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September 30 ,2014 

VIA PERSONAL DELIVERY 

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris. 
Attorney General 
1300 I Street, 1th Floor, P.O. Box 944255 
Sacramento, CA 95814 

Attention: Ashley Johansson, Initiative Coordinator 

~CEIVEO 

SEP 302014 

INITIATIVE COORDINATOR 

ATTORNf:Y GENERAL'S OFFICE 


Re: Request for Title and Summary for Proposed Referendum 

Dear Ms. Harris: 

Pursuant to Article II, Section 1 O(d) of the California· Constitution, I hereby submit 
the attached proposed statewide referendum of all portions of Senate Bill 270 (2013­
20 14 Regular Session of the California Legislature}, except for subdivision (a) of 
Section 42288 of the Public Resources Code, to your office and request that you · 
prepare a title and summary of the measure as provided by law. Included with this 
submission is the required proponent affidavit signed by the proponent of this measure 
pursuant to section 9608 of the California Elections Code. My address as a registered 
voter is attached to this letter, along with a check for $200.00. 

All inquires or correspondence relative to this initiative should be directed to 
Nielsen, Merksamer, Parrinello, Gross &Leoni, LLP, 1415 L Street, Suite 1200, 
Sacramento, CA 95814, (916) 446-6752, Attention: Kurt Oneto 

Thank you for your assistance. 

Sincerely, 

;V~;e~ 
Doyle L. Johnson, Proponent 

Enclosure: Proposed Refere'ndum Statute 
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REFERENDUM AGAINST AN ACT PASSED BY THE LEGISLATURE 
NOTICE: CHAPTER 850, STATUTES OF 2014 {58 270}, IS BEING SUBMITTED FOR APPROVAL 
OR REJECTION BY THE VOTERS IN ITS ENTIRETY, EXCEPT FOR PUBLIC RESOURCES CODE§ 
42288, SUBD. {a), AS INDICATED IN BOLD, ITALICIZED, 8-POINT TYPE BELOW 

CHAPTER _8_50__ 

An act to add Chapter 5.3 (commencing with Section 42280) 
to Part 3 of Division 30 of the Public Resources Code, relating to 
solid waste, and making an appropriation therefor. 

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 

SB 270, Padilla. Solid waste: single-use carryout bags. 
(1) Existing law, until2020, requires an operator of a store, as 

defined, to establish an at-store recycling program that provides 
to customers the opportunity to return clean plastic carryout bags 
to that store. 

This bill, as of July 1, 2015, would prohibit stores that have a 
specified amount of sales in dollars or retail floor space from 
providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer, with specified 
exceptions. The bill would also prohibit those stores from selling 
or distributing a recycled paper bag at the point of sale unless the 
store makes that bag available for purchase for not less than $0.1 0. 
The bill would also allow those stores, on or after July 1, 2015, to 
distribute compostable bags at the point ofsale only in jurisdictions 
that meet specified requirements and at a cost of not less than 
$0.10. The bill would require these stores to meet other specified 
requirements on and after July 1, 2015, regarding providing 
reusable grocery bags to customers, including distributing those 
bags only at a cost of not less than $0.1 0. The bill would require 
all moneys collected pursuant to these provisions to be retained 
by the store and be used only for specified purposes. 

The bill, on and after July 1, 2016, would additionally impose 
these prohibitions and requirements on convenience food stores, 
foodmarts, and entities engaged in the sale of a limited line of 
goods, or goods intended to be consumed off premises, and that 
hold a specified license with regard to alcoholic beverages. 

The bill would allow a retail establishment to voluntarily comply 
with these requirements, if the retail establishment provides the 
department with irrevocable written notice. The bill would require 
the department to post on its Internet Web site, organized by 
county, the name and physical location of each retail establishment 
that has elected to comply with these requirements. 
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The bill would require the operator ofa store that has a specified 
amount of sales in dollars or retail floor space and a retail 
establishment that voluntarily complies with the requirements of 
this bill to comply with the existing at-store recycling program 
requirements. 

