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INITIATIVE COORDINATOR
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

October 24, 2011

T

VIA MESSENGER

Office of the Attorney General
1300 “T” Street :
Sacramento, CA 95814

Attention: Krystal M. Paris
Re:  The Californians Against Sexual Exploitation Act (“CASE Act”)

Dear Ms. Paris: -

- Pursuant to Elections Code section 9001(a), we request that the Attorney General
prepare a title and summary of a measure entitled “The Californians Against Sexual Exploitation
Act (“CASE Act”).” The text of the measure, a check for $200.00, the addresses at which we are
registered to vote and the certifications required by Elections Code sections 9001(b) and 9608
are enclosed.

Please direct all correspondence and inquiries regarding this measure to:

James C. Harrison

Kari Krogseng

Remcho, Johansen & Purcell, LLP
201 Dolores Avenue

San Leandro, CA 94577

Phone: (510) 346-6200

Fax: (510) 346-6201
Sincerely, _

Daphne Phung, Proponent

Additional proponent signature on the following page.
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Office of the Attorney General

October 26, 2011

Sincerely,

Christopher Kelly, Pff;iz(
Enclosures
(00155737)
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11 00529

CALIFORNIANS AGAINST SEXUAL EXPLOITATION ACT (“CASE ACT”)

SEC. 1. Title.

This measure shall be known and may be cited as the “Californians Against Sexual Exploitation Act
(“CASE Act”).” '

SEC. 2. Findings and Declarations.
The people of the State of California find and declare:

1. Protecting every person in our state, particularly our children, from all forms of sexual
exploitation is of paramount importance. '

2. Human trafficking is a crime against human dignity and a grievous violation of basic human and
civil rights. Human trafficking is modern slavery, manifested through the exploitation of another’s
vulnerabilities.

3. Upwards of 300,000 American children are at risk of commercial sexual exploitation, according
to a United States Department of Justice study. Most are enticed into the sex trade at the age of

12 to 14 years old, but some are trafficked as young as four years old. Because minors are legally
incapable of consenting to sexual activity, these minors are victims of human trafficking whether or
not force is used.

4. While the rise of the Internet has delivered great benefits to California, the predatory use of this
technology by human traffickers and sex offenders has allowed such exploiters a new means to

entice and prey on vulnerable individuals in our state.

5. We need stronger laws to combat the threats posed by human traffickers and online predators
seeking to exploit women and children for sexual purposes.

6. We need to strengthen sex offender registration requirements to deter predators from using the
internet to facilitate human trafficking and sexual exploitation.

SEC. 3. Purpose and Intent.

The people of the State of California declare their purpose and intent in enacting the Act to be as
follows:

1. To combat the crime of human trafficking and ensure just and effective punishment of people
who promote or engage in the crime of human trafficking.

2. To recognize trafficked individuals as victims and not criminals, and to protect the rights of
trafficked victims.



3. To strengthen laws regarding sexual exploitation, including sex offender registration

requirements to allow law enforcement to track and prevent online sex offenses and human
trafficking.

SEC. 4. Section 1161 is added to the Evidence Code, to read:

1161. (a) Evidence that a victim of human trafficking. as defined in Section 236.1 of the

Penal Code, has engaged in any commercial sexual act as a result of being a victim of human
trafficking is inadmissible to prove the victim’s criminal liability for any conduct related to that

activity.

(b) Evidence of anv sexual history or history of commercial sexual act of a victim of human
trafficking, as defined in Section 236.1 of the Penal Code, is inadmissible to attack the credibility or
impeach the character of the victim in any civil or criminal proceeding.

SEC. 5. The heading of Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 236) of Title 8 of Part 1 of the
Penal Code is amended to read:

Chapter 8. FALSE IMPRISONMENT AND HUMAN TRAFFICKING

SEC. 6. Section 236.1 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

236.1. (a) Any person who deprlves or v1olates the personal 11berty of another w1th the

obtain forced labor or services, is gullty of human trafﬁckmg and shall be pumshed by
imprisonment in the state prison for five, eight, or twelve years and a fine of not more than five
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000).




