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December 7, 2005

Initiative Coordinator

Tricia Knight QﬁCE, VGO

Office of the Attorney General DEC & 8 2005
State of California INITIATIVE COORDINATOR
PO Box 944255 ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Re: Proponent’s request to submit amended text for
Proposed Initiative File No. SA2005R¥F(0132

Dear Tricia Knight:

I wish to submit an amended text for the Constitutional Amendment ballot
measure, File No. SA2005RF0132, which I, the proponent, filed with you, at the
Department of Justice at 1300 I Street in Sacramento, on Wednesday, November
30, 2005 with $200.00 and a request that your office prepare a Title and Summary.

A copy of the complete text of the initiative, which includes the
amendments, is enclosed, as required.

These substantive amendments are being submitted within 15 days following
receipt of the original text of this initiative by your office.

Should you have any questions or require additional information, please
contact Mr. Paul E. Laubacher by telephone at (916) 381-7094.

Thank you for your attention to this matter

Very Truly Yours,

Paul E. Laubacher, R.N.



AL RHOI32,
DT, 3)-S

INITIATIVE MEASURE TO BE SUBMITTED DIRECTLY TO VOTERS

The Attorney General of California has prepared the following title and
summary of the chief purposes and points of the proposed measure:

(Insert 100 word title and summary)

To the Honorable Secretary of State of California:

We the undersigned, registered, qualified voters of California, residents of the
afore-described County (or City and County), on the signature page of this
petition section, hereby propose an amendment to the Constitution of the
State of California relating to parental notification and personal consent prior
to the performance of an abortion on a pregnant unemancipated minor and
petition the Secretary of State to submit the same to the voters of California
for their adoption or rejection at the next succeeding general election or at
any special statewide election held prior to the general election or otherwise
provided by law. The proposed amendment reads as follows:

SECTION 1. Title

This amendment shall be known and may be cited as the Parents' Right to
Know and Child Protection Initiative.

SECTION 2. Declaration of Findings and Purposes

The People of California have a special and compelling interest in and
responsibility for protecting the health and well-being of children, ensuring that
parents are properly informed of potential health-related risks and medical
decisions involving their children, and promoting and enabling parental care and
responsibility.

SECTION 3. Parental Notification

Section 32 of Article 1 of the California Constitution is added to read:



SEC. 32 (a) For purposes of this Section, the following terms shall be
defined to mean:

(1) “Abortion” means the use of any means to terminate the pregnancy of an
unemancipated minor known to be pregnant except for the purpose of producing a
live birth. “Abortion” shall not include the use of any contraceptive drug or
device.

(2) “Medical emergency" means a condition which, on the basis of the
physician's good-faith clinical judgment, so complicates the medical condition of a
pregnant unemancipated minor as to necessitate the immediate abortion of her
pregnancy to avert her death or for which a delay will create serious risk of
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function.

(3) "Notice" means a written notification, signed and dated by a physician
or his or her agent and addressed to a parent or guardian of an unemancipated
minor, informing the parent or guardian that she is pregnant and that she has
requested an abortion.

(4) "Parent or guardian" means a person who, at the time notice or waiver is
required under this Section, is either a parent if both parents have legal custody, or
the parent or person having legal custody, or the legal guardian of an
unemancipated minor.

(5) "Unemancipated minor" means a female under the age of 18 years who
has not entered into a valid marriage and is not on active duty with the armed
services of the United States and has not received a declaration of emancipation
under state law. For the purposes of this Section, pregnancy does not emancipate a
female under the age of 18 years.

(6) "Physician" means any person authorized under the statutes and
regulations of the State of California to perform an abortion upon an
unemancipated minor.