The bill would require, on and after July 1, 2015, a reusable 
grocery bag sold by certain stores to a customer at the point ofsale 
to be made by a certified reusable grocery bag producer and to 
meet specified requirements with regard to the bag's durability, 
material, labeling, heavy metal content, and, with regard to reusable 
grocery bags made from plastic film on and after January 1, 2016, 
recycled material content. The bill would impose these 
requirements as of July 1, 2016, on the stores that are otherwise 
subject to the bill's requirements. 

The bill would prohibit a producer of reusable grocery bags 
made from plastic film from selling or distributing those bags on 
and after July 1, 2015, unless the producer is certified by a 
3rd-party certification entity, as specified. The bill would require 
a reusable grocery bag producer to provide proof of certification 
to the department. The bill would require the department to provide 
a system to receive proofs of certification online. 

The department would be required to publish on its Internet Web 
site a list of reusable grocery bag producers that have submitted 
the required certification and their reusable grocery bags. The bill 
would require the department to establish an administrative 
certification fee schedule, which would require a reusable grocery 
bag producer providing proofto the department ofcertification or 
recertification to pay a fee. The bill would require that all moneys 
submitted to the department pursuant to these fee provisions be 
deposited into the Reusable Grocery Bag Fund, which would be 
established by the bill, and continuously appropriated for purposes 
of implementing these proof of certification and Internet Web site 
provisions, thereby making an appropriation. The bill would also 
require a reusable grocery bag producer to submit applicable 
certified test results to the department. The bill would authorize a 
person to object to a certification of a reusable grocery bag 
producer by filing an action for review of that certification in the 
superior court of a county that has jurisdiction over the reusable 
grocery bag producer. The bill would require the court to determine 
if the reusable grocery bag producer is in compliance with the 
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provisions of the bill and, based on the court's determination, 
would require the court to direct the department to either remove 
or retain the reusable grocery bag producer on its published Internet 
Web site list. 

The bill would allow a city, county, or city and county, or the 
state to impose civil penalties on a person or entity that lrn.ows or 
reasonably should have known it is in violation of the bill's 
requirements. The bill would require these civil penalties to be 
paid to the office of the city attorney, city prosecutor, district 
attorney, or Attorney General, whichever office brought the action, 
and would allow the penalties collected by the Attorney General 
to be expended by the Attorney General, upon appropriation by 
the Legislature, to enforce the bill's provisions. 

The bill would declare that it occupies the whole field of the 
regulation of reusable grocery bags, single-use carryout bags, and 
recycled paper bags provided by a store and would prohibit a local 
public agency from enforcing or implementing an ordinance, 
resolution, regulation, or rule, or any amendment thereto, adopted 
on or after September 1, 2014, relating to those bags, against a 
store, except as provided. 

(2) The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 
creates the Recycling Market Development Revolving Loan 
Subaccount in the Integrated Waste Management Account and 
continuously appropriates the funds deposited in the subaccount 
to the department for making loans for the purposes of the 
Recycling Market Development Revolving Loan Program. Existing 
law makes the provisions regarding the loan program, the creation 
of the subaccount, and expenditures from the subaccount 
inoperative on July 1, 2021, and repeals them as of January 1, 
2022. 

This bill would appropriate $2,000,000 from the Recycling 
Market Development Revolving Loan Subaccount in the Integrated 
Waste Management Account to the department for the purposes 
of providing loans for the creation and retention of jobs and 
economic activity in California for the manufacture and recycling 
ofplastic reusable grocery bags that use recycled content. The bill 
would require a recipient of a loan to agree, as a condition of 
receiving the loan, to take specified actions. 
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(3) The bill would require the department, no later than March 
1, 2018, to provide a status report to the Legislature on the 
implementation of the bill's provisions. 

Appropriation: yes. 

The people ofthe State ofCalifornia do enact as follows: 

SECTION 1. Chapter 5.3 (commencing with Section 42280) 
is added to Part 3 of Division 30 of the Public Resources Code, to 
read: 

CHAPTER 5.3. SINGLE-USE CARRYOUT BAGS 

Article 1. Definitions 

42280. (a) "Department" means the Department ofResources 
Recycling and Recovery. 

(b) "Postconsumer recycled material" means a material that 
would otherwise be destined for solid waste disposal, having 
completed its intended end use and product life cycle. 
Postconsumer recycled material does not include materials and 
byproducts generated from, and commonly reused within, an 
original manufacturing and fabrication process. 

