## 17-0015 Amdt.#

## **By Hand Delivery**

September 8, 2017

To: The Office of the Attorney General Attn: Ashley Johansson, Initiative Coordinator 1300 "I" Street Sacramento, CA 95814

> Re: Submission of Amendment to the Kidney Dialysis Patient Protection Act (No. 17-0015)

Dear Ms. Johansson:

On August 9, 2017 the proponents of a proposed statewide initiative titled "Kidney Dialysis Patient Protection Act" (the "Initiative") submitted a request that the Attorney General prepare a circulating title and summary pursuant to Article II, Section 10(d) of the California Constitution. Pursuant to Elections Code §9002(b), the proponents hereby submit timely amendments to the text of the Initiative. As the proponents of the Initiative, we approve the submission of the amended text to the Initiative and we declare that the amendments are reasonably germane to the theme, purpose, and subject of the Initiative. We request that the Attorney General prepare a circulating title and summary using the amended Initiative.

Please continue to direct all inquiries and correspondence regarding this proposed initiative to:

BJ Chisholm Altshuler Berzon LLP 177 Post Street, Suite 300 San Francisco, CA 94108 Phone: 415-421-7151 Email: bchisholm@altber.com

Sincerely, Edward Howard

Enclosure: Amended initiative language

## RECEIVED

## SEP 1 3 2017

INITIATIVE COORDINATOR ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE This initiative measure is submitted to the people in accordance with the provisions of Article II, Section 8, of the California Constitution.

This initiative measure amends and adds sections to the Health and Safety Code; therefore, existing provisions proposed to be deleted are printed in strikeout type and new provisions proposed to be added are printed in *italic* type to indicate that they are new.

SEC. 1. Name

÷ .

This act shall be known as the "Kidney Dialysis Patient Protection Act."

SEC. 2. Findings and Purposes

A. The People make the following findings:

(1) Kidney dialysis is a process where blood is cleaned of waste and excess water, usually through a machine outside the patient's body, and then returned to the patient. If someone who needs dialysis cannot obtain or afford high quality care, toxins build up in the body, leading to death.

(2) In California, at least 66,000 Californians undergo dialysis treatment.

(3) Just two multinational, for-profit corporations operate or manage nearly threequarters of dialysis clinics in California and treat almost 70 percent of dialysis patients in California. These two multinational corporations annually earn billions of dollars from their dialysis operations, including almost \$400 million each year in California alone.

(4) Because federal law mandates that private health insurance companies offer and pay for dialysis, private insurance companies have little ability to bargain with the two multinational dialysis corporations on behalf of their customers.

(5) Thus, for-profit dialysis corporations charge patients with private health insurance four times as much as they charge Medicare for the very same dialysis treatment, resulting in vast profits.

(6) In a market dominated by just two multinational corporations, California must ensure that dialysis is fairly priced and affordable.

(7) Other states have taken steps to protect these very vulnerable patients from these two multinational corporations, including by enacting common sense protections such as minimum staffing requirements.

(8) Current staffing levels in dialysis clinics in California are possibly dangerous and are inadequate to protect patient health against avoidable deaths, hospitalizations, infections, and medication errors.

1

(9) Efforts to enact protections for kidney dialysis patients in California have been stymied in Sacramento by the dialysis corporations, which spent over \$600,000 in just the first six months of 2017 to influence the California Legislature.

B. Purposes:

۰,

(1) It is the purpose of this Act to ensure that outpatient kidney dialysis clinics provide quality and affordable patient care to people suffering from end stage renal disease.

(2) This Act is intended to be budget neutral for the State to implement and administer.

SEC. 3. Section 1226.4 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

1226.4 (a) Minimum staffing requirements.

(1) A chronic dialysis clinic shall ensure that the following minimum staffing ratios are met at all times that patients are receiving, or preparing to receive, direct clinic care:

(A) At least one nurse is providing direct clinic care for every eight patients. A nurse shall only count toward this ratio during time periods the nurse has no responsibilities other than direct clinic care. A nurse manager or charge nurse shall not count toward the nurse-to-patient ratio.

(B) At least one hemodialysis technician is providing direct clinic care for every three patients. A hemodialysis technician shall only count toward this ratio during time periods the hemodialysis technician has no responsibilities other than direct clinic care. Hemodialysis technician trainees shall not count toward this ratio. Nurses counted toward the nurse-to-patient ratio shall not count toward the hemodialysis technician-to-patient ratio.

