety, and also improve the funding of
California's public schools. -

6. Small businesses will be protected by new exemptions from the personal property tax.

7. Homeowners property tax exemptions have remained the same since 1968, with no
adjustment for inflation. Homeowners property taxes should be reduced by doubling the
Homeowner Property Tax exemption from $7,000 to $14,000. Qualified renters will also
receive an increase in their tax credit.
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SECTION 3. Purpose and Intent.

1. This measure is intended to reduce property taxes for homeowners on the dwelling
they occupy by doubling the homeowners' exemption from $7,000 to $14,000.

2. This measure is not intended to alter or repeal any other exemption currently
applicable to taxes on real property or to increase or otherwise affect the property taxes
paid by homeowners on noncommercial real property.

3. In addition, the People enact this measure to do the following:

a. Ensure that commercial property is taxed at its fair market value.

b. Provide for periodic reassessment of non-residential, non-agricultural real
property to market value.

c. Provide for the exclusion of$I,OOO,OOO in personal property tax for
businesses, in order to give small businesses immediate tax relief.

d. Provide additional money for local school districts that will increase the
minimum funding guaranteed by Proposition 98.

4. In enacting this measure, the People intend for the Legislature, the county assessors,
and the State Board of Equalization to work together to develop an efficient and equitable
process to reassess nonresidential commercial real property to its current fair market
value.

SECTION 4. Section 2.5 is added to article XIII A of the California Constitution:

Sec. 2.5. (a) Notwithstanding section 2,for thelien date for fiscal year 2012-13,
the ''full cash value" ofnonresidential real property that is not usedfor commercial
agricultural production or is otherwise exempt under the Constitution or statute is the
fair market value ofthatproperty as ofthat date. Following the lien date for fiscal
year 2012-13, each county assessor shall reassess real property subject to this section to
its currentfair market value, as defined by statute, at least every three years.

(b) For purposes ofthis section:

(1) "Nonresidential real property" means any real property other than a
single-family or multifamily unit that is intended to be usedprimarily
as a permanent residence and is usedprimarily as a permanent
residence or that is zoned as a residence, and the land on which that
unit is constructed, or any portion ofthe property used as a residence.

(2) Nonresidential realproperty is "usedfor commercial agricultural
production" ifthat real property is used and zonedfor producing
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commercial agricultural commodities and is real property to which
either ofthe following applies:

(A) The real property is an unimprovedparcel.

(B) The parcel ofreal property contains only living improvements.

(3) "Unimprovedparcel" means a parcel ofrealproperty to which both of
the following apply:

(A) The parcel is used and zonedfor producing commercial
agricultural commodities.

(B) The parcel does not contain any single-family residence or
multifamily residence that was subdivided in accordance with the
Subdivision Map Act, or any successor to that law, or that was
described and conveyed in one or more deeds separating the
parcelfrom all adjoining property.

(4) "Otherwise exempt under the Constitution or statute" means any
property which is exemptfrom taxation pursuant to the Constitution,
or any property exempt by statute enacted consistent with and
permissible under the Constitution.

SECTION 5. Article XIII, section 2 of the California Constitution is amended to
read:

Sec. 2. The Legislature may provide for property taxation of all forms of tangible
personal property, shares of capital stock, evidences of indebtedness, and any legal or
equitable interest therein not exempt under any other provision of this article,provided,
however, thatfor the lien date for fiscal year 2014-15 and each lien date thereafter, the
first $1,000,000 oftangible personal property shall be exemptfrom taxation. The
Legislature, two-thirds of the membership of each house concurring, may classify such
personal property for differential taxatiop or for exemption. The tax on any interest in
notes, debentures, shares of capital stock, bonds, solvent credits, deeds of trust, or
mortgages shall not exceed four-tenths of one percent of full value, and the tax per dollar
of full value shall not be higher on personal property than on real property in the same
taxing jurisdiction.

SECTION 6. Section 3 of Article XllI of the Constitution of the State of California
is hereby amended to read:

Sec. 3. The following are exempt from property taxation:

(a) Property owned by the State.
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(b) Property owned by a local government, except as otherwise provided in
Section l1(a).

(c) Bonds issued by the State or a local government in the State.

(d) Property used for libraries and museums that are free and open to the public
and property used exclusively for public schools, community colleges, state colleges, and
state universities.