(b) Any person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with the intent to
effect or maintain a violation of Section 266, 266h, 2661, 266;, 267, 311.1,311.2,311.3,311.4,
311.5,311.6, or 518 is guilty of human trafficking and shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for eight, fourteen, or twenty years and a fine of not more than five hundred thousand
dollars ($500.000).

(c) Any person who causes, induces, or persuades, or attempts to cause, induce, or
persuade, a person who is a minor at the time of commission of the offense to engage in a
commercial sex act, with the intent to effect or maintain a violation of Section 266, 266h, 266i,
2667, 267,311.1,311.2,311.3,311.4,311.5,311.6, or 518 is guilty of human trafficking. A
violation of this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison as follows:

(1) Five, eight, or twelve vears and a fine of not more than five hundred thousand dollars

. ($500.000); or -

(2) Fifteen vears to life and a fine of not more than five hundred thousand dollars
($500.000) when the offense involves force, fear, fraud. deceit, coercion, violence, duress, menace,
or threat of unlawful injury to the victim or to another person.

(d) In determining whether a minor was caused, induced, or persuaded to engage in a

commercial sex act, the total circumstances, including the age of the victim and his or her
relationship to the trafficker or agents of the trafficker, and any handicap or disability of the victim,
shall be considered.

(e) Consent by a victim of human trafficking who is a minor at the time of the commission

of the offense is not a defense to a criminal prosecution under this section.

() Mistake of fact as to the age of a victim of human trafficking who is a minor at the time
of the commission of the offense is not a defense to a criminal prosecution under this section.

5(g) The Legislature finds that the definition of human trafficking in this section is
equivalent to the federal definition of a severe form of trafficking found in Section 7102(8) of
Title 22 of the United States Code.

(h) For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions apply:




(1) “Coercion” includes any scheme, plan, or pattern intended to cause a person to believe
that failure to perform an act would result in serious harm to or physical restraint against any

person; the abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process; debt bondage: or the provision and
facilitation of any controlled substance to a person with the intent to impair said person’s judgment.

(2) “Commercial sex act” means any sexual conduct on account of which anything of value
is given or received by any person.

(3) “Deprivation or violation of the personal liberty of another” includes substantial and
sustained restriction of another’s liberty accomplished through force, fear, fraud, deceit, coercion,
violence, duress, menace, or threat of unlawful injury to the victim or to another person, under
circumstances where the person receiving or apprehending the threat reasonably believes that it is
likely that the person making the threat would carry it out.

(4) “Duress” includes a direct or implied threat of force, violence, danger, hardship. or
retribution sufficient to cause a reasonable person to acquiesce in or perform an act which one
would otherwise not have submitted to or performed; a direct or implied threat to destroy, conceal,
remove, confiscate, or possess any actual or purported passport or immigration document of the
victim; or knowingly destroying, concealing, removing, confiscating, or possessing any actual or
purported passport or immigration document of the victim.

(5) “Forced labor or services” means labor or services that are performed or provided by a
person and are obtained or maintained through force, fraud, duress, or coercion, or equivalent
conduct that would reasonably overbear the will of the person.

(6) “Great bodily injury” means a significant or substantial physical injury.

(7) “Minor” means a person under 18 years of age.

(8) “Serious harm” includes any harm, whether physical or nonphysical, including
psychological, financial, or reputational harm, that is sufficiently serious, under all the surrounding
circumstances, to compel a reasonable person of the same background and in the same
circumstances to perform or to continue performing labor, services, or commercial sexual acts in
order to avoid incurring that harm.

(1) The total circumstances, including the age of the victim, the relationship between the
victim and the trafficker or agents of the trafficker, and any handicap or disability of the victim,

shall be factors to consider in determining the presence of “deprivation or violation of the personal
liberty of another.,” “duress,” and “coercion” as described in this Section.

