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Re: California Homeowners and Renters Tax Relief Act of 2016

Dear Ms. Johansson:

By this letter, I respectfully request the Attorney General to prepare a title and
summary of the chief purpose and points of the California Homeowners and
Renters Tax Relief Act 0£ 2016, a copy of which is attached. I have also included
with this letter the required signed statement pursuant to California Elections Code
sections 9001 and 9608, and a check in the amount of $200. My address as a
registered to vote is shown on Attachment 'A' to this letter.

Any correspondence regarding this initiative should be directed to me at Howard
Jarvis Taxpayers Association, 921 Eleventh Street, Suite 1201, Sacramento, CA
95814 (916.444.9950).

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sinceyely,

Jon'Coupal, President
Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association



15-0028

CALIFORNIA HOMEOWNERS AND RENTERS TAX RELIEF ACT OF 2016

SECTION I. TITLE.
This Measure shall be known as the "California Homeowners and Renters Tax

Relief Act of 2016."

SECTION 2. PURPOSE AND INTENT.

A. Housing affordability is a critical issue for the State of California and its
economy. Nationally, over half of all Americans can afford a home, but
only about one-third of Californians can afford to realize the American
dream of owning their own home. It is time to make homeownership
more affordable in California by recognizing the economic realities of the
new century and the New Economy.

B. The homeowners' property tax exemption of $7,000 has not been
increased since 1972 when the median priced home sold for $28,660.
Currently, an average home is selling for nearly ten (10) times that
amount, and yet the homeowners' exemption remains unchanged at
$7,000. An increase in the homeowners' property tax exemption is long
overdue.

C. California homeowners have been subjected to a massive increase in
levies and fees on their property beyond the basic ad valorem tax
including, but not limited to, billions in parcel taxes, fees for services
previously funded by property taxes, bond charges and other indebtedness
taxes.

D. Increasing the homeowners' property tax exemption from $7,000 to
$32,000 will save every homeowner in California more than $250 per
year. This will help make housing more affordable, help to mitigate the

heavy and disproportionate financial burden placed on homeowners from




property tax increases to repay local bonds, and help to provide some
relief from excessive utility fee and charge increases.

E. Under this Act, all renters will receive tax relief comparable to that
provided to homeowners by an increase in the renters’ tax credit. This
will provide tax relief to renters, who also face housing affordability
problems, as well as to help provide some relief from excessive utility fee
and charge increases.

F. This Act will benefit all Californians, but especially those who are senior

citizens, first time homebuyers and those who are on fixed incomes.

SECTION 3. Article 13, Section 3, subdivision (k) of the California Constitution is
amended to read:

(k) (7) $7000 $32,000 of the full value of a dwelling, as defined by the Legislature,
when occupied by an owner as his principal residence, unless the dwelling is receiving
another real property exemption. 7he exemption shall be adjusted annually thereafter

to reflect cost of living increases as determined by changes in the California Consumer

indirectly,—on—the—dwelling: The Legislature is hereby empowered fo increase the

exemption above the amount of $32,000 or the amount adjusted for inflation. Ne

provide—the—subventions—required—by—Section—25:  Provisions of this subdivision

amended by the "California Homeowners and Renters Tax Relief Act of 2016 " shall

become operative on January 1, 2017.




(2) If the homeowners' property tax exemption is increased by the Legislature
above the amount of $32,000 or the inflation adjusted amount, an increase in benefits
to qualified renfers, as defined by law, comparable fo the average increase in benefits
to homeowners, as calculated pursuant to law, shall be provided.

(3) In accordance with Section 25 of this Article, and to protect funding for
public education and public safety, the Legislature shall provide, in the same fiscal
year, reimbursements fo each local government for revenue lost as a result of this
subdivision. To further protect funding for public education, the required
reimbursements shall be made through annual State general fund appropriations other
than those appropriations guaranteed fo be applied by the State for the support of
school districts and community college districts under Section 8 of Article XVI. The
required reimbursements shall not be construed fo have, and shall be implemented by
the Legislature so as not to have, a net fiscal impact upon the moneys otherwise
required to be applied by the State for the support of school districts and community
college districts under Section 8 of Article XVI.

