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CA DOJ OGVP Data Reports: www.oag.ca.gov/ogvp/data



Overall Firearm Death Rates: California vs. Rest of US

Source: OGVP analysis of age-adjusted firearm mortality data per 100,000 from CDC WONDER for 1993-2023 (2023 data preliminary).

In 2019, CA 
had its lowest 
gun death 
rate ever 
recorded for 
the state in 
CDC records
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Firearm Homicide Rates for Youth Under 25: California vs. Rest of US

Source: OGVP analysis of age-adjusted firearm homicide rates per 100,000 for victims under 25 from CDC WONDER for 1993-2023 (2023 data preliminary).

In 1993, CA had 
the 3rd highest 
youth gun 
homicide rate 
out of all 50 
states
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Firearm Homicide Rates for Female Victims: California vs. Rest of US

Source: OGVP analysis of age-adjusted female victim firearm homicide data per 100,000 from CDC WONDER for 1993-2023 (2023 data preliminary).
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Firearm Homicide Rates for Children Under 15: California vs. Rest of US

Source: OGVP analysis of crude (non-age adjusted) firearm homicide data per 100,000 from CDC WONDER for 1993-2023 (2023 data preliminary).
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California’s Array of 
9 Court Protection Order Options 

To Prevent Gun Violence



Terminology
• “Protection Order” or “Restraining Order”: California law generally uses these terms 

interchangeably for processes through which people can request that a court order 
someone to comply with legally mandatory safety rules and requirements in order to 
prevent violence, abuse, and other harms. 

• “Petitioner”: The person who starts the court case by requesting a 
protection/restraining order (typically by filing standard court forms). 

• “Respondent”: The person the protection order case is filed against (Typically, the 
person from whom protection is sought).

• “Protected Person”: The specific person or people who receive protection from the 
court protection order. 

• “Restrained Person”: A respondent the court has issued a protection order against. 



Terminology
Emergency Orders: In some emergency situations, law enforcement can obtain immediate 
court protection orders (often at the scene of an incident) by calling a designated judge. 

• Very short-term: Up to 7 days for most emergency orders, 21 days for emergency GVROs

Temporary Orders: In some cases, petitioners can obtain short-term protection orders 
based on sworn statements showing need for urgent protections prior to a full court hearing. 

• Courts generally required to grant or deny quickly, by next business day.
• Short-term: Typically lasts up to 21 days
• Petitions for DVROs generally automatically ask for a temporary DVRO; for other types of 

orders petitioner typically has option to request a temporary order.

Final Orders: Longer-term order issued after court has provided the respondent with 
notice and opportunity to appear at hearing.

• Longer-term: For most orders, lasts up to 5 years 
• Restrained party can petition to modify or terminate the order before it expires
• Petitioners can petition to modify or extend/renew the order before it expires



CA’s 9 court protection orders to prevent gun violence include:

o Gun Violence Restraining Orders (aka Extreme Risk Protection Orders)
o Domestic Violence Orders
o Civil Harassment Orders
o Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Orders
o Workplace Violence Orders
o Postsecondary School Violence Orders
o Emergency Protective Orders 
o Juvenile Court Orders
o Criminal Court Orders

• In California, ALL of these court orders generally prohibit the restrained 
party from accessing firearms and ammunition while the court order is in 
effect. They can all increase survivor safety & help prevent gun violence.

• All but the Gun Violence Restraining Order offer additional safety 
protections for specific protected people named in the court’s order.



1.  Who can petition a court for the protection order? 

2.  Who does the order protect?

3.  What types of safety rules and protections can the court 
include in its protection order? 

4. How long can the protection order last?

Key Differences between Court Protection Orders in CA
 



“Pathways to Safety” Report: CA’s Nine Court Protection Orders to Prevent Gun Violence



1.  Presumptively, courts must include firearm restrictions in protection orders issued 
against individuals found to have engaged in violent, abusive, or dangerous conduct.

2. Protection orders are accessible (free to file petition and free service by law 
enforcement in cases involving violent, abusive, or dangerous conduct).