(c) "Recycled paper bag" means a paper carryout bag provided 
by a store to a customer at the point of sale that meets all of the 
following requirements: 

(1) (A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B), contains a 
minimum of 40 percent postconsumer recycled materials. 

(B) An eight pound or smaller recycled paper bag shall contain 
a minimum of 20 percent postconsumer recycled material. 

(2) Is accepted for recycling in curbside programs in a majority 
of households that have access to curbside recycling programs in 
the state. 

(3) Has printed on the bag the name of the manufacturer, the 
country where the bag was manufactured, and the minimum 
percentage ofpostconsumer content. 

(d) "Reusable grocery bag" means a bag that is provided by a 
store to a customer at the point of sale that meets the requirements 
of Section 42281. 
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(e) (1) "Reusable grocery bag producer" means a person or 
entity that does any of the following: 

(A) Manufactures reusable grocery bags for sale or distribution 
to a store. 

(B) Imports reusable grocery bags into this state, for sale or 
distribution to a store. 

(C) Sells or distributes reusable bags to a store. 
(2) "Reusable grocery bag producer" does not include a store, 

with regard to a reusable grocery bag for which there is a 
manufacturer or importer, as specified in subparagraph (A) or (B) 
of paragraph (1). 

(f) (1) "Single-use carryout bag" means a bag made ofplastic, 
paper, or other material that is provided by a store to a customer 
at the point ofsale and that is not a recycled paper bag or a reusable 
grocery bag that meets the requirements of Section 42281. 

(2) A single-use carryout bag does not include either of the 
following: 

(A) A bag provided by a pharmacy pursuant to Chapter 9 
(commencing with Section 4000) of Division 2 of the Business 
and Professions Code to a customer purchasing a prescription 
medication. 

(B) A nonhandled bag used to protect a purchased item from 
damaging or contaminating other purchased items when placed in 
a recycled paper bag, a reusable grocery bag, or a compostable 
plastic bag. 

(C) A bag provided to contain an unwrapped food item. 
(D) A nonhandled bag that is designed to be placed over articles 

of clothing on a hanger. 
(g) "Store" means a retail establishment that meets any of the 

following requirements: 
(1) A full-line, self-service retail store with gross annual sales 

oftwo million dollars ($2,000,000) or more that sells a line ofdry 
groceries, canned goods, or nonfood items, and some perishable 
items. 

(2) Has at least 10,000 square feet ofretail space that generates 
sales or use tax pursuant to the Bradley-Bums Uniform Local Sales 
and Use Tax Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200) of 
Division 2 ofthe Revenue and Taxation Code) and has a pharmacy 
licensed pursuant to Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 4000) 
of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code. 
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(3) Is a convenience food store, foodmart, or other entity that 
is engaged in the retail sale of a limited line of goods, generally 
including milk, bread, soda, and snack foods, and that holds a Type 
20 or Type 21 license issued by the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control. 

(4) Is a convenience food store, foodmart, or other entity that 
is engaged in the retail sale of goods intended to be consumed off 
the premises, and that holds a Type 20 or Type 21license issued 
by the Department ofAlcoholic Beverage Control. 

(5) Is not otherwise subject to paragraph (1), (2), (3), or (4), if 
the retail establishment voluntarily agrees to comply with the 
requirements imposed upon a store pursuant to this chapter, 
irrevocably notifies the department ofits intent to comply with the 
requirements imposed upon a store pursuant to this chapter, and 
complies with the requirements established pursuant to Section 
42284. 

Article 2. Reusable Grocery Bags 

42281. (a) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in 
paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, may sell 
or distribute a reusable grocery bag to a customer at the point of 
sale only if the reusable bag is made by a producer certified 
pursuant to this article to meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) Has a handle and is designed for at least 125 uses, as 
provided in this article. 

(2) Has a volume capacity of at least 15 liters. 
(3) Is machine washable or made from a material that can be 

cleaned and disinfected. 
(4) Has printed on the bag, or on a tag attached to the bag that 

is not intended to be removed, and in a manner visible to the 
consumer, all of the following information: 

(A) The name of the manufacturer. 
(B) The country where the bag was manufactured. 
(C) A statement that the bag is a reusable bag and designed for 

at least 125 uses. 
(D) If the bag is eligible for recycling in the state, instructions 

to return the bag to the store for recycling or to another appropriate 
recycling location. If recyclable in the state, the bag shall include 
the chasing arrows recycling symbol or the term "recyclable," 
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consistent with the Federal Trade Commission guidelines use of 
that term, as updated. 