(b) Notwithstanding Article 1, Section 1, or any other provision of this
Constitution or law to the contrary and except in a medical emergency as provided
for in subdivision (f), a physician shall not perform an abortion upon a pregnant
unemancipated minor until the physician or the physician's agent has provided
written notice to her parent or guardian personally as provided for in subdivision
(c) and a reflection period of at least forty-eight (48) hours has elapsed after
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personal delivery of notice; or until the physician can presume that notice has been
delivered by mail as provided in subdivision (d) and a reflection period of at least
forty-eight (48) hours has elapsed after presumed delivery of notice by mail; or
until the physician or the physician's agent has received a valid written waiver of
notice as provided for in subdivision (e); or until the physician has received a copy
of a waiver of notification from the court as provided in subdivision (h) or (i) or (j).
A copy of any notice or waiver shall be retained with the unemancipated minor's
medical records. The physician or the physician's agent shall inform the
unemancipated minor that her parent or guardian may receive notice as provided
for in this Section.

(c) The written notice shall be delivered to the parent or guardian personally by
the physician or the physician's agent unless delivered by mail as provided in
subdivision (d). A form for the notice shall be prescribed by the Department of
Health Services. The notice form shall be bilingual, in English and Spanish, and
also available in English and each of the other languages in which California
Official Voter Information Guides are published.

(d) The written notice may be delivered by certified mail addressed to the parent
or guardian at the parent's or guardian's last known address with return receipt
requested and restricted delivery to the addressee. To help ensure timely notice, a
copy of the written notice shall also be sent at the same time by first class mail to
the parent or guardian. Notice can only be presumed to have been delivered under
the provisions of this subdivision at noon of the second day after the written notice
sent by certified mail was postmarked, not counting any days on which regular
mail delivery does not take place.

(e) Notice of an unemancipated minor’s intent to obtain an abortion and the
reflection period of at least forty-eight (48) hours may be waived by her parent or
guardian. The waiver must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Department
of Health Services, signed by a parent or guardian, dated, and notarized. The
parent or guardian shall specify on the form that the waiver is valid for 30 days, or
until a specified date, or until the minor’s eighteenth birthday. The written waiver
need not be notarized if the parent or guardian personally delivers it to the
physician or the physician's agent. The form shall include the following statement:
"WARNING. It is a crime to knowingly provide false information to a
physician or a physician's agent for the purpose of inducing a physician or a
physician's agent to believe that a waiver of notice has been provided by a
parent or guardian." The waiver form shall be bilingual, in English and Spanish,
and also available in English and each of the other languages in which California



Official Voter Information Guides are published. For each abortion performed on
an unemancipated minor pursuant to this subdivision, the physician or the
physician’s agent must receive a separate original written waiver that shall be
retained with the unemancipated minor’s medical records.

(f) Notice shall not be required under this Section if the attending physician
certifies in the unemancipated minor's medical records the medical indications
supporting the physician's good-faith clinical judgment that the abortion is
necessary due to a medical emergency.

(g) Notice shall not be required under this Section if waived pursuant to this
subdivision and subdivisions (h) or (i) or (j). If the pregnant unemancipated minor
elects not to permit notice to be given to a parent or guardian, she may file a
petition with the juvenile court. If, pursuant to this subdivision, an unemancipated
minor seeks to file a petition, the court shall assist the minor or person designated
by the minor in preparing the documents required pursuant to this Section. The
petition shall set forth with specificity the minor's reasons for the request. The
court shall ensure that the minor's identity be kept confidential and that all court
proceedings be sealed. No filing fee shall be required for filing a petition. The
unemancipated minor shall appear personally in the proceedings in juvenile court
and may appear on her own behalf or with counsel of her own choosing. The court
shall, however, advise her that she has a right to court-appointed counsel upon
request. The court shall appoint a guardian ad litem for her. The hearing shall be
held by 5 p.m. on the second court day after filing the petition unless extended at
the written request of the unemancipated minor, her guardian ad litem, or her
counsel. Ifthe guardian ad litem requests an extension, that extension may not be
granted for more than one court day without the consent of the unemancipated
minor or her counsel. The unemancipated minor shall be notified of the date, time,
and place of the hearing on the petition. Judgment shall be entered within one
court day of submission of the matter. The judge shall order a record of the
evidence to be maintained, including the judge's written factual findings and legal
conclusions supporting the decision.