(e) Buildings, land, equipment, and securities used exclusively for educational
purposes by a nonprofit institution of higher education.

(f) Buildings, land on which they are situated, and equipment used exclusively
for religious worship.

(g) Property used or held exclusively for the permanent deposit of human dead or
for the care and maintenance of the property or the dead, except when used or held for
profit. This property is also exempt from special assessment.

(h) Growing crops.

(i) Fruit and nut trees until 4 years after the season in which they were planted in
orchard form and grape vines until 3 years after the season in which they were planted in
vineyard form.

G) Immature forest trees planted on lands not previously bearing merchantable
timber or planted or of natural growth on lands from which the merchantable original
growth timber stand to the extent of 70 percent of all trees over 16 inches in diameter has
been removed. Forest trees or timber shall be considered mature at such time after
40 years from the time ofplanting or removal of the original timber when so declared by
a majority vote of a board consisting of a representative from the State Board ofForestry,
a representative from the State Board of Equalization, and the assessor of the county in
which the trees are located.

The Legislature may supersede the foregoing provisions with an alternative
system or systems of taxing or exempting forest trees or timber, including a taxation
system not based on property valuation. Any alternative system or systems shall provide
for exemption of unharvested immature trees, shall encourage the continued use of
timberlands for the production of trees for timber products, and shall provide for
restricting the use of timberland to the production of timber products and compatible uses
with provisions for taxation oftimberland based on the restrictions. Nothing in this
paragraph shall be construed to exclude timberland from the provisions of Section 8 of
this article.

(k)(l) Prior to the 2012-13 tax year, $7,000 ofthe full value of a dwelling, as
defmed by the Legislature, when occupied by an owner as his principal residence, unless
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the dwelling is receiving another real property exemption. The Legislature may increase
this exemption and may deny it if the owner received state or local aid to pay taxes either
in whole or in part, and either directly or indirectly, on the dwelling.

No increase in this exemption above the amount of $7,000 shall be effective for
any fiscal year unless the Legislature increases the rate of state taxes in an amount
sufficient to provide the subventions required by Section 25.

(2) For the 2012-13 tax year and each tax year thereafter, $14,000 ofthe full
value ofa dwelling, as defined by the Legislature, when occupied by an owner as his
principal residence, unless the dwelling is receiving another real property exemption.
The Legislature may increase this exemption and may deny it if the owner received state
or local aid to pay taxes either in whole or in part, and either directly or indirectly, on.;
the dwelling.

No increase in this exemption above the amount of$14,000 shall be effective for
any fiscal year unless the Legislature increases the rate ofstate taxes in an amount
sufficient to provide the subventions required by Section 25. c~

(3) If the Legislature increases the homeowners' property tax exemption, it shall
provide increases in benefits to qualified renters, as defined by law, comparable to the
average increase in benefits to homeowners, as calculated by the Legislature.

(1) Vessels of more than 50 tons burden in this State and engaged in the
transportation of freight or passengers.

(m) Household furnishings and personal effects not held or used in connection
with a trade, profession, or business.

(n) Any debt secured by land.

(0) Property in the amount of $1 ,000 of a claimant who-

(1) is serving in or has served in and has been discharged under honorable
conditions from service in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast
Guard, or Revenue Marine (Revenue Cutter) Service; and-

(2) served either

(i) in time ofwar, or

(ii) in time of peace ina campaign or expedition for which a medal has been
issued by Congress, or

(iii) in time ofpeace and because of a service-connected disability was released
from active duty; and-
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(3) resides in the State on the current lien date.

An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married
person, who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at $10,000 or more, is
ineligible for this exemption.

If the claimant is married and does not own property eligible for the full amount
of the exemption, property of the spouse shall be eligible for the unused balance of the
exemption.

(P) Property in the amount of $1 ,000 of a claimant who-

(l) is the unmarried spouse of a deceased veteran who met the service
requirement stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3(0), and

(2) does not own property in excess of $1 0,000, and

(3) is a resident of the State onthe current lien date.

(q) Property in the amount of $1 ,000 ofa claimant who-

(1) is the parent of a deceased veteran who met the service requirements stated in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3(0), and

(2) receives a pension because of the veteran's service, and

(3) is a resident of the State on the current lien date.

Either parent of a deceased veteran may claim this exemption.