(5) Does not contain lead, cadmium, or any other toxic material 
that may pose a threat to public health. A reusable bag 
manufacturer may demonstrate compliance with this requirement 
by obtaining a no objection letter from the federal Food and Drug 
Administration. This requirement shall not affect any authority of 
the Department of Toxic Substances Control pursuant to Article 
14 (commencing with Section 25251) of Chapter 6.5 of Division 
20 ofthe Health and Safety Code and, notwithstanding subdivision 
(c) ofSection 25257.1 ofthe Health and Safety Code, the reusable 
grocery bag shall not be considered as a product category already 
regulated or subject to regulation. 

(6) Complies with Section 260.12 of Part 260 ofTitle 16 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations related to recyclable claims if the 
reusable grocery bag producer makes a claim that the reusable 
grocery bag is recyclable. 

(b) (1) In addition to the requirements in subdivision (a), a 
reusable grocery bag made from plastic film shall meet all of the 
following requirements: 

(A) On and after January 1, 2016, it shall be made from a 
minimum of 20 percent postconsumer recycled material. 

(B) On and after January 1, 2020, it shall be made from a 
minimum of 40 percent postconsumer recycled material. 

(C) It shall be recyclable in this state, and accepted for return 
at stores subject to the at-store recycling program (Chapter 5.1 
(commencing with Section 42250)) for recycling. 

(D) It shall have, in addition to the information required to be 
printed on the bag or on a tag, pursuant to paragraph ( 4) of 
subdivision (a), a statement that the bag is made partly or wholly 
from postconsumer recycled material and stating the postconsumer 
recycled material content percentage, as applicable. 

(E) It shall be capable of carrying 22 pounds over a distance of 
175 feet for a minimum of 125 uses and be at least 2.25 mils thick, 
measured according to the American Society of Testing and 
Materials (ASTM) Standard D6988-13. 

(2) A reusable grocery bag made from plastic film that meets 
the specifications ofthe American Society ofTesting and Materials 
(ASTM) International Standard Specification for Compostable 
Plastics D6400, as updated, is not required to meet the requirements 
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of subparagraph (A) or (B) ofparagraph (1), but shall be labeled 
in accordance with the applicable state law regarding compostable 
plastics. 

(c) In addition to the requirements ofsubdivision (a), a reusable 
grocery bag that is not made ofplastic film and that is made from 
any other natural or synthetic fabric, including, but not limited to, 
woven or nonwoven nylon, polypropylene, 
polyethylene-terephthalate, or Tyvek, shall satisfy all of the 
following: 

(1) It shall be sewn. 
(2) It shall be capable of carrying 22 pounds over a distance of 

175 feet for a minimum of 125 uses. 
(3) It shall have a minimum fabric weight of at least 80 grams 

per square meter. 
(d) On and after July 1, 2016, a store as defined in paragraph 

(3), (4), or (5) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, shall comply 
with the requirements of this section. 

42281.5. On and after July 1, 2015, a producer of reusable 
grocery bags made from plastic film shall not sell or distribute a 
reusable grocery bag in this state unless the producer is certified 
by a third-party certification entity pursuant to Section 42282. A 
producer shall provide proof of certification to the department 
demonstrating that the reusable grocery bags produced by the 
producer comply with the provisions of this article. The proof of 
certification shall include all of the following: 

(a) Names, locations, and contact information of all sources of 
postconsumer recycled material and suppliers of postconsumer 
recycled material. 

(b) Quantity and dates of postconsumer recycled material 
purchases by the reusable grocery bag producer. 

(c) How the postconsumer recycled material is obtained. 
(d) Information demonstrating that the postconsumer recycled 

material is cleaned using appropriate washing equipment. 
42282. (a) Commencing on or before July 1, 2015, the 

department shall accept from a reusable grocery bag producer 
proofofcertification conducted by a third-party certification entity, 
submitted under penalty of peijury, for each type of reusable 
grocery bag that is manufactured, imported, sold, or distributed in 
the state and provided to a store for sale or distribution, at the point 
of sale, that meets all the applicable requirements of this article. 
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The proof of certification shall be accompanied by a certification 
fee, established pursuant to Section 42282.1. 