(h) (1) If the judge finds, by clear and convincing evidence, that the
unemancipated minor is sufficiently mature and well-informed to decide whether
to have an abortion, the judge shall authorize a waiver of notice of a parent or
guardian.

(2) If the judge finds, by clear and convincing evidence, that notice to a
parent or guardian is not in the best interests of the unemancipated minor, the judge
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shall authorize a waiver of notice. If the finding that notice to a parent or guardian
is not in the best interests of the minor is based on evidence of physical, sexual, or
emotional abuse, the court shall ensure that such evidence is brought to the
attention of the appropriate county child protective agency.

(3) If the judge does not make a finding specified in subdivision (h)(1) or
(h)(2), the judge shall deny the petition.

(1) If the judge fails to rule within the time period specified in subdivision (g)
and no extension was requested and granted, the petition shall be deemed granted
and the notice requirement shall be waived.

() The unemancipated minor may appeal the judgment of the juvenile court at
any time after the entry of judgment. The Judicial Council shall prescribe, by rule,
the practice and procedure on appeal and the time and manner in which any record
on appeal shall be prepared and filed and may prescribe forms for such
proceedings. These procedures shall require that the hearing shall be held within
three court days of filing the notice of appeal. The unemancipated minor shall be
notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing. Judgment shall be entered
within one court day of submission of the matter. The appellate court shall ensure
that the unemancipated minor's identity be kept confidential and that all court
proceedings be sealed. No filing fee shall be required for filing an appeal.
Judgment on appeal shall be entered within one court day of submission of the
matter.

(k) The Judicial Council shall prescribe, by rule, the practice and procedure for
petitions for waiver of parental notification, hearings, and entry of judgment as it
deems necessary and may prescribe forms for such proceedings. Each court shall
provide annually to the Judicial Council, in a manner to be prescribed by the
Judicial Council to ensure confidentiality of the unemancipated minors filing
petitions, a report of the number of petitions filed, the number of petitions granted
under subdivisions (h)(1) or (h)(2), deemed granted under subdivision (i), denied
under subdivision (h)(3), and granted and denied under subdivision (j), said reports
to be publicly available unless the Judicial Council determines that the data
contained in individual reports should be aggregated by county before being made
available to the public in order to preserve the confidentiality of the unemancipated
minors filing petitions.

(1) The Department of Health Services shall prescribe forms for the reporting of
abortions performed on unemancipated minors by physicians. The report forms
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shall not identify the unemancipated minor or her parent(s) or guardian by name or
request other information by which the unemancipated minor or her parent(s) or
guardian might be identified. The forms shall include the date of the procedure
and the unemancipated minor’s month and year of birth, the duration of the
pregnancy, the type of abortion procedure, the numbers of the unemancipated
minor’s previous abortions and deliveries if known, and the facility where the
abortion was performed. The forms shall also indicate whether the abortion was
performed after personal delivery of a notice, pursuant to subdivision (c); or was
an abortion performed after presumed delivery of a notice by mail, pursuant to
subdivision (d); or was an abortion performed after receiving a waiver of notice,
pursuant to subdivision (e); or was an abortion performed without notice, pursuant
to subdivision (f); or was an abortion performed after receiving any judicial
waiver of notice, pursuant to subdivisions (h), (i), or (J).

(m) The physician who performs an abortion on an unemancipated minor shall
within one month file a dated and signed report concerning it with the Department
of Health Services on forms prescribed pursuant to subdivision (1). The identity of
the physician shall be kept confidential and shall not be subject to disclosure under
the California Public Records Act.