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the supplemental credit provided
to renters shall not be classified as a revenue program resulting in a reduction in
General Fund revenues, including for purposes of Section 8 of Article XVI, but rather
shall be funded through annual State general fund appropriations other than those
appropriations guaranteed to be applied by the State for the support of school districts
and community college districts under Section 8 of Article XVI. The purpose and intent
of this paragraph is to protect, and not adversely impact, the constitutionally guaranteed
funding level for public education by returning to the manner in which the renters’ credit
was funded when it was originally established. As used in this paragraph,
"supplemental credit” means that component of tax relief provided to renters under the
"California Homeowners and Renters Tax Relief Act of 2016." The Legislature shall
pass all laws necessary to carry out the purpose and intent of this paragraph and

paragraph (3) of this subdivision.



SECTION 4. Section 218.4 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby added to
read:

218.4. (a) Notwithstanding Section 218, the homeowners' property tax exemption shall
be in the amount of thirty-two thousand dollars ($32,000) of the full value of the
awelling. The Legislature may amend this section fo increase the exemption amount.
The exemption shall be adjusted annually pursuant to subdivision (b) to reflect changes
in the California Consumer Price Index. This section shall become operative on
January 1, 2017.

(b) Starting in 2017, and each year thereafter, the State Board of Equalization
shall recalculate, for the current year, the amount of the exemption applied under this
section. That computation shall be made as follows:

(1) The California Department of Industrial Relations shall transmit annually to
the State Board of Equalization the percentage change, rounded up fo the nearest one-
tenth of one percent, in the California Consumer Price Index for all items from June of
the prior calendar year to June of the current calendar year, no later than August 1 of
the current calendar year.

(2) The State Board of Equalization shall compute an inflation adjustment factor
by adding 100 percent to the percentage change figure that is furnished pursuant to
paragraph (1) and then dividing the result by 100. The inflation adjustment factor shall
be expressed to three decimal places.

(3) The State Board of Equalization shall multiply the exemption amount under
this section for the preceding year by the inflation adjustment factor determined in
paragraph (2), and round up the resulting product to the nearest one hundred dollars
($100). The State Board of Equalization shall, by August 15 of the current calendar
year, notify each county assessor in writing of the adjusted exemption amount for the

current year. The adjusted exemption amount shall then be used for the current year.



SECTION 5. Section 17053.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended
to read:

17053.5 (a) (1) For a qualified renter, there shall be allowed a credit against
his or her "net tax" (as defined in Section 17039). The amount of the credit, which
shall consist of two components, shall be as follows:

(A) For married couples filing joint returns, heads of household, and surviving
spouses (as defined in Section 17046) the base credit shall be equal to one hundred
twenty dollars ($120) if adjusted gross income is fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or
less, plus a supplemental credit of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) without regard to
adjusted gross income.

(B) For other individuals, the base credit shall be equal to sixty dollars ($60) if
adjusted gross income is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or less, plus a
supplemental credit of one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) without regard to
adjusted gross income.

(C) The amount of the supplemental credit shall be adjusted each taxable year
pursuant to subdivision () of this section to reflect changes in the California Consumer
Price Index.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision (b), either spouse shall receive but one
credit under this section. If the husband and wife file separate returns, the credit may
be taken by either or equally divided between them, except as follows:

(A) If one spouse was a resident for the entire taxable year and the other
spouse was a nonresident for part or all of the taxable year, the resident spouse shall
be allowed one-half the credit allowed to married persons and the nonresident spouse
shall be permitted one-half the credit allowed to married persons, prorated as provided
in subdivision (e).

(B) If both spouses were nonresidents for part of the taxable year, the credit

allowed to married persons shall be divided equally between them subject to the




proration provided in subdivision (e).

(b) For a married couple, if each spouse maintained a separate place of
residence and resided in this state during the entire taxable year, each spouse will be
allowed one-half the full credit allowed to married persons provided in subdivision (a).