An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married
person, who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at$10,000 or more, is
ineligible for this exemption.

(r) No individual residing in the State on the effective date ofthe amendment
who would have been eligible for the exemption provided by the previous section 1-1/4
of this article had it not been repealed shall lose eligibility for the exemption as a result of
this amendment.

SECTION 7. Section 8.55 is added to article XVI of the California Constitution:

Sec. 8.55. From the additional tax revenues collected as a result ofArticle XIII A,
Section 2.5, each county shall be entitled to retain a reasonable amount to cover the
increased cost ofreassessing commercial property every three years. Ninety percent of
the remaining additional tax revenues shall be placed in the county treasury to be
transferred on an annual basis to the state General Fund, and the remainingfunds shall
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be allocated to local entities within each county according to law. The moneys so
transferred to the State shall be considered taxes imposed by the State and, for purposes
ofSection 8 ofthis Article, shall be General Fundproceeds oftaxes appropriated
pursuant to Article XIII B.

SECTION 8. Government Code Section 13340 is amended to read:

Sec. 13340. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), on and after July 1,2010,
no moneys in any fund that, by any statute other than a Budget Act, are continuously
appropriated without regard to fiscal years, may be encumbered unless the Legislature, by
statute, specifies that the moneys in the fund are appropriated for encumbrance.

(b) Subdivision (a) does not apply to any of the following:

(1) The scheduled disbursement of any local sales and use tax proceeds to any
entity of local government pursuant to Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200) of
Division 2 ofthe Revenue and Taxation Code.

(2) The scheduled disbursement of any transactions and use tax proceeds to an
entity of local government pursuant to Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251) of
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(3) The scheduled disbursement of any funds by a state or local agency or
department that issues bonds and administers related programs for which funds are
continuously appropriated as of June 30, 2009.

(4) Moneys that are deposited in proprietary or fiduciary funds of the California
State University and that are. continuously appropriated without regard to fiscal years.

(5) The scheduled disbursement of any motor vehicle license fee revenues to an
entity of local government pursuant to the Vehicle License Fee Law (Part 5 (commencing
with Section 10701) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code).

(6) Moneys that are transferred to the General Fundpursuant to Section 8.55 of
Article XVI ofthe California Constitution.

SECTION 9. Section 100.7 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code, to
read:

Sec. 100.7. (a) For the 2014-15 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the
Controller shall determine and remit to each county its share ofthe total reduction of
local property tax revenue resulting in that fiscal yearfrom the personal property tax
exemption established by Section 2 ofArticle XIII ofthe California Constitution. Each
county shall apportion its allocation under this subdivision among the jurisdictions in
that county in the same manner as revenues derivedfrom locally assessedproperty are
required by law to be allocated among those same jurisdictions.
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(b) For the 2013-14 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the Controller
shall remit to each county the amounts requiredpursuant to Section 16120 ofthe
Government Code to compensate each countyfor its share ofproperty taxes lost as a
result ofthe increase from $7,000 to $14,000 in the homeowner's tax exemption
established by Section 3(k) ofArticle XIII This transfer shall be in addition to the
requirement ofSection 25 ofArticle XIII ofthe Constitution to offset the loss resulting
from the first $7,000 ofthe homeowner's tax exemption established by Section 3(d) of
Article XIII

SECTION 10. Section 210 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code to
read:

Sec. 210. (a) For purposes ofproviding aid to business as described in Section 2
ofArticle XIII ofthe California Constitution, for the lien date for fiscal year 2014-15 and
each lien date thereafter, there is exemptedfrom tax the first $1 million ($1,000,000) of
the full value ofpersonal property assessable to each taxpayer.

(b) The tax exemption described in subdivision (a) and in Section 2 ofArticle XIII
ofthe California Constitution shall not apply to boats or airplanes unless they are used
in the day-to-day operation ofa business.

SECTION 11. Section 218 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby amended to
read:

Sec. 218. (a) The homeowners' property tax exemption is in the amount of the
assessed value of the dwelling specified in this section, as authorized by subdivision (k)
of Section 3 ofArticleXIII of the Constitution. Prior to the 2012-13 tax year, t+hat
exemption shall be in the amount of seven thousand dollars ($7,000) of the full value of
the dwelling. For the 2012-13 tax year and each tax year thereafter, that exemption shall
be in the amount offourteen thousand dollars ($14,000) ofthe full value ofthe dwelling.

