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TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE OFFICIAL REPORTS 

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 
State of California 

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN 
Attorney General 

: 
OPINION : No. 81-208 

: 
of : JULY 3, 1981 

: 
GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN : 

Attorney General : 
: 

Randy Saavedra : 
Deputy Attorney General : 

: 

The State Board of Control has requested an opinion on the following 
question: 

Under the equitable “common fund doctrine” is the state responsible 
for a proportionate share of attorney fees and costs for legal proceedings in which 
the state recovers money through a lien under Government Code section 13966(b) 
when the crime victim/claimant is the active litigant responsible for the recovery? 

CONCLUSION 

The state is not responsible for a proportionate share of attorney fees 
and costs for legal proceedings in which the state recovers money through a lien 
under Government Code section 13966(b) when the crime victim/claimant is the 
active litigant responsible for the recovery. 
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ANALYSIS 

Government Code section 13959 et seq. contains provisions under 
which a victim of crime who meets certain qualifications can receive financial 
assistance of up to $10,000 from the state. 

Government Code section 13966 provides a means by which the state 
can recover the amount of the assistance granted from any recovery obtained by the 
victim from the perpetrator of the crime. This section reads in full: 

“§ 13966. (a) The State of California shall be subrogated to the 
rights of the victim to whom cash payments are granted to the extent 
of the cash payments granted, less the amount of any fine imposed by 
the court on the perpetrator of the crime. Such subrogation rights shall 
be against the perpetrator of the crime or any person liable for the 
pecuniary loss. 

“(b) The state also shall be entitled to a lien on the judgment, 
award, or settlement, in the amount of such cash payments on any 
recovery made by or on behalf of the victim. The state may recover 
this amount in a separate action, or may intervene in an action brought 
by or on behalf of the victim. If a claim is filed within one year of the 
date of recovery, the state shall pay 25 percent of the amount of the 
recovery which is subject to a lien on the judgment, award, or 
settlement, to the county probation department or the victim 
responsible for recovery thereof from the perpetrator of the crime, 
provided the total amount of the lien is recovered. The remaining 75 
percent of the amount and any amount not claimed within one year 
pursuant to this section, shall be deposited in the Indemnity Fund. 

“(c) The board may compromise or settle and release any lien 
pursuant to this article if it is found that such action is in the best 
interest of the state or the collection would cause undue hardship upon 
the victim. 

“(d) In the event that the victim, his guardian, personal 
representative, estate, or survivors, or any of them, bring an action for 
damages against the person or persons liable for the injury or death 
giving rise to an award by the board under this article, notice of 
institution of legal proceedings, notice of settlement and all other 
notices required to be given to the judgment debtor pursuant to 
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Chapters 1 (commencing with Section 681) and 2 (commencing with 
Section 714) of Title 9 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure, shall 
be given to the board in Sacramento except in cases where the board 
specifies that notice shall be given to the Attorney General. All such 
notices shall be given by the attorney employed to bring the action for 
damages or by the victim, his guardian, personal representative, 
estate, or survivors, if no attorney is employed.” 

The victim/claimant is required by Board of Control regulations to 
bring legal action against the perpetrator of the crime if recovery is likely. 

“As a condition of the receipt of cash payments or assistance 
under this article, the victim shall assure the Board, under penalty of 
perjury, that a civil action for the losses sustained has been instituted, 
or will be instituted, against the perpetrator of the crime, if he is 
known to the victim. In the alternative, the victim must prove, to the 
satisfaction of the Board, that there is no likelihood of recovery from 
the perpetrator of the crime.” (2 CAC 649.10.) 

Section 13966 does not specifically provide for the deduction of any 
of the victim/litigant’s attorney fees or legal costs from the amount of the state’s 
lien. The question we have been asked to address is whether the state is responsible 
for reasonable pro rata share of the plaintiff’s attorney fees under the equitable 
“common fund doctrine.” In responding to this question we will examine the 
“common fund doctrine” and its applicability to a section 13966 lien. 

The “common fund doctrine” is an equitable rule under which the 
California courts have traditionally allowed attorney’s fees to be a surcharge on a 
common fund when the fees were reasonably expended to recover or protect the 
fund. (Quinn v. State of Calif. (1975) 15 Cal. 3d 162, representative cases cited 
therein.) 

“The bases of the equitable rule which permits surcharging a 
common fund with the expenses of its protection or recovery, 
including counsel fees, appear to be these: fairness to the successful 
litigant, who might otherwise receive no benefits because his recovery 
might be consumed by the expenses; correlative prevention of an 
unfair advantage to the others who are entitled to share in the fund and 
who should bear their share of the burden of its recovery; 
encouragement of the attorney for the successful litigant, who will be 
more willing to undertake and diligently prosecute proper litigation 
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for the protection or recovery of the fund if he is assured that he will 
be promptly and directly compensated should his efforts be 
successful.” (Estate of Stauffer (1959) 53 Cal. 2d 124, 132.) 

