Reporting Elder Abuse

Everyone, not just mandated reporters, should
report elder abuse if they suspect it has occurred.

If in doubt, always report.

Reporting often leads to interventions that can
save property, money, dignity, or a life.

How to Report Elder Abuse

If a known or suspected instance of elder abuse
has occurred in a long-term care facility, like a
nursing home, residential care facility for the
elderly, or assisted living facility, the report
should be made to the local Long-Term Care
Ombudsman, the licensing agency (for nursing
homes, Licensing and Certification Program of
the California Department of Public Health, and
for residential care facilities and assisted living,
the Community Care Licensing Division of the
California Department of Social Services), local law
enforcement, and the Division of Medi-Cal Fraud
and Elder Abuse (DMFEA).

If the abuse has occurred outside of a long-term
care facility, reports should be made to the
local Adult Protective Services agency, the local
law enforcement, and the DMFEA.

The reporting person is protected from both
criminal and civil liability.

California Department of Justice

Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse
Hotline: (800) 722-0432
http://oag.ca.gov/dmfea

California Department of Public Health
Licensing and Certification Program
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/LCP/
Pages/LandCProgramHome.aspx

Call Center: (833) 422-4255

California Department of Social Services Reporting
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/reporting/report-fraud

Adult Protective Services: (833) 401-0832

California Long-Term Care Ombudsman Services
CRISIS Line: (800) 231-4024

If you suspect a person who is elderly or disabled is
being abused, please contact us at:

Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Phone: (916) 559-6180
Email: DMFEAoutreach@doj.ca.gov

Division of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse receives

75 percent of its funding from the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services under a grant award totaling E -
$69,244,976 for Federal fiscal year (FY) 2025. The remaining o
25 percent is funded by the State of California. FY 2025 is -

from October 1, 2024 through September 30, 2025.
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What You Should Know
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What is Elder Abuse?

Elder abuse is the abuse or neglect of anyone
65 years or older and includes physical abuse,
emotional abuse, financial abuse, and neglect.

Physical abuse includes:
Physical assault
Sexual assault
Unreasonable physical constraint

Inappropriate use of physical or
chemical restraint

Emotional abuse includes:

Verbal assaults, threats,
and intimidation

Subjection to fear, isolation, or emotional stress

Withholding emotional support
Confinement

Neglect includes:
Failure to aid with personal hygiene
Failure to provide clothing and shelter
Failure to provide medical care
Failure to protect from health or safety hazards
Failure to prevent malnutrition or dehydration
Deprivation of food or water

RECOGNIZING

The Warning Signs

What are the signs of abuse?

While these are common signs of abuse, it is
essential to be diligent and notice anything that
may indicate abuse.

Uncombed or matted hair
Unkempt or dirty appearance
Untreated medical conditions
Malnourishment or dehydration
Unexplained bruises or welts

Burns caused by scalding water,
cigarettes, or ropes

Any injury that reflects the shape of an
object, such as a belt, cord, or hand

Withdrawn attitude

Abnormal confusion or forgetfulness
Depression or anxiety

Fear of talking openly

Secretiveness

What is Financial Elder Abuse?

Financial elder abuse is any theft or embezzlement
of money or other property from an elder. Taking
money from a wallet, manipulating an elder to
turn over money, or using an elder’s debit card to
make purchases for oneself can all be considered
financial abuse. This is a serious form of abuse
as it can leave elders unable to provide for their
needs and fearful of what tomorrow will hold.

Some examples of financial elder abuse are:
» Stealing money

» Intercepting cash or checks

» Fraudulently convincing an elder to
hand over money

» Telemarketing fraud
» ldentity theft
» Predatory lending

» Home improvement scams

Are you a mandated reporter?

California law requires specific individuals, called
mandated reporters, to report suspected elder
abuse. This is a partial list of mandated reporters:
» Physicians and medical professionals

» Clergy

» Bank employees

» Employees of a healthcare facility

» Any individual assuming care, responsibility,
or custody of an elderly person

Mandated reporters who fail to report may
be guilty of a crime (California Welfare and
Institutions Code 15630).