3. Restrained party must relinquish to law enforcement or licensed gun dealer any 
firearms in their possession or subject to their control within 24 hours and provide 
verification to the court within 48 hours. 

4. Restrained party blocked from passing background checks if they attempt to acquire 
other weapons. 

Key Commonalities
 



The GVRO is by far the narrowest protection order option available in California. 

No protected party: Except for the GVRO, every other type of protection order in CA is 
issued to protect specific named individuals who have been targeted with threats, violence, 
or abuse.

Limited safety provisions: Except for the GVRO, every other type of protection order can 
include a much broader range of personalized safety rules designed to protect specific 
people in danger, which may include (e.g.):

The Unique GVRO (Limitations) 

o Firearm/weapon restrictions
o Personal Conduct orders (prohibiting abusive conduct, orders prohibiting or limiting 

any communications or other contact with protected person)
o Stay Away Orders
o Mandatory counseling
o Child custody/visitation
o Move out of protected person’s residence
o Pay costs caused by violence, abuse
o Many more



Despite its more limited protections, the GVRO plays a unique and essential role. 
It is generally the only protection order process available in CA in cases where an individual 
demonstrates a significant but generalized danger to themselves or to groups of people/the public at 
large, instead of to specific identifiable victims.

The Unique GVRO (Strengths) 

As a result, GVROs/ERPOs often a particularly important intervention option for cases involving:
• Mass shooting prevention
• Hate-motivated threats to groups
• Threats to locations or to harm people generally
• Cases involving danger of self-harm only 
• Cases where targeted survivor does not feel safe/able to pursue other protection orders or 

interventions themselves
• Temporary stopgap before other firearm restrictions/interventions can be pursued
• Additional layer of protection in addition to other court protection orders or interventions

• FBI study on active shooters: 
A majority of active shooters leaked intent to commit violence prior to their attack but 
that in many cases “what was communicated was a more general goal of doing harm to 
others… without a particular person or group in mind.”



Gun Violence Restraining Orders (GVROs)

See Cal. Penal Code §§ 18150, 18170, 18190; GV-100 Form (Petition for Gun Violence Restraining Order), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gv100.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Gun 
Violence Restraining Orders in California,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/GV-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: Law enforcement (98% of petitioners) and respondent's close family members, 
spouse or intimate partner, or employer. 

Certain other people also eligible to petition if they have had substantial and regular interactions 
with respondent for at least 1 year (including recent roommate/household member, teacher/employees at school 
respondent attended, co-workers, more distant family members, and people who have a had a child with the respondent).

Who the Order Protects: There is no protected party.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions only.

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for emergency or temporary orders. Between 1-5 years for final 
orders. 

0.9% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



GVROs Issued in CA By Year

Source: DOJ OGVP Data Report “Pathways to Safety: California’s Nine Court Protection Orders to Prevent Gun Violence” (Jun. 2024).

2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
Final GVROs 10 8 93 295 298 341 455 571
Temporary GVROs 23 29 203 430 429 433 606 973
Emergency GVROs 52 67 128 385 522 616 846 1,175
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Criminal Protective Order (33.0%)

Domestic Violence Restraining Order (32.7%)

Emergency Protective Order (17.1%)

Civil Harassment Restraining Order (12.2%)

Elder/Dep. Adult Abuse Restraining Order (2.6%)

Juvenile Court Restraining Order (1.2%)

Gun Violence Restraining Order (0.9%)

Workplace Violence Restraining Order (0.7%)

Postsecondary School Violence Restraining Order 
(0.0%)

CA Protection/Restraining Orders with Firearm Provisions in 2023



Domestic Violence Restraining Orders (DVROs)

See California Fam. Code § 6200, et seq.; Form DV-100 “Request for Domestic Violence Restraining Order,” www.courts.ca.gov/documents/dv100.pdf; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Domestic 
Violence Restraining Orders in California,” selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/DV-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: Survivors of violence, threats, and other abusive and harmful conduct 
who need protections from a current or former intimate partner, close family member, 
or household member. 

Who the Order Protects: The petitioner-survivor and their family/ household members 

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & broadest range of other safety 
protections  

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 5 years for final orders. 