SEC. 7. Section 236.2 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

236.2. Law enforcement agencies shall use due diligence to identify all victims of human
trafficking, regardless of the citizenship of the person. When a peace officer comes into contact
with a person who has been deprived of his or her personal liberty, a minor who has engaged in a
commercial sex act, a person suspected of violating subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 647, or a
victim of a crime of domestic violence or rape sexual assault, the peace officer shall consider
whether the following indicators of human trafficking are present:




(a) Signs of trauma, fatigue, injury, or other evidence of poor care.

(b) The person is withdrawn, afraid to talk, or his or her communication is censored by
another person.

(c) The person does not have freedom of movement.

(d) The person lives and works in one place.

(e) The person owes a debt to his or her employer.

(f) Security measures are used to control who has contact with the person.

(g) The person does not have control over his or her own government-issued identification
or over his or her worker immigration documents.

SEC. 8. Section 236.4 is added to the Penal Code, to read:

236.4. (a) Upon the conviction of any person of a violation of Section 236.1, the court may,
in addition to any other penalty, fine, or restitution imposed, order the defendant to pay an
additional fine not to exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000). In setting the amount of the fine, the
court shall consider any relevant factors including, but not limited to, the seriousness and gravity of
the offense and the circumstances and duration of its commission, the amount of economic gain the
defendant derived as a result of the crime, and the extent to which the victim suffered losses as a
result of the crime.

(b) Any person who inflicts great bodily injury on a victim in the commission or attempted

commission of a violation of Section 236.1 shall be punished by an additional and consecutive term
of imprisonment in the state prison for five, seven, or ten years.

_ (c) Anv person who has previously been convicted of a violation of any crime specified in
Section 236.1 shall receive an additional and consecutive term of imprisonment in the state prison
for five years for each additional conviction on charges separately brought and tried.

(d) Every fine imposed and collected pursuant to Section 236.1 and this Section shall be
deposited in the Victim-Witness Assistance Fund, to be administered by the California Emergency
Management Agency (Cal EMA), to fund grants for services for victims of human trafficking.
Seventy percent of the fines collected and deposited shall be granted to public agencies and
nonprofit corporations that provide shelter, counseling, and/or other direct services for trafficked
victims. Thirty percent of the fines collected and deposited shall be granted to law enforcement and
prosecution agencies in the jurisdiction in which the charges were filed to fund human trafficking
prevention, witness protection, and rescue operations.

SEC. 9. Section 290 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

290. (a) Sections 290 to 296-623290.024, inclusive, shall be known and may be cited as the
Sex Offender Registration Act. All references to “the Act” in those sections are to the Sex Offender
Registration Act.

(b) Every person described in subdivision (c), for the rest of his or her life while residing in
California, or while attending school or working in California, as described in Sections 290.002
and 290.01, shall be required to register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she is
residing, or the sheriff of the county if he or she is residing in an unincorporated area or city that has
no police department, and, additionally, with the chief of police of a campus of the University of



California, the California State University, or community college if he or she is residing upon the
campus or in any of its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or changing his or her
residence within, any city, county, or city and county, or campus in which he or she temporarily
resides, and shall be required to register thereafter in accordance with the Act.

(c) The following persons shall be required to register:

Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter convicted in any court in this
state or in any federal or military court of a violation of Section 187 committed in the perpetration,
or an attempt to perpetrate, rape or any act punishable under Section 286, 288, 288a, or 289,
Section 207 or 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289,

Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem, subdivision (b) and (c) of Section 236.1,

Section 243.4, paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261, paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) of Section 262 involving the use of force or violence for which the person is
sentenced to the state prison, Section 264.1, 266, or 266¢, subdivision (b) of Section 266h,
subdivision (b) of Section 266i, Section 266j, 267, 269, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.3, 288.4, 288.5,
288.7, 289, or 311.1, subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2, Section 311.3, 311.4, 311.10,
311.11, or 647.6, former Section 647a, subdivision (c) of Section 653f, subdivision 1 or 2 of
Section 314, any offense involving lewd or lascivious conduct under Section 272, or any felony
violation of Section 288.2; any statutory predecessor that includes all elements of one of the above-
mentioned offenses; or any person who since that date has been or is hereafter convicted of the
attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above-mentioned offenses.