(b) The exemption does not extend to property that is rented, vacant, under
construction on the lien date, or that is a vacation or secondary home of the owner or
owners, nor does it apply to property on which an owner receives the veteran's
exemption.

(c) For purposes of this section, all of the following apply:

(l) "Owner" includes a person purchasing the dwelling under a contract of sale or
who holds shares or membership in a cooperative housing corporation, which holding is a
requisite to the exclusive right of occupancy of a dwelling.

(2) (A) "Dwelling" means a building, structure, or other shelter constituting a
place of abode, whether real property or personal property, and any land on which it may
be situated. A two-dwelling unit shall be considered as two separate single-family
dwellings.
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(B) "Dwelling" includes the following:

(i) A single-family dwelling occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal
place of residence on the lien date.

(ii) A multiple-dwelling unit occupied by an owner thereof on the lien date as his
or her principal place of residence.

(iii) A condominium occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal place
of residence on the lien date.

(iv) Premises occupied by the owner of shares or a membership interest in a
cooperative housing corporation, as defined in subdivision (i) of Section 61, as his or her
principal place of residence on the lien date. Each exemption allowed pursuant to this
subdivision shall be deducted from the total assessed valuation of the cooperative housing
corporation. The exemption shall be taken into account in apportioning property taxes
among owners of share or membership interests in the cooperative housing corporations "
so as to benefit those owners who qualify for the exemption.

(d) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
October 20, 1991, that was damaged or destroyedhyfire in a disaster, as declared by the
Governor, occurring on or after October 20, 1991, and before November 1, 1991, and that
has not changed ownership since October 20, 1991, shall not be disqualified as a
"dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the
dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner.

(e) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
October 15, 2003, that was damaged or destroyed by fire or earthquake in a disaster, as
declared by the Governor, during October, November, or December 2003, and that has
not changed ownership since October 15,2003, shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling"
or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner.

(f) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
June 3, 2004, that was damaged or destroyed by flood in a disaster, as declared by the
Governor, during June 2004, and that has not changed ownership since June 3, 2004,
shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section
solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being
reconstructed by the owner.

(g) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
August 11,2004, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related
casualty that occurred in Shasta County in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, during
August 2004, and that has not changed ownership since August 11,2004, shall not be
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disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the
basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed
by the owner.

(h) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
December 28, 2004, that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods,
mudslides, or the accumulation of debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor,
during December 2004, January 2005, February 2005, March 2005, or June 2005, and
that has not changed ownership since December 28, 2004, shall not be disqualified as a
"dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the
dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed orwas being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due
to floods, mudslides, the accumulation of debris, or washed-out or damaged roads.

(i) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
December 19,2005, that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods,
mudslides, or the accumulation of debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor in
January 2006, April 2006, May 2006, or June 2006, and that has not changed ownership ,-
since December 19,2005, shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an
exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily
damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily
uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to floods, mudslides, the
accumulation of debris, or washed-out or damaged roads.

G) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July 9,
2006, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that
occurred in the County of San Bernardino, as declared by the Governor in July 2006, and
that has not changed ownership since July 9, 2006, shall not be disqualified as a
"dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the
dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due
to the wUdfires.

(k) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the
commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor's proclamations of 2006 that
was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred in
the Counties of Riverside and Ventura, and that has not changed ownership since the
commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the Governor's proclamations of 2006
shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section
solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being
reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access
to the property due to the wildfires.

(1) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
January 11,2007, that was damaged or destroyed by severe freezing conditions,
commencing January 11,2007, and any other related casualty that occurred in the
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Counties ofEI Dorado, Fresno, Imperial, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, Monterey,
Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara,
Stanislaus, Tulare, Ventura, and Yuba as a result of a disaster as declared by the
Governor, and that has not changed ownership since January 11,2007, shall not be
disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the
basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed
by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the
property due to severe freezing conditions.

(m) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to June
24,2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty
that occurred as a result of this disaster in the County of EI Dorado, as declared by the
Governor in June 2007, and that has not changed ownership since June 24, 2007, shall
not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section solely on
the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed orwas being
reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access

. to the property due to the wildfires.