32.7% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders

See Cal. Welf. & Inst. Code § 15657.03; EA-100 Form (Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ea100.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Elder or Dependent 
Adult Abuse Restraining Orders in California,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/EA-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: Survivors of violence, threats, and other abusive and harmful conduct who are 
at least 65 years old, or have certain mental or physical limitations, and who need protections from 
someone who harmed or abused them. These orders are also available to certain other people 
seeking protections on behalf of an abused elder or dependent adult, such as conservators, 
guardians, or county protective service agencies. 

Who the Order Protects: The survivor of elder/dependent adult abuse (who is sometimes the 
petitioner), and the survivor's family, household members, and/or conservator.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & broad range of other safety protections 

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 5 years for final orders. 

2.6% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 

 



Civil Harassment Restraining Orders 

See Cal. Code of Civil Procedure § 527.6; CH-100 Form (Request for Civil Harassment Restraining Orders), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/ch100.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Civil 
Harassment Restraining Orders in California,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/CH-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: Survivors seeking protections from any other person who harmed, 
threatened, stalked, or abused them, regardless of relationship (if any), including:

• Current or former coworker, classmate, neighbor, roommate, customer
• More distant family (cousins, aunt/uncle, nephew/niece)
• Acquaintance or stranger 

Who the Order Protects: The petitioner-survivor and their family/ household members 

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections.  

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 5 years for final orders. 

12.2% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



Workplace Violence Restraining Orders

See Cal. Code of Civil Procedure § 527.8; WV-100 Form (Petition for Workplace Violence Restraining Orders), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/wv100.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Workplace Violence 
Restraining Orders in California,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/WV-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: Employers seeking protections for one or more employees from someone who 
has been violent or made threats of violence connected to the workplace. 

Starting in 2025, collective bargaining representatives will also be eligible to petition for these 
orders to protect employees they represent. 

Who the Order Protects: Employees of the petitioner (including volunteer, independent 
contractors, board of directors, public officers) who have experienced violence/ threats of violence, 
other employees & those employees' family/household members. 

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections.  

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 3 years for final orders. 

0.7% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



Postsecondary School Violence Restraining Orders

See Cal. Code of Civil Procedure § 527.85 and 527.9; SV-100 Form (Petition for Private Postsecondary School Violence Restraining Orders), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/sv100.pdf.; California Courts Self-
Help Guide: “School Violence Restraining Orders in California,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/SV-restraining-order.

Who Can Petition: School administrative or safety officials at postsecondary (after high school) 
institutions of higher education seeking protections for students from someone who has been 
violent or made credible threats of violence connected to the school campus or facilities.

Who the Order Protects: Adult students at petitioner's educational institution who have 
experienced credible threats of violence, similarly situated students, and these students' family/ 
household members.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections  

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 3 years for final orders. 

0.001% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



Emergency Protective Orders to Protect Survivors

See Cal. Family Code §§ 6240-6275, 6389; Penal Code §§ 646.91, 18125; EPO-001 Form (Emergency Protective Order), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/epo001.pdf.; EPO-002 Form (Gun Violence 
Emergency Protective Order), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/epo002.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Guide to Protective Orders,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/protective-orders.

Who Can Petition: Law enforcement seeking immediate short-term protections in emergency 
cases (often virtually/orally from a designated on-call judge while officer is at the scene of an 
incident) upon showing immediate and present danger and that an emergency order is necessary to 
prevent harm. 

Who the Order Protects: Survivors in immediate and present danger of domestic violence, elder 
or dependent adult abuse, child abuse or abduction, or threatening conduct defined as stalking.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections  

It Lasts: Up to 5 court days or 7 calendar days, whichever occurs first. 

16.7% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023. 



Emergency Protective Orders—Gun Violence Restraining Order Type

See Cal. Family Code §§ 6240-6275, 6389; Penal Code §§ 646.91, 18125; EPO-001 Form (Emergency Protective Order), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/epo001.pdf.; EPO-002 Form (Gun Violence 
Emergency Protective Order), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/epo002.pdf.; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Guide to Protective Orders,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/protective-orders.