(b) A reusable grocery bag producer shall resubmit to the 
department proof of certification as described in subdivision (a) 
on a biennial basis. A reusable grocery bag producer shall provide 
the department with an updated proof of certification conducted 
by a third-party certification entity if any modification that is not 
solely aesthetic is made to a previously certified reusable bag. 
Failure to comply with this subdivision shall result in removal of 
the relevant information posted on the department's Internet Web 
site pursuant to paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (e) for each 
reusable bag that lacks an updated proofofcertification conducted 
by a third-party certification entity. 

(c) A third-party certification entity shall be an independent, 
accredited (ISO/IEC 17025) laboratory. A third-party certification 
entity shall certify that the producer's reusable grocery bags meet 
the requirements of Section 44281. 

(d) The department shall provide a system to receive proofs of 
certification online. 

(e) On and after July 1, 2015, the department shall publish a list 
on its Internet Web site that includes all of the following: 

(1) The name, location, and appropriate contact information of 
certified reusable grocery bag producers. 

(2) The reusable grocery bags of producers that have provided 
the required certification. 

(f) A reusable grocery bag producer shall submit applicable 
certified test results to the department confirming that the reusable 
grocery bag meets the requirements ofthis article for each type of 
reusable grocery bag that is manufactured, imported, sold, or 
distributed in the state and provided to a store for sale or 
distribution. 

(1) A person may object to the certification ofa reusable grocery 
bag producer pursuant to this section by filing an action for review 
of that certification in the superior court of a county that has 
jurisdiction over the reusable grocery bag producer. The court shall 
determine if the reusable grocery bag producer is in compliance 
with the requirements ofthis article. 

(2) A reusable grocery bag producer whose certification is being 
objected to pursuant to paragraph (1) shall be deemed in 
compliance with this article pending a determination by the court. 
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(3) Based on its determination, the court shall direct the 
department to remove the reusable grocery bag producer from, or 
retain the reusable grocery bag producer on, its list published 
pursuant to subdivision (e). 

(4) If the court directs the department to remove a reusable 
grocery bag producer from its published list, the reusable grocery 
bag producer shall remain off of the published list for a period of 
one year from the date of the court's determination. 

42282.1. (a) A reusable grocery bag producer shall submit the 
fee established pursuant to subdivision (b) to the department when 
providing proof of certification or recertification pursuant to 
Sections 42281.5 and 42282. 

(b) The department shall establish an administrative certification 
fee schedule that will generate fee revenues sufficient to cover, 
but not exceed, the department's reasonable costs to implement 
this article. The department shall deposit all moneys submitted 
pursuant to this section into the Reusable Grocery Bag Fund, which 
is hereby established in the State Treasury. Notwithstanding 
Section 11340 of the Government Code, moneys in the fund are 
continuously appropriated, without regard to fiscal year, to the 
department for the purpose of implementing this article. 

Article 3. Single-Use Carryout Bags 

42283. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (e), on and after 
July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of 
subdivision (g) of Section 42280, shall not provide a single-use 
carryout bag to a customer at the point of sale. 

(b) (1) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in 
paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, shall not 
sell or distribute a reusable grocery bag at the point of sale except 
as provided in this subdivision. 

(2) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in paragraph 
(1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, may make available 
for purchase at the point of sale a reusable grocery bag that meets 
the requirements of Section 42281. 

(3) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in paragraph 
(1) or (2) of subdivision (g) ofSection 42280, that makes reusable 
grocery bags available for purchase pursuant to paragraph (2) shall 
not sell the reusable grocery bag for less than ten cents ($0.1 0) in 
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order to ensure that the cost of providing a reusable grocery bag 
is not subsidized by a customer who does not require that bag. 

(c) (1) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in 
paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, shall not 
sell or distribute a recycled paper bag except as provided in this 
subdivision. 