(n) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
July 4, 2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the Zaca Fire and any other related
casualty that occurred as a result of this disaster in the Counties of Santa Barbara and
Ventura, as declared by the Governor in August 2007, and that has not changed
ownership since July 4, 2007, may not be denied an exemption solely on the basis that the
dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due
to the Zaca Fire.

(0) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
July 6, 2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related
casualty that occurred as a result of this disaster in the County ofInyo, as declared by the
Governor in July 2007, and that has not changed ownership since July 6, 2007, may not
be denied an exemption solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or
destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a
result of restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.

(P) .Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the
commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor's disaster proclamations of
September 15,2007, and October 21,2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the
wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred in the Counties ofLos Angeles,
Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, and Ventura, and that has
not changed ownership since the commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the
proclamations shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under
this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or
was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of
restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.
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(q) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
October 20, 2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the extremely strong and damaging
winds and any other related casualty that occurred as a result of this disaster in the
County ofRiverside, as declared by the Governor in November 2007, and that has not
changed ownership since October 20,2007, shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or
be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was
temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the
extremely strong and damaging winds.

(r) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the
commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor's disaster proclamations of
May, June, or July 2008, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other
related casualty that occurred in the Counties ofButte, Kern, Mariposa, Mendocino,
Monterey, Plumas, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, and Trinity and that has not changed
ownership since the commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the proclamations
shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling" or be denied an exemption under this section
solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being
reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access
to the property due to the wildfires.

(s) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
July 1,2008, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related
casualty that occurred as a result ofthis disaster in the County of Santa Barbara, as
declared by the Governor in July 2008, and that has not changed ownership since July 1,
2008, may not be denied an exemption solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was
temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the
wildfires. \

(t) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July
12,2008, that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods, landslides, or the
accumulation of debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, in July 2008, and that
has not changed ownership since July 12,2008, shall not be disqualified as a "dwelling"
or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was
temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to floods,
landslides, the accumulation of debris, or washed-out or damaged roads.

(u) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to May
22, 2008, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty
that occurred as a result of this disaster in the County of Humboldt, as declared by the
Governor in August 2008, and that has not changed ownership since May 22, 2008, may
not be denied an exemption solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily
damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily
uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.
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(v) The exemption provided for in subdivision (k) of Section 3 of Article XIII of
the Constitution shall first be applied to the building, structure, or other shelter and the
excess, ifany, shall be applied to any land on which it may be located.

SECTION 12. Section 405.6 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code:

Sec. 405.6. (a) As a transition to assessing all commercial realproperty at its
fair market value, counties shall have a period ofno more than three years from the
effective date ofSection 2.5 ofArticle XIII A to implement that section. In conducting the
reassessments requiredpursuant to that section, counties shallfirst determine when a
property was last reassessed and shall reassess properties in reverse order, beginning
with those properties that have gone without reassessment/or the longestperiod.

(b) Following reassessment pursuant to Section 2.5 ofArticle XIII A and
subdivision (a) ofthis section, the currentfair market value ofnonresidential real
property shall be deemed to be the assessed value ofthatproperty as valued by the
county assessor at least once every three years.

SECTION 13. Section 17053.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby
amended to read:

Sec. 17053.5. (a)(l) For a qualified renter, there shall be allowed a credit against
his or her "net tax," as defined in Section 17039. The amount of the credit shall be as
follows:

(A)(i) Prior to the 2013 tax year, fFor married couples filing joint returns,
heads of household, and surviving spouses, as defined in Section 17046, the credit shall
be equal to one hundred twenty dollars ($120) if adjusted gross income is fifty thousand
dollars ($50,000) or less.

(ii) For the 2013 tax year and each tax year thereafter, for married couples filing
joint returns, heads ofhousehold, and surviving spouses, as defined in Section 17046, the
credit shall be equal to two hundredforty ($240) ifadjusted gross income is fifty
thousand dollars ($50,000) or less.

(B)(O Prior to the 2013 tax year,f~r other individuals, the credit shall be equal
to sixty dollars ($60) if adjusted gross income is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000)
or less.