Who Can Petition: Law enforcement seeking immediate short-term firearm restrictions in 
emergency cases (often virtually/orally from a designated on-call judge while officer is at the scene 
of an incident) upon showing immediate and present danger that someone will injure themselves or 
another person by having the legal ability to access or acquire firearms and that an emergency order 
is necessary to prevent harm. 

Who the Order Protects: Like other GVRO/ERPOs, there is no protected party.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions only.

It Lasts: Up to 21 days. 

0.4% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023 (but about half 
of all GVROs). 



Juvenile Court Restraining Orders

See Cal. Fam. Code § 6389; Cal. Welf. and Inst. Code §§ 213.5, 213.7, 304, 345, 362.4, 726.5; Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.620, 5.625, 5.630; JV-245 Form (Request for Juvenile Violence Restraining Order), 
courts.ca.gov/documents/jv245.pdf; JV-258 Form (Request for Juvenile Restraining Order Against a Child), courts.ca.gov/documents/jv258.pdf.

Who Can Petition: People seeking protections either for or from a young person who is 
under the jurisdiction of a juvenile court in a juvenile dependency proceeding or juvenile 
justice (delinquency) case. 

Who the Order Protects: A juvenile under the jurisdiction of a juvenile court OR anyone who 
needs protection from a juvenile under the jurisdiction of a juvenile court.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections.

It Lasts: Up to 21 days for temporary orders. Up to 3 years for final orders.  

1.2% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023



Criminal Court Protective Orders

See Cal. Pen. Code §§ 136.2, 236.1(j), 273.5(j), 368(l), 646.9(k), 1203.097; CPO-Domestic Violence (CR-160 Form) and CPO-Other Than Domestic Violence (CR-161), https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/cr160.pdf and 
https://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/cr161.pdf; California Courts Self-Help Guide: “Guide to Protective Orders,” https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/protective-orders.

Who Can Petition: These orders may be issued by a court hearing a criminal case at the 
request of prosecuting attorneys, crime victims and witnesses, and by the court acting 
on its own motion, if the court believes that the victim or witness has been subject to, or 
is likely to be subject to, harm, intimidation, or dissuasion. 

Who the Order Protects: Victims or witnesses to a crime and their family members, often in 
cases involving domestic violence. In rarer cases, courts can issue CPOs with firearm/weapon 
provisions only, where there is no protected party.

Safety Provisions: Firearm/weapon provisions & many other safety protections. 

It Lasts: For duration of criminal trial, for duration of probation, or up to 10 years post-conviction.

33.0% of Protection Orders Issued in CA with Firearm Provisions in 2023 (but about half 
of GVROs/ERPOs). 



1. Survivors who need protection from any person should have a protection order process 
available to protect them from further harm. 

2. Other individuals should be empowered to seek protection orders on survivors’ behalf. And 
in some cases, courts should be required to issue protection orders on their own motion. 

3. The narrower GVRO process should be available to disarm people who are a significant 
danger to self or others when other broader protection orders are not available or 
appropriate (especially generalized threats of mass violence, threats to groups of people, or risk 
of suicide/self-harm). 

4. Presumptively, courts must include firearm restrictions in protection orders issued against 
individuals found to have engaged in violent, abusive, or dangerous conduct. 

5. Protection orders must be effectively implemented in practice, including service, firearm 
relinquishment requirements, and compliance review. These orders are not self-executing.

6. Respondents must be effectively blocked from both keeping and acquiring guns, 
ammunition, and ghost gun products. 

Protection Orders: Policy and Implementation Principles
 



Julia F. Weber, Esq., MSW
Consultant at GIFFORDS



Why and How We Do the Work



Implementation Toolkit fo1r Gun Saf1ety 
Laws 

JULIA WEBER I JULY 12, 2021 

Key components of effective implementation incllude: 

• [levelloping equitable and inclusive policies with diverse input 

• Clarifying purpose, goals, opportunities, and challenges 

• [)evelloping and documentii ng policies, practices, and procedures 

• Spreading the word through ,education, training, and public information sharing 

COMPONENTS 
OF EFFECTIVE 
IMPLEMENTATION 

61FFORDS 
~ 

https://giffords.org/lawcenter/report/implementation-toolkit-for-gun-safety-laws/