(2) A store, as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) 
of Section 42280, may make available for purchase a recycled 
paper bag. On and after July 1, 2015, the store shall not sell a 
recycled paper bag for less than ten cents ($0.1 0) in order to ensure 
that the cost of providing a recycled paper bag is not subsidized 
by a consumer who does not require that bag. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other law, on and after July 1, 2015, 
a store, as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of 
Section 42280, that makes reusable grocery bags or recycled paper 
bags available for purchase at the point of sale shall provide a 
reusable grocery bag or a recycled paper bag at no cost at the point 
of sale to a customer using a payment card or voucher issued by 
the California Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, 
Infants, and Children pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with 
Section 123275) of Chapter 1 of Part 2 of Division 106 of the 
Health and Safety Code or an electronic benefit transfer card issued 
pursuant to Section 10072 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 

(e) On and after July 1, 2015, a store, as defined in paragraph 
(1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280, may distribute a 
compostable bag at the point of sale, if the compostable bag is 
provided to the consumer at the cost specified pursuant to 
paragraph (2), the compostable bag, at a minimum, meets the 
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International 
Standard Specification for Compostable Plastics D6400, as 
updated, and in the jurisdiction where the compostable bag is sold 
and in the jurisdiction where the store is located, both of the 
following requirements are met: 

(1) A majority of the residential households in the jurisdiction 
have access to curbside collection of foodwaste for com posting. 

(2) The governing authority for the jurisdiction has voted to 
allow stores in the jurisdiction to sell to consumers at the point of 
sale a compostable bag at a cost not less than the actual cost of the 
bag, which the Legislature hereby finds to be not less than ten 
cents ($0.1 0) per bag. 
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(f) A store, as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of subdivision (g) 
of Section 42280, shall not require a customer to use, purchase, 
or accept a single-use carryout bag, recycled paper bag, 
compostable bag, or reusable grocery bag as a condition of sale 
of any product. 

42283.5. On and after July 1, 2016, a store, as defined in 
paragraph (3), ( 4), or (5) of subdivision (g) ofSection 42280, shall 
comply with the same requirements of Section 42283 that are 
imposed upon a store, as defined in paragraph (1) or (2) of 
subdivision (g) of Section 42280. 

42283.6. (a) The operator of a store, as defined in paragraph 
(1) or (2) of subdivision (g) of Section 42280 that makes recycled 
paper or reusable grocery bags available at the point of sale, shall 
be subject to the provisions of the at-store recycling program 
(Chapter 5.1 (commencing with Section 42250)). 

(b) A store that voluntarily agrees to comply with the provisions 
of this article pursuant to subdivision (g) of Section 42280, shall 
also comply with the provisions of the at-store recycling program 
(Chapter 5.1 (commencing with Section 42250)). 

42283.7. All moneys collected pursuant to this article shall be 
retained by the store and may be used only for the following 
purposes: 

(a) Costs associated with complying with the requirements of 
this article. 

(b) Actual costs of providing recycled paper bags or reusable 
grocery bags. 

(c) Costs associated with a store's educational materials or 
educational campaign encouraging the use of reusable grocery 
bags. 

42284. (a) A retail establishment not specifically required to 
comply with the requirements of this chapter is encouraged to 
reduce its distribution of single-use plastic carryout bags. 

(b) Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision (g) of Section 
42280, any retail establishment that is not a "store," that provides 
the department with the irrevocable written notice as specified in 
subdivision (c), shall be regulated as a "store" for the purposes of 
this chapter. 

(c) The irrevocable written notice shall be dated and signed by 
an authorized representative of the retail establishment, and shall 
include the name and physical address ofall retail locations covered 
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by the notice. The department shall acknowledge receipt of the 
notice in writing and shall specify the date the retail establishment 
will be regulated as a "store," which shall not be less than 30 days 
after the date ofthe department's acknowledgment. The department 
shall post on its Internet Web site, organized by county, the name 
and physical location or locations of each retail establishment that 
has elected to be regulated as a "store." 

Article 4. Enforcement 

42285. (a) A city, a county, a city and county, or the state may 
impose civil liability on a person or entity that knowingly violated 
this chapter, or reasonably should have known that it violated this 
chapter, in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000) per day 
for the first violation ofthis chapter, two thousand dollars ($2,000) 
per day for the second violation, and five thousand dollars ($5,000) 
per day for the third and subsequent violations. 