SEC. 10. Section 290.012 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

290.012. (a) Beginning on his or her first birthday following registration or change of
address, the person shall be required to register annually, within five working days of his or her
birthday, to update his or her registration with the entities described in subdivision (b) of
Section 290. At the annual update, the person shall provide current information as required on the
Department of Justice annual update form, including the information described in paragraphs (1) to
3)(5), inclusive of subdivision (a) of Section 290.015. The registering agency shall give the
registrant a copy of the registration requirements from the Department of Justice form.

(b) In addition, every person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent predator, as
defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, shall, after his or her release from
custody, verify his or her address no less than once every 90 days and place of employment,
including the name and address of the employer, in a manner established by the Department of
Justice. Every person who, as a sexually violent predator, is required to verify his or her
registration every 90 days, shall be notified wherever he or she next registers of his or her increased
registration obligations. This notice shall be provided in writing by the registering agency or
agencies. Failure to receive this notice shall be a defense to the penalties prescribed in
subdivision (f) of Section 290.018.

(c) In addition, every person subject to the Act, while living as a transient in California,
shall update his or her registration at least every 30 days, in accordance with Section 290.011.

(d) No entity shall require a person to pay a fee to register or update his or her registration
pursuant to this section. The registering agency shall submit registrations, including annual updates



or changes of address, directly into the Department of Justice Violent Crime Information Network
(VCIN).

SEC. 11. Section 290.014 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

290.014. (a) If any person who is required to register pursuant to the Act changes his or her
name, the person shall inform, in person, the law enforcement agency or agencies with which he or
she is currently registered within five working days. The law enforcement agency or agencies shall
forward a copy of this information to the Department of Justice within three working days of its
receipt.

(b) If any person who is required to register pursuant to the Act adds or changes his or her
account with an Internet service provider or adds or changes an Internet identifier, the person shall

.send written notice of the addition or change to the law enforcement agency or agencies with which

he or she is currently registered within 24 hours. The law enforcement agency or agencies shall
make this information available to the Department of Justice. Each person to whom this
subdivision applies at the time this subdivision becomes effective shall immediately provide the
information required by this subdivision.

SEC. 12. Section 290.015 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

290.015. (a) A person who is subject to the Act shall register, or reregister if he or she has
previously registered, upon release from incarceration, placement, commitment, or release on
probation pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 290. This section shall not apply to a person who
is incarcerated for less than 30 days if he or she has registered as required by the Act, he or she
returns after incarceration to the last registered address, and the annual update of registration that is
required to occur within five working days of his or her birthday, pursuant to subdivision (a) of
Section 290.012, did not fall within that incarceration period. The registration shall consist of all of
the following:

(1) A statement in writing signed by the person, giving information as shall be required by
the Department of Justice and giving the name and address of the person’s employer, and the
address of the person’s place of employment if that is different from the employer’s main address.

(2) The fingerprints and a current photograph of the person taken by the registering official.

(3) The license plate number of any vehicle owned by, regularly driven by, or registered in
the name of the person.

(4)_A list of any and all Internet identifiers established or used by the person.

(5) A list of any and all Internet service providers used by the person.

(6) A statement in writing signed by the person acknowledging that the person is required
to register and update the information in paragraphs (4) and (5), as required by this chapter.

¢)(7) Notice to the person that, in addition to the requirements of the Act, he or she may
have a duty to register in any other state where he or she may relocate.



€5)(8) Copies of adequate proof of residence, which shall be limited to a California driver’s
license, California identification card, recent rent or utility receipt, printed personalized checks or
other recent banking documents showing that person’s name and address, or any other information
that the registering official believes is reliable. If the person has no residence and no reasonable
expectation of obtaining a residence in the foreseeable future, the person shall so advise the
registering official and shall sign a statement provided by the registering official stating that fact.
Upon presentation of proof of residence to the registering official or a signed statement that the
person has no residence, the person shall be allowed to register. If the person claims that he or she
has a residence but does not have any proof of residence, he or she shall be allowed to register but
shall furnish proof of residence within 30 days of the date he or she is allowed to register.

