
 August 11, 2011 
Initiative  11-0016 

 
 

The Attorney General of California has prepared the following title and summary of the chief purpose and 
points of the proposed measure: 

PROHIBITS ABORTIONS FOR FEMALES UNDER 18 WITHOUT PARENTAL 

NOTIFICATION AND WAITING PERIOD.  INITIATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT.  

Changes California Constitution to prohibit abortion for unemancipated minor until 48 hours after 

physician notifies her parent/legal guardian in writing.  Provides exceptions for medical emergency, 

parental waiver, or parental abuse documented by notarized statement from law enforcement, protective 

services, or certain adult relatives.  Permits judge to waive notice if minor appears personally in court and 

proves maturity or waiver is in her best interest.  Requires physicians to report specific abortion 

information to Department of Public Health.  Violating physicians subject to suit for 12 years.  Summary 

of estimate by Legislative Analyst and Director of Finance of fiscal impact on state and local government:  

Potential unknown net state costs of several million dollars annually for health and social services 

programs, court administration, and state health agency administration combined.  (11-0016.) 

 