(2) A chronic dialysis clinic shall ensure that no more than 75 patients per full-time equivalent schedule are assigned at any time to any individual social worker and to any individual registered dietitian, regardless of the location where patient care is provided.

(3) The ratios described in paragraphs (1) and (2) shall constitute the minimum number of nurses, hemodialysis technicians, social workers, and registered dietitians assigned to patients. Additional nurses, hemodialysis technicians, social workers, and registered dietitians shall be assigned to the extent necessary to ensure that the staff-to-patient ratio is appropriate to the level of dialysis care given and meets the needs of patients.

(4) A chronic dialysis clinic shall ensure that the transition time between patients at a treatment station is no shorter than 45 minutes, provided that the department may by regulation set a minimum transition time other than 45 minutes if such modification is supported by changes in available clinical evidence regarding minimum transition times necessary to ensure safety and hygiene protocols in chronic dialysis clinics, including but not limited to changes in recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention regarding standard hygiene practices.

(5) The requirements of this subdivision shall take effect on March 31, 2019.

(b) Inspections for safety and hygiene.

The department shall inspect each chronic dialysis clinic for which a license has been issued at least once per year, and shall conduct such inspections as often as necessary to ensure the existence of and compliance with adequate hygiene and sanitation protocols, compliance with this chapter, and the adequacy of the quality of care being provided.

(c) Licensing, recordkeeping, and reporting.

۴.,

(1) It shall be a condition of licensure that a chronic dialysis clinic comply with this section, and the department shall not renew, transfer, or extend any license issued to a chronic dialysis clinic except upon a showing that the chronic dialysis clinic complies with the requirements of subdivision (a). The department shall not issue a license to any new chronic dialysis clinic unless that chronic dialysis clinic demonstrates the ability and intention to comply with the requirements of subdivision (a).

(2) Every chronic dialysis clinic for which a license has been issued shall maintain, and provide to the department on a form prescribed by the department, at a minimum, the following information:

(A) Actual staffing ratio and transition time data for the period covered by the submission, which shall include, at a minimum, daily totals of the total number and actual hours worked by nurses and hemodialysis technicians; the total number of patients and actual hours receiving direct clinic care; the daily average transition time for each treatment station; and, for each week, the total number of full-time equivalent social workers and registered dietitians and the total number of patients assigned to social workers and registered dietitians.

(B) Every instance, no matter how brief, during the period covered by the submission when staffing ratios or transition times did not satisfy the requirements of subdivision (a), and the reasons and circumstances therefor.

(3) The chief executive officer or administrator of the chronic dialysis clinic shall certify under penalty of perjury that he or she is satisfied, after review, that all information submitted pursuant to paragraph (2) is accurate and complete.

(4) The chronic dialysis clinic shall periodically submit such information described in paragraph (2) to the department on a schedule and in a format prescribed by the department, provided that the clinic shall submit that information no less frequently than four times per year.

(d) Complaints and patient rights.

(1) Within 60 days of receiving a complaint from a patient, an association of patients, a family member of a patient, an employee, an association of employees, a vendor, or a contractor of a chronic dialysis clinic that the chronic dialysis clinic has violated any requirement of this chapter, the department shall investigate the chronic dialysis clinic and, if the evidence shows a violation has occurred, the department shall impose discipline pursuant to Section 1240.1.

(2) To ensure that all health care workers of chronic dialysis clinics are entitled to whistleblower protections, Section 1278.5 shall apply to chronic dialysis clinics, and to the

extent of that application, references in Section 1278.5 to a health facility shall be deemed to be references to a chronic dialysis clinic, subject to paragraph (3).

(3) Notwithstanding Section 1417.2, moneys collected under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 1278.5 from a chronic dialysis clinic shall be distributed to the department to implement and enforce laws governing chronic dialysis clinics.

(e) Protection of confidential information.

(1) The department shall redact from any writing, record, or document submitted or created pursuant to this section that is a public record within the meaning of subdivision (e) of Section 6252 of the Government Code all personal identifying or confidential information associated with any patients, to the extent required to prevent an unwarranted invasion of personal privacy, as that term is used in subdivision (c) of Section 6254 of the Government Code, but the department shall not withhold any such writing, record, or document in its entirety under subdivision (c) of Section 6254 of the Government Code.