(c) For purposes of this section, a "qualified renter" means an individual who:

(1) Was a resident of this state, as defined in Section 17014, and

(2) Rented and occupied premises in this state which constituted his or her
principal place of residence during at least 50 percent of the taxable year.

(d) The term "qualified renter” does not include any of the following:

(1) An individual who for more than 50 percent of the taxable year rented and
occupied premises that were exempt from property taxes, except that an individual,
otherwise qualified, is deemed a qualified renter if he or she or his or her landlord pays
possessory interest taxes, or the owner of those premises makes payments in lieu of
property taxes that are substantially equivalent to property taxes paid on properties of
comparable market value.

(2) An individual whose principal place of residence for more than 50 percent
of the taxable year is with any other person who claimed such individual as a
dependent for income tax purposes.

(3) An individual who has been granted or whose spouse has been granted the
homeowners' property tax exemption during the taxable year. This paragraph does not
apply to an individual whose spouse has been granted the homeowners' property tax
exemption if each spouse maintained a separate residence for the entire taxable year.

(e) Any otherwise qualified renter who is a nonresident for any portion of the
taxable year shall claim the credits set forth in subdivision (a) at the rate of one-twelfth
of those credits for each full month that individual resided within this state during the
taxable year.

(f) Every person claiming the credit provided in this section shall, as part of that

claim, and under penalty of perjury, furnish that information as the Franchise Tax Board




prescribes on a form supplied by the board.

(9) The credit provided in this section shall be claimed on returns in the form
as the Franchise Tax Board may from time to time prescribe.

(h) For the purposes of this section, the term "premises” means a house or a
dwelling unit used to provide living accommodations in a building or structure and the
land incidental thereto, but does not include land only, unless the dwelling unit is a
mobilehome. The credit is not allowed for any taxable year for the rental of land upon
which a mobilehome is located if the mobilehome has been granted a homeowners'
exemption under Section 218 in that year.

(i) This section shall become operative on January 1, 1998, and applies to any
taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1998. Provisions of this section relating
to the supplemental credit shall apply to any taxable year beginning on or after January
1, 2017.

(j) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, the Franchise
Tax Board shall recompute the adjusted gross income amounts set forth in subdivision
(a). For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the Franchise Tax
Board shall also recompute the amount of the supplemental credit set forth in
subdivision (a). That-computation The computations shall be made as follows:

(1) The California Department of Industrial Relations shall transmit annually to
the Franchise Tax Board the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index
for all items from June of the prior calendar year to June of the current year, no later
than August 1 of the current calendar year.

(2) The Franchise Tax Board shall compute an inflation adjustment factor by
adding 100 percent to that portion of the percentage change figure which is furnished
pursuant to paragraph (1) and dividing the result by 100. The inflation adjustment
factor shall be expressed fo three decimal places.

(3) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the amount in subparagraph (B) of
paragraph (1) of subdivision {&} (a) for the preceding taxable year by the inflation



adjustment factor determined in paragraph (2), and round off the resulting products to
the nearest one dollar ($1).

(4) In computing the amounts pursuant to this subdivision, the amounts
provided in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be twice the
amount provided in subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a).

(5) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the amount of the supplemental
credit under this section for the preceding taxable year by the inflation adjustment factor
determined in paragraph (2), and round up the resulting product fo the nearest one
dollar ($1). The adjusted supplemental credit amount shall then be used for the current
taxable year.

(k) As used in this section, "supplemental credit” means that component of tax
relief provided to renters under the "California Homeowners and Renters Tax Relief Act
of 2016."

(1) The Legislature may amend this section to increase the amount of the credit.

SEC. 6. LIBERAL CONSTRUCTION. The provisions of this act shall be liberally
construed and implemented to effectuate its purposes of providing an increase in the

homeowners exemption and an increase in the renters' credit.

SEC. 7. SEVERABILITY. If any provision of this Act, or part thereof, or the
application of any provision of this Act, or part thereof, to any person or circumstances,
is for any reason held to be invalid or unconstitutional, the remaining provisions shall
not be affected, but shall remain in full force and effect, and shall not affect the
remaining provisions or applications of this Act to other persons or circumstances, and

to this end the provisions of this Act are severable.