(n) The Department of Health Services shall compile an annual statistical report
from the information specified in subdivision (1). The annual report shall not
include the identity of any physician who filed a report as required by subdivision
(m). The compilation shall include statistical information on the numbers of
abortions by month and by county where performed, the minors' ages, the duration
of the pregnancies, the types of abortion procedures, the numbers of prior abortions
or deliveries where known, and the numbers of abortions performed after personal
delivery of a notice, pursuant to subdivision (c); the numbers of abortions
performed after presumed delivery of a notice by mail, pursuant to subdivision (d);
the numbers of abortions performed after a waiver of notice, pursuant to
subdivision (e); the numbers of abortions performed without notice, pursuant to
subdivision (f); and the numbers of abortions performed after any judicial waivers,
pursuant to (h), (i), or (j). The annual statistical report shall be made available to
county public health officials, members of the legislature, the governor, and the
public.

(0) Any person who performs an abortion on an unemancipated minor and in so
doing knowingly or negligently fails to comply with the provisions of this Section
shall be liable for damages in a civil action brought by the unemancipated minor,
her legal representative, or by a parent or guardian wrongfully denied notification.



A person shall not be liable under this Section if the person establishes by written
evidence that the person relied upon evidence sufficient to convince a careful and
prudent person that the representations of the unemancipated minor or other
persons regarding information necessary to comply with this Section were bona
fide and true. At any time prior to the rendering of a final judgment in an action
brought under this subdivision, the parent or guardian may elect to recover, in lieu
of actual damages, an award of statutory damages in the amount of $10,000. In
addition to any damages awarded under this subdivision, the plaintiff shall be
entitled to an award of reasonable attorney fees. Nothing in this Section shall
abrogate, limit, or restrict the common law rights of parents or guardians, or any
right to relief under any theory of liability that any person or any state or local
agency may have under any statute or common law for any injury or damage,
including any legal, equitable, or administrative remedy under federal or state law,
against any party, with respect to injury to an unemancipated minor from an
abortion.

(p) Other than an unemancipated minor who is the patient of a physician, or
other than the physician or the physician's agent, any person who knowingly
provides false information to a physician or a physician's agent for the purpose of
inducing the physician or the physician's agent to believe that pursuant to this
Section notice has been or will be delivered, or that a waiver of notice has been
obtained, or that an unemancipated minor patient is not an unemancipated minor, is
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.

(q) Notwithstanding any notices delivered pursuant to subdivisions (c¢) or (d) or
waivers received pursuant to subdivisions (e), (h), (i), or (j), except where the
particular circumstances of a medical emergency or her own mental incapacity
precludes obtaining her consent, a physician shall not perform or induce an
abortion upon an unemancipated minor except with the consent of the
unemancipated minor herself.

(r) Notwithstanding any notices delivered pursuant to subdivisions (c) or (d) or
waivers received pursuant to subdivisions (e), (h), (i), or (j), an unemancipated
minor who is being coerced by any person through force, threat of force, or
threatened or actual deprivation of food or shelter to consent to undergo an
abortion may apply to the juvenile court for relief. The court shall give the matter
expedited consideration and grant such relief as may be necessary to prevent such
coercion.
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(s) This Section shall not take effect until 90 days after the election in which it is
approved. The Judicial Council shall, within these 90 days, prescribe the rules,
practices, and procedures and prepare and make available any forms it may
prescribe as provided in subdivision (k). The Department of Health Services shall,

within these 90 days, prepare and make available the forms prescribed in
subdivisions (c), (e), and (1).

(t) If any one or more provision, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase or word of
this Section or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is found to be
unconstitutional or invalid, the same is hereby declared to be severable and the
balance of this Section shall remain effective notwithstanding such
unconstitutionality or invalidity. Each provision, subdivision, sentence, clause,
phrase or word of this Section would have been approved by voters irrespective of
the fact that any one or more provision, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, or
word might be declared unconstitutional or invalid.

(u) Except for the rights, duties, privileges, conditions, and limitations
specifically provided for in this Section, nothing in this Section shall be construed
to grant, secure, or deny any other rights, duties, privileges, conditions, and
limitations relating to abortion or the funding thereof.