(ii) For the 2013 tax year and each tax year thereafter, the credit shall be equal
to one hundred twenty ($120) ifadjusted gross income is twenty-five thousand dollars
($25,000) or less.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision (b), a husband and wife shall receive but
one credit under this section. If the husband and wife file separate returns, the credit may
be taken by either or equally divided between them, except as follows:
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(A) If one spouse was a resident for the entire taxable year and the other spouse
was a nonresident for part or all ofthe taxable year, the resident spouse shall be allowed
one-half the credit allowed to married persons and the nonresident spouse shall be
permitted one-half the credit allowed to married persons, prorated as provided in
subdivision (e).

(B) Ifboth spouses were nonresidents for part ofthe taxable year, the credit
allowed to married persons shall be divided equally between them subject to the proration
provided in subdivision (e).

(b) For a husband and wife, if each spouse maintained a separate place of
residence and resided in this state during the entire taxable year, each spouse will be
allowed one-half the full credit allowed to married persons provided in subdivision (a).

(c) For purposes of this section, a "qualified renter" means an individual who
satisfies both of the following:

(1) Was a resident of this state, as defined in Section 17014.

(2) Rented and occupied premises in this state which constituted his or her
principal place of residence during at least 50 percent of the taxable year.

(d) "Qualified renter" does not include any of the following:

(1) An individual who for more than 50 percent of the taxable year rented and
occupied premises that were exempt from property taxes, except that an individual,
otherwise qualified, is deemed a qualified renter ifhe or she or his or her landlord pays
possessory interest taxes, or the owner of those premises makes payments in lieu of
property taxes that are substantially equivalent to property taxes paid on properties of
comparable market value.

(2) An individual whose principal place of residence for more than 50 percent of
the taxable year is with another person who claimed that individual as a dependent for
income tax purposes.

(3) An individual who has been granted or whose spouse has been granted the
homeowners' property tax exemption during the taxable year. This paragraph does not
apply to an individual whose spouse has been granted the homeowners' property tax
exemption if each spouse maintained a separate residence for the entire taxable year.

(e) An otherwise qualified renter who is a nonresident for any portion of the
taxable year shall claim the credits set forth in subdivision (a) at the rate of one-twelfth of
those credits for each full month that individual resided within this state during the
taxable year.
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(f) A person claiming the credit provided in this section shall, as part of that
claim, and under penalty ofperjury, furnish that information as the Franchise Tax Board
prescribes on a form supplied by the board.

(g) The credit provided in this section shall be claimed on returns in the form as
the Franchise Tax Board may from time to time prescribe.

(h) For purposes of this section, "premises" means a house or a dwelling unit
used to provide living accommodations in a building or structure and the land incidental
thereto, but does not include land only, unless the dwelling unit is a mobilehome. The
credit is not allowed for any taxable year for the rental of land upon which a mobilehome
is located if the mobilehome has been granted a homeowners' exemption under Section
218 in that year.

(i) This section shall become operative on January 1, 1998, and applies to any
taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1998.

G) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, the Franchise Tax
Board shall recompute the adjusted gross income amounts set forth in subdivision (a).
The computation shall be made as follows:

(1) The Department of Industrial Relations shall transmit annually to the
Franchise Tax Board the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index for
all items from June of the prior calendar year to June of the current year,no later than
August 1 of the current calendar year.

(2) The Franchise Tax Board shall compute an inflation adjustment factor by
adding 100 percent to the portion of the percentage change figure which is furnished
pursuant to paragraph (l) and dividing the result by 100.

(3) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the amount in subparagraph (B) of
paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) for the preceding taxable year by the inflation adjustment
factor determined in paragraph (2), and round off the resulting products to the nearest one
dollar ($1).

(4) In computing the amounts pursuant to this subdivision, the amounts provided
in subparagraph (A) ofparagraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be twice the amount
provided in subparagraph (B) ofparagraph (1) of subdivision (a).

SECTION 14. Amendment

The statutory provisions of this measure may be amended to further the purposes
of the initiative by a statute passed in each house by rollcall vote entered in the journal,
two-thirds of the membership concurring, and signed by the Governor.
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SECTION 15. Severability

If any of the provisions of this measure or the applicability of any provision of
this measure to any person or circumstances shall be found to be unconstitutional or
otherwise invalid, such finding shall not affect the remaining provisions or applications
of this measure to other persons or circumstances, and to that extent the provisions of this
measure are deemed to be severable.
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