(2) Information required to be submitted under subdivision (c), and complaints submitted under subdivision (d), shall not be withheld on the basis of subdivision (f) of Section 6254 of the Government Code.

(f) Definitions.

۰.

For purposes of this section:

(1) "Administrator" means the administrator as that term is used in Section 494.180(a) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(2) "At all times" includes times during which clinic personnel, including but not limited to nurses or hemodialysis technicians, are provided meal periods and rest or other breaks. No clinic personnel may be counted toward the required ratios during times they are taking such breaks or meal periods.

(3) "Charge nurse" means a charge nurse as described in Section 494.140(b)(3) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(4) "Chief executive officer" means the chief executive officer as that term is used in Section 494.180(a) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(5) "Direct clinic care" means initiating and discontinuing dialysis, monitoring patients during treatment, and administering medications, and physical presence in the immediate area where patients are dialyzed.

(6) "Full-time equivalent" means employment by a chronic dialysis clinic for 2,080 hours of work in 12 consecutive months.

(7) "Nurse" means a registered nurse licensed pursuant to Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 2700) of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code.

(8) "Nurse manager" means a nurse manager as described in Section 494.140(b)(1) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(9) "Registered dietitian" means a dietitian as described in Section 494.140(c) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(10) "Social worker" means a social worker as described in Section 494.140(d) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(11) "Hemodialysis technician" means a person who holds both of the following qualifications:

(A) The person is a patient care dialysis technician, as described in Section 494.140(e) of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations as it read on December 31, 2016.

(B) The person is a Certified Hemodialysis Technician certified pursuant to Article 3.5 (commencing with Section 1247) of Chapter 3 of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code.

(12) "Hemodialysis technician trainee" means a person who is undergoing training to become a hemodialysis technician, but who has not yet been certified as a Certified Hemodialysis Technician pursuant to Article 3.5 (commencing with Section 1247) of Chapter 3 of Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code.

(13) "Transition time" means the period of time beginning when one patient leaves a treatment station and ending when the next patient is placed in the treatment station, but does not mean the period of time after the last patient of the day leaves the treatment station.

(14) "Treatment station" means a physical location within a chronic dialysis clinic where an individual patient is dialyzed.

SEC. 4. Section 1240.1 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

1240.1 (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a chronic dialysis clinic for a violation of this chapter. Each penalty issued pursuant to this chapter shall be classified as a major violation, an intermediate violation, or a minor violation based on the nature of the violation and the threat of harm to patients. A major violation shall be subject to an administrative penalty of up to one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000), an intermediate violation shall be subject to an administrative penalty of up to twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000), and a minor violation shall be subject to an administrative penalty of up to two thousand dollars (\$2,000).

(b) The department shall promulgate regulations establishing the criteria to assess an administrative penalty against a chronic dialysis clinic, which shall include, but not be limited to, consideration of all of the following:

- (1) The probability and severity of the risk that the violation presents to the patient.
- (2) The actual harm to patients, if any.
- (3) The nature, scope, and severity of the violation.

(4) The chronic dialysis clinic's history of compliance with related state and federal statutes and regulations, including, but not limited to, the similarity in circumstances of the violation to any previous violation by the chronic dialysis clinic within a 24-month period.

(5) Factors beyond the control of the chronic dialysis clinic that restrict its ability to comply with this chapter or the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

(6) The demonstrated willfulness of the violation.

(7) The extent to which the chronic dialysis clinic detected the violation and took immediate action to correct the violation and to prevent that type of violation from recurring.

(c) If a chronic dialysis clinic disputes a determination by the department regarding an alleged deficiency or failure to correct a deficiency, or the reasonableness of a proposed deadline for correction of a violation or an amount of an administrative penalty, the chronic dialysis clinic may, within 10 working days, request a hearing pursuant to Section 131071. A chronic dialysis clinic shall pay all administrative penalties when all appeals have been exhausted and the department's position has been upheld.

(d) For purposes of Article 9 (commencing with Section 12650) of Chapter 6 of Part 2 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, the information required to be provided under subdivision (c) of Section 1226.4 shall be deemed material to any claim for payment submitted by a chronic dialysis clinic within twelve months of the submission of information.