(b) Within three days thereafter, the registering law enforcement agency or agencies shall
forward the statement, fingerprints, photograph, and vehicle license plate number, if any, to the
Department of Justice.

(c)(1) If a person fails to register in accordance with subdivision (a) after release, the
district attorney in the jurisdiction where the person was to be paroled or to be on probation may
request that a warrant be issued for the person’s arrest and shall have the authority to prosecute that
person pursuant to Section 290.018.

(2) If the person was not on parole or probation at the time of release, the district attorney in
the following applicable jurisdiction shall have the authority to prosecute that person pursuant to
Section 290.018:

(A) If the person was previously registered, in the jurisdiction in which the person last
registered.

(B) If there is no prior registration, but the person indicated on the Department of Justice
notice of sex offender registration requirement form where he or she expected to reside, in the
jurisdiction where he or she expected to reside.

(C) If neither subparagraph (A) nor (B) applies, in the jurisdiction where the offense
subjecting the person to registration pursuant to this Act was committed.

SEC. 13. Section 290.024 is added to the Penal Code, to read:

290.024. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms apply: (a) “Internet service
provider” means any business, organization, or other entity providing directly to consumers a
computer and communications facility through which a person may obtain access to the Internet.
An Internet service provider does not include a business, organization, or other entity that provides
only telecommunications services, cable services, or video services, or any system operated or
services offered by a library or educational institution.

(b) “Internet identifier” means any electronic mail address, user name, screen name, or
similar identifier used for the purpose of Internet forum discussions, Internet chat room discussions,
instant messaging. social networking. or similar Internet communication.




SEC. 14. Section 13519.14 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

13519.14. (a) The commission shall implement by January 1, 2007, a course or courses of
instruction for the training of law enforcement officers in California in the handling of human
trafficking complaints and also shall develop guidelines for law enforcement response to human
trafficking. The course or courses of instruction and the guidelines shall stress the dynamics and
manifestations of human trafficking, identifying and communicating with victims, providing
documentation that satisfy the law-enforcementagency Law Enforcement Agency (LEA)
endorsement (EEA) required by federal law, collaboration with federal law enforcement officials,
therapeutically appropriate investigative techniques, the availability of civil and immigration
remedies and community resources, and protection of the victim. Where appropriate, the training
presenters shall include human trafficking experts with experience in the delivery of direct services
to victims of human trafficking. Completion of the course may be satisfied by telecommunication,
video training tape, or other instruction.

(b) As used in this section, “law enforcement officer” means any officer or employee of a
local police department or sheriff’s office, and any peace officer of the Department of the California
Highway Patrol, as defined by subdivision (a) of Section 830.2.

(c) The course of instruction, the learning and performance objectives, the standards for the
training, and the guidelines shall be developed by the commission in consultation with appropriate
groups and individuals having an interest and expertise in the field of human trafficking.

(d) The commission, in consultation with these groups and individuals, shall review
existing training programs to determine in what ways human trafficking training may be included as
a part of ongoing programs. '

©

Darticination inthe course or courses. shecifod in fhissection by neace o thcers.o
i i Fvery law enforcement officer who is assigned field or
investigative duties shall complete a minimum of two hours of training in the course or courses of

instruction pertaining to the handling of human trafficking complaints as described in subdivision
(2) by July 1, 2014 or within 6 months of being assigned to that position, whichever is later.

SEC. 15. Amendments.

This act may be amended by a statute in furtherance of its objectives passed in each house of
the Legislature by rollcall vote entered in the journal, a majority of the membership of each house
concurring.

SEC. 16. Severability.

If any of the provisions of this measure or the applicability of any provision of this measure
to any person or circumstances shall be found to be unconstitutional or otherwise invalid, such
finding shall not affect the remaining provisions or applications of this measure to other persons or
circumstances, and to that extent the provisions of this measure are deemed to be severable.