Responding to Community and Individual Needs

https://endinggv.org/



www.courts.ca.gov



Assisting Parties Through the Process
https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/restraining-
orders



Domestic Violence Restraining Orders



DVROs address firearms and other issues (child custody and more)



U.S. v. Rahimi & Relinquishment in California’s DVROs (SB 320)

• Provide information 
about how to 
relinquish

• Hold compliance 
hearings or review 
files after 48-hour 
requirement 
showing proof of 
relinquishment

• Report non-
compliance to law 
enforcement and 
prosecuting agencies



Civil Harassment



Workplace Violence 



Gun Violence Restraining Orders



800-INFO Sheets Are Critically Important





Michael Redding 
Special Assistant Attorney General



Protection Orders: The Role of Cal DOJ
 

The Roles of the Attorney General

Chief Law 
Officer

Constitutional 
Officer



Protection Orders: The Role of Cal DOJ
 



Protection Orders: The Role of Cal DOJ
 



Protection Orders: Laws – What You Need to Know
 

Effective January 1, 2022: 

SB 320 – Firearm Relinquishment in DVROs

1. 
Court determines 

Restrained 
Person has not 
relinquished a 

firearm

Court reports to 
law enforcement 
agency (LEA) and 

prosecutor 

LEA must take 
“all actions 

necessary” to 
retrieve the 

firearm

https://oag.ca.gov/ogvp/new-firearm-law#collapseFive2021


Protection Orders: Laws – What You Need to Know
 

Effective January 1, 2024: 

AB 818 (Petrie-Norris) – Service of Protective Orders 

Free and mandatory law enforcement service, when requested, of any 
domestic violence restraining order (DVRO) or juvenile restraining order 
(JVRO).

When serving a DVRO, JVRO, or GVRO, law enforcement officers must 
take into temporary custody any firearms from the Restrained Party 
that are seen in plain sight or found pursuant to a lawful search.  



Protection Orders: Laws – What You Need to Know
 

Effective January 1, 2026: 

SB 899: Service & Relinquishment for Other Orders

Extends to GVROs, Civil Harassment Orders, Workplace Violence and 
Postsecondary Violence Orders, Elder Abuse Restraining Orders, and 
Criminal Protective Orders: 
 - Free and mandatory law enforcement service, when requested
 - Required relinquishment of firearms found in plain sight/search
 - Court notification to prosecutors and LEAs when firearms are not 

relinquished



Protection Orders: New Laws – What You Need to Know
 

• January 1, 2024 
AB 92 – Prohibited Persons may not possess body armor
AB 723 – Relinquishment procedures in criminal cases; mandates 
LEA reporting to DOJ on APPS efforts

January 1, 2025
AB 2759 – Clarifies procedures for peace officer exemption
AB 2907 – Strengthens firearm relinquishment process in Criminal 
Protective Orders
AB 2917 – Clarifies risk factors courts consider when issuing GVROs
AB 3083 – Expands requirement that courts check Automated 
Firearms System in DV cases



Future Funding Opportunities

o Byrne SCIP (“State Crisis Intervention Program”) Grant 
(Administered by CA’s BSCC). 

o “Firearm Relinquishment Grant Program”
(Administered by CA’s Judicial Council, in future partnership with DOJ). 

o Local opportunities (e.g.: San Mateo County)

o Legislative or Congressional directed spending projects



THANK YOU FOR ATTENDING TODAY’S WEBINAR
Video and Presentation Materials Will Be Available At: oag.ca.gov/care/community-briefings
 Note: Please allow at least 2 weeks for the video to be uploaded.

Upcoming Events: 

CARE Community Briefing: Know Your Voting Rights
Wednesday, October 16, 2024
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM
Virtual Presentation
Register at: oag.ca.gov/care/community-briefings

Demystifying the DOJ: Office of Community Awareness, Response and Engagement
Wednesday, December 11, 2024
10:00- 11:00 AM 
Virtual Presentation
Register at: oag.ca.gov/care/demystifying-the-doj

Contact Us: care@doj.ca.gov
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