SEC. 5. Section 1240.2 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

1240.2. (a) Subject to subdivision (d), prior to the effective date of regulations adopted to implement Section 1240.1, if a chronic dialysis clinic receives a notice of deficiency constituting an immediate jeopardy to the health or safety of a patient and is required to submit a plan of correction, the department may assess the licensee an administrative penalty of up to one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000). In determining the amount of the penalty, the department shall consider the severity and duration of the immediate jeopardy and the extent to which the conduct causing the immediate jeopardy could have been avoided.

(b) If a licensee disputes a determination by the department regarding an alleged deficiency or the alleged failure to correct a deficiency, or regarding the reasonableness of the proposed deadline for correction or the amount of the penalty, the licensee may, within 10 days, request an administrative hearing pursuant to Section 131071. Penalties shall be paid when appeals have been exhausted and if the department's position has been upheld.

(c) For purposes of this section "immediate jeopardy" means a situation in which the licensee's noncompliance with one or more requirements of licensure has caused, or is likely to cause, serious injury or death to one or more patients.

(d) This section shall only apply to incidents occurring on or after January 1, 2019, except that this section shall only apply to violations of subdivision (a) of Section 1226.4 occurring on or after March 31, 2019.

(e) Notwithstanding Section 11 of the act that added this section, new regulations are not required or authorized for implementation of this section.

(f) This section shall become inoperative on the effective date of regulations promulgated by the department pursuant to Section 1240.1.

SEC. 6. Section 1226.7 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

` 1

1226.7. (a) Reasonable limits on charges for patient care by chronic dialysis clinics; rebates of amounts charged in excess of fair treatment payment amount.

(1) For purposes of this section, the "fair treatment payment amount" shall be an amount equal to 115 percent of the sum of all direct patient care services costs and all health care quality improvement costs incurred by a governing entity and its chronic dialysis clinics.

(2) For each fiscal year starting on or after January 1, 2019, a governing entity or its chronic dialysis clinics shall annually issue rebates to payers as follows:

(A) The governing entity shall calculate the "unfair excess charged amount," which shall be the amount, if any, by which treatment revenue from treatments provided by all of the governing entity's chronic dialysis clinics exceeds the fair treatment payment amount.

(B) The governing entity or its chronic dialysis clinics shall, on a pro rata basis based on the amounts paid and reasonably estimated to be paid, as those amounts are included in treatment revenue, issue rebates to payers (other than Medicare or other federal, state, county, city, or local government payers) in amounts that total the unfair excess charged amount.

(C) The governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic shall issue any rebates required by this section no less than 90 days and no more than 210 days after the end of its fiscal year to which the rebate relates.

(D) Where, in any fiscal year, the rebate the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic must issue to a single payer is less than twenty dollars (\$20), the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic shall not issue that rebate, and shall provide to other payers in accordance with subparagraph (B) the total amount of rebates not issued pursuant to this subparagraph.

(E) For each fiscal year starting on or after January 1, 2020, any rebate issued to a payer shall be issued together with interest thereon at the rate of interest specified in subdivision (b) of Section 3289 of the Civil Code, which shall accrue from the date of payment by the payer.

(3) For each fiscal year starting on or after January 1, 2019, a governing entity shall maintain and provide to the department, on a form and schedule prescribed by the department, a report of all rebates issued under paragraph (2), including a description of each instance during the period covered by the submission when the rebate required under paragraph (2) was not timely issued in full, and the reasons and circumstances therefor. The chief executive officer or principal officer of the governing entity shall certify under penalty of perjury that he or she is satisfied, after review, that all information submitted to the department under this paragraph is accurate and complete.

(4) In the event a governing entity or its chronic dialysis clinic is required to issue a rebate under this section, no later than 210 days after the end of its fiscal year the governing entity shall pay a penalty to the department in an amount equal to five percent of the unfair excess charged amount, provided that the penalty shall not exceed one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000). Penalties collected pursuant to this paragraph shall be used by the department to implement and enforce laws governing chronic dialysis clinics.

(5) If a chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity disputes a determination by the department to assess a penalty pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision (b), or the amount of an administrative penalty, the chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity may, within 10 working days, request a hearing pursuant to Section 131071. A chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity shall pay all administrative penalties when all appeals have been exhausted and the department's position has been upheld.