(b) Any civil penalties collected pursuant to subdivision (a) 
shall be paid to the office of the city attorney, city prosecutor, 
district attorney, or Attorney General, whichever office brought 
the action. The penalties collected pursuant to this section by the 
Attorney General may be expended by the Attorney General, upon 
appropriation by the Legislature, to enforce this chapter. 

Article 5. Preemption 

42287. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (c), this chapter 
is a matter of statewide interest and concern and is applicable 
uniformly throughout the state. Accordingly, this chapter occupies 
the whole field of regulation of reusable grocery bags, single-use 
carry out bags, and recycled paper bags, as defined in this chapter, 
provided by a store, as defined in this chapter. 

(b) On and after January 1, 2015, a city, county, or other local 
public agency shall not enforce, or otherwise implement, an 
ordinance, resolution, regulation, or rule, or any amendment 
thereto, adopted on or after September 1, 2014, relating to reusable 
grocery bags, single-use carryout bags, or recycled paper bags, 
against a store, as defined in this chapter, unless expressly 
authorized by this chapter. 
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(c) (1) A city, county, or other local public agency that has 
adopted, before September 1, 2014, an ordinance, resolution, 
regulation, or rule relating to reusable grocery bags, single-use 
carry out bags, or recycled paper bags may continue to enforce and 
implement that ordinance, resolution, regulation, or rule that was 
in effect before that date. Any amendments to that ordinance, 
resolution, regulation, or rule on or after January 1, 2015, shall be 
subject to subdivision (b), except the city, county, or other local 
public agency may adopt or amend an ordinance, resolution, 
regulation, or rule to increase the amount that a store shall charge 
with regard to a recycled paper bag, compostable bag, or reusable 
grocery bag to no less than the amount specified in Section 42283. 

(2) A city, county, or other local public agency not covered by 
paragraph (1) that, before September 1, 2014, has passed a first 
reading of an ordinance or resolution expressing the intent to 
restrict single-use carryoutbags and, before January 1, 2015, adopts 
an ordinance to restrict single-use carryout bags, may continue to 
enforce and implement the ordinance that was in effect before 
January 1, 2015. 

Article 6. Financial Provisions 

42288. (a) Notwithstanding Section 42023.2, the sum oftwo million dollars ($2,000,000) is 
hereby appropriated from the Recycling Market Development Revolving Loan Subaccount in the 
Integrated Waste Management Account to the department for the purposes ofproviding loans for 
the creation and retention ofjobs and economic activity in this state for the manufacture and 
recycling ofplastic reusable grocery bags that use recycled content, including postconsumer 
recycled material. 

NOT SUBJECT 
TO 
REFERENDUM 

(b) The department may expend, if there are applicants eligible 
for funding from the Recycling Market Development Revolving 
Loan Subaccount, the funds appropriated pursuant to this section 
to provide loans for both of the following: 

(1) Development and conversion ofmachinery and facilities for 
the manufacture of single-use plastic bags into machinery and 
facilities for the manufacturer of durable reusable grocery bags 
that, at a minimum, meet the requirements of Section 42281. 
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(2) Development of equipment for the manufacture of reusable 
grocery bags, that, at a minimum, meet the requirements of Section 
42281. 

(c) A recipient of a loan authorized by this section shall agree, 
as a condition of receiving the loan, to retain and retrain existing 
employees for the manufacturing of reusable grocery bags that, at 
a minimum, meet the requirements of Section 42281. 

(d) Any moneys appropriated pursuant to this section not 
expended by the end ofthe 2015-16 fiscal year shall revert to the 
Recycling Market Development Revolving Loan Subaccount for 
expenditure pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 
42010) of Chapter 1. 

(e) Applicants for funding under this section may also apply for 
funding or benefits from other economic development programs 
for which they may be eligible, including, but not limited to, both 
of the following: 

(1) An income tax credit, as described in Sections 17059.2 and 
23689 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(2) A tax exemption pursuant to Section 6377.1 ofthe Revenue 
and Taxation Code. 

SEC. 2. No later than March 1, 2018, the department, as a part 
ofits reporting requirement pursuant to Section 40507 ofthe Public 
Resources Code, shall provide a status report on the implementation 
of Chapter 5.3 (commencing with Section 42280) of Part 3 of 
Division 30 of the Public Resources Code. 