(6) If a governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic proves in any court action that application of this section to the chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity will, in any particular fiscal year, violate due process or effect a taking of private property requiring just compensation under the Constitution of this State or the Constitution of the United States, the provision at issue shall apply to the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic, except that as to the fiscal year in question the number "115" whenever it appears in the provision at issue shall be replaced by the lowest possible whole number such that application of the provision to the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic of the governing entity or chronic dialysis of the provision to the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic of the provision to the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic of the provision to the governing entity or chronic dialysis clinic to propose a replacement number and to prove that replacing "115" with any whole number lower than the proposed replacement number would, for the fiscal year in question, violate due process or effect a taking of private property requiring just compensation.

(b) Compliance reporting by chronic dialysis clinics.

(1) For each fiscal year starting on or after January 1, 2019, a governing entity shall maintain and submit to the department a report concerning the following information for all of the chronic dialysis clinics the governing entity owns or operates in California—

(A) the number of treatments performed;

(B) direct patient care services costs;

**`**т

(C) health care quality improvement costs;

(D) treatment revenue, including the difference between amounts billed but not yet paid and estimated realizable revenue;

(E) the fair treatment payment amount;

٠.,

(F) the unfair excess charged amount;

(G) the amount, if any, of each payer's rebate, provided that any individual patient shall be identified using only a unique identifier that does not reveal the patient's name or identity; and

(H) a list of payers to whom no rebate was issued pursuant to subparagraph (D) of paragraph
(2) of subdivision (a) and the amount not issued, provided that any individual patient shall be identified using only a unique identifier that does not reveal the patient's name or identity.

(2) The information required to be maintained and the report required to be submitted by this subdivision shall each be independently audited by a certified public accountant in accordance with the standards of the Accounting Standards Board of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and shall include the opinion of that certified public accountant as to whether the information contained in the report fully and accurately describes, in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States, the information required to be reported under paragraph (1).

(3) The governing entity shall annually submit the report required by this subdivision to the department on a schedule, in a format, and on a form prescribed by the department, provided that the governing entity shall submit the information no later than 210 days after the end of its fiscal year. The chief executive officer or other principal officer of the governing entity shall certify under penalty of perjury that he or she is satisfied, after review, that the report submitted to the department under paragraph (1) is accurate and complete.

(4) In the event the department determines that a chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity failed to maintain the information or timely submit a report required under paragraph (1) of this subdivision or paragraph (3) of subdivision (a), or that the amounts or percentages reported by the chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity under paragraph (1) of this subdivision were inaccurate or incomplete, or that any failure by a chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity to timely issue in full a rebate required by subdivision (a) was not substantially justified, the department shall assess a penalty against the chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000). The department shall determine the amount of the penalty based on the severity of the violation, the materiality of the inaccuracy or omitted information, and the strength of the explanation, if any, for the violation. Penalties collected pursuant to this paragraph shall be used by the department to implement and enforce laws governing chronic dialysis clinics.

(c) Definitions.

For purposes of this section:

(1) "Direct patient care services costs" means those costs directly associated with operating a chronic dialysis clinic in California and providing care to patients in California. Direct patient care services costs shall include, regardless of the location where each patient undergoes dialysis, only (i) salaries, wages, and benefits of non-managerial chronic dialysis clinic staff,

including all clinic personnel who furnish direct care to dialysis patients, regardless of whether the salaries, wages, or benefits are paid directly by the chronic dialysis clinic or indirectly through an arrangement with an affiliated or unaffiliated third party, including but not limited to a governing entity, an independent staffing agency, a physician group, or a joint venture between a chronic dialysis clinic and a physician group; (ii) staff training and development; (iii) pharmaceuticals and medical supplies; (iv) facility costs, including rent, maintenance, and utilities; (v) laboratory testing; and (vi) depreciation and amortization of buildings, leasehold improvements, patient supplies, equipment, and information systems. For purposes of this section, "non-managerial chronic dialysis clinic staff" includes all clinic personnel who furnish direct care to dialysis patients, including nurses, technicians and trainees, social workers, registered dietitians, and non-managerial administrative staff, but excludes managerial staff such as facility administrators. Categories of direct patient care services costs may be further prescribed by the department through regulation.

 $\sim 10^{-1}$ 

(2) "Governing entity" means a person, firm, association, partnership, corporation, or other entity that owns or operates a chronic dialysis clinic for which a license has been issued, without respect to whether the person or entity itself directly holds that license.

(3) "Health care quality improvement costs" means costs, other than direct patient care services costs, that are related to the provision of care to chronic dialysis patients and that are actually expended for goods or services in California that are required to maintain, access or exchange electronic health information, to support health information technologies, to train non-managerial chronic dialysis clinic staff engaged in direct patient care, and to provide patient-centered education and counseling. Additional costs may be identified by the department through regulation, provided that such costs are actually spent on services offered at the chronic dialysis clinic to chronic dialysis patients and are spent on activities that are designed to improve health quality and to increase the likelihood of desired health outcomes in ways that are capable of being objectively measured and of producing verifiable results and achievements.

(4) "Payer" means the person or persons who paid or are financially responsible for payments for a treatment provided to a particular patient, and may include the patient or other individuals, primary insurers, secondary insurers, and other entities, including Medicare and any other federal, state, county, city, or other local government payer.

(5) "Treatment" means each instance when the chronic dialysis clinic provides services to a patient.

(6) "Treatment revenue" for a particular fiscal year means all amounts actually received and estimated realizable revenue for treatments provided in that fiscal year. Estimated realizable revenue shall be calculated in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, and shall be a reasonable estimate based on (i) contractual terms for patients covered under commercial healthcare plans with which the governing entity or clinics have formal agreements; (ii) revenue from Medicare, Medicaid, and Medi-Cal based on rates set by statute or regulation, and estimates of amounts ultimately collectible from government payers, commercial healthcare plan secondary coverage, patients, and other payers; and (iii) historical collection experience. SEC. 7. Section 1226.8 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

1226.8 (a) A chronic dialysis clinic shall not discriminate with respect to offering or providing care, and shall not refuse to offer or provide care, to patients on the basis of the payer for treatment provided to a patient, including but not limited to on the basis that the payer is a patient, private payer or insurer, Medi-Cal, Medicaid, or Medicare.

(b) A chronic dialysis clinic shall not terminate, abridge, modify, or fail to perform under any agreement to provide services to patients covered by Medi-Cal, Medicaid, or Medicare on the basis of requirements imposed by this chapter.

SEC. 8. Section 1266.3 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read:

1266.3. It is the intent of the People that California taxpayers not be financially responsible for implementation and enforcement of the Kidney Dialysis Patient Protection Act. In order to effectuate that intent, when calculating, assessing, and collecting fees imposed on chronic dialysis clinics pursuant to Section 1266, the department shall take into account all costs associated with implementing and enforcing Sections 1226.4, 1226.7, 1226.8, 1240.1, or 1240.2.

SEC. 9. Section 1228 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to read:

1228. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (c), every clinic for which a license or special permit has been issued shall be periodically inspected. The *Except as provided in Section 1226.4*, *the* frequency of inspections shall depend upon the type and complexity of the clinic or special service to be inspected. Inspections shall be conducted no less often than once every three years and as often as necessary to ensure the quality of care being provided.

(b) (1) During inspections, representatives of the department shall offer any advice and assistance to the clinic as they deem appropriate. The department may contract with local health departments for the assumption of any of the department's responsibilities under this chapter. In exercising this authority, the local health department shall conform to the requirements of this chapter and to the rules, regulations, and standards of the department.

(2) The department shall reimburse local health departments for services performed pursuant to this section, and these payments shall not exceed actual cost. Reports of each inspection shall be prepared by the representative conducting it upon forms prepared and furnished by the department and filed with the department.

(c) This section shall not apply to any of the following:

(1) A rural health clinic.

ţ

(2) A primary care clinic accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC), or any other accrediting organization recognized by the department.

(3) An ambulatory surgical center.

(4) An end stage renal disease facility.

(5)

A comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility that is certified to participate either in the Medicare program under Title XVIII (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1395 et seq.) of the federal Social Security Act, or the medicaid program under Title XIX (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1396 et seq.) of the federal Social Security Act, or both.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (2) of subdivision (c), the department shall retain the authority to inspect a primary care clinic pursuant to Section 1227, or as necessary to ensure the quality of care being provided.

SEC. 10. Nothing in this act is intended to affect health facilities licensed pursuant to subdivision (a), (b), or (f) of Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code.

SEC. 11. The State Department of Public Health shall issue regulations necessary to implement this act no later than 180 days following its effective date.

SEC. 12. Pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 10 of Article II of the California Constitution, this Act may be amended either by a subsequent measure submitted to a vote of the people at a statewide election; or by a statute validly passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor, but only to further the purposes of the Act.

SEC. 13. The provisions of this act are severable. If any provision of this act or its application is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.