There are three common elements in cases to which the common fund 
doctrine has been applied: 

“(1) without the litigation there would be no recovery; 

“(2) the recovery was an available fund our of which the 
beneficiaries of the litigation would be paid; and 

“(3) the applicant seeking contribution in respect to costs and 
attorney fees was the sole ‘active litigant’ and as such obtained the 
recovery that provided the fund.” (Lindsey v. County of Los Angeles 
(1980) 109 Cal. App. 3d at p. 936.) 

These three elements are all present when a victim of crime who has 
received state aid under the victim’s assistance program litigates successfully 
against the person liable for causing the injury. Without litigation against the 
perpetrator of the crime the state could not recover the amounts paid the 
victim/claimant. The cash grants paid under the victim’s assistance program are not 
characterized as loans. There is no requirement that the claimant repay the amount 
granted regardless of his future economic status nor are there any provisions for the 
state to claim a lien on any of the victim’s future assets, with the exception of a 
recovery from the perpetrator of the crime. 

Second, if the victim is successful in his litigation, his recovery is an 
available fund out of which the state can be reimbursed under section 13966. 

Third, the question we are dealing with assumes the victim is the sole 
active litigant. (If the state takes an active part in the litigation through its own 
attorney the question of apportionment of attorney fees would not arise, even if the 
victim’s attorney did most of the work. The common fund theory requires 
apportionment only where a passive beneficiary takes no active part in the litigation; 
the court is not permitted to weigh the respective contributions. (In re Estate of Ott 
(1980) 99 Cal. App. 3d 613.)) 

The equitable theories which allow the award of attorney fees have 
been held to be applicable against the state. (Serrano v. Priest (1977) 20 Cal. 3d 25.) 
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Although this equitable doctrine may be applied without specific 
statutory authority (Kaiser Foundation Hospitals v. Workers Comp. Appeals Bd. 
(Calif. School for the Deaf) (1978) 83 Cal. App. 3d 413) it may not be applied where 
statutory language indicates a contrary legislative intent. The history of litigation 
surrounding Labor Code section 3850 et seq. illustrates this point. 

Labor Code section 3850 et seq. concerns the subrogation rights of an 
employer who has paid worker’s compensation benefits to an injured employee who 
has a cause of action against a third party tortfeasor. 

In Dobbs v. Stellar (1947) 30 Cal. 2d 496 the California Supreme 
Court held that the version of Labor Code section 3856 in existence in 1947,1 when 
examined with the surrounding statutory framework did not allow the equitable 
apportionment of attorney s fees between employer and employee when the 
employee was solely responsible for the recovery. Not only was there no statutory 
provision for the apportionment but the statutory scheme as a whole contemplated 
full recovery by the employer without deduction. For example, section 3854 
specifically allowed the employer who had prosecuted an action alone to deduct his 
attorney’s fee as well as his damages before paying the excess to the injured 
employee. The lack of a reciprocal provision in section 3856 was found to be 
significant. 

In 1949 the Legislature amended Labor Code sections 3854 and 3856 
in a manner which clearly required equitable apportionment of attorney’s fees 
regardless of whether the employer or the employee brought the action.2 (Stats. 

1 § 3856. The court shall first apply, out of the entire amount of any judgment for any 
damage recovered by the employee, a sufficient amount to reimburse the employer for the 
amount of his expenditures for compensation.  If the employer has not joined in the action 
or has not brought action, or if his action has not been consolidated, the court, on his 
application shall allow, as a first lien against the entire amount of any judgment for any 
damages recovered by the employee, the amount of the employers expenditures for 
compensation.” 

2 § 3854. If the action is prosecuted by the employer alone, evidence of any amount 
which the employer has paid or become obligated to pay by reason of the injury or death 
of the employee is admissible, and such expenditures or liability shall be considered as 
proximately resulting from such injury or death in addition to any other items of damage 
proximately resulting therefrom. After recouping himself for such special damages, 
together with a reasonable attorneys tee fixed by the court, which shall be based solely 
upon the services rendered by the employers attorney in effecting recovery for the benefit 
of the employee, the employee shall pay any excess to the injured employee or other person 
entitled thereto. 
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1949, ch. 120, §§ 1, 2.) 

The present version of Labor Code section 3856, added in 1959,3 left 

§ 3856. The court shall first apply, out of the entire amount of any judgment 
for any damage recovered by the employee a sufficient amount to reimburse the 
employer for the amount of his expenditures for compensation. If the employer 
has not joined in the action or has not brought action, or it his action has not 
been consolidated, the court, on his application shall allow, as a first lien against 
the entire amount of any judgment for any damages recovered by the employee, 
the amount of the employers expenditures for compensation, provided. 
however, that where the employer has failed to join in said action and to be 
represented therein by his own attorney, or where the employer has not made 
arrangements with the employee’s attorney to represent him in said action, the 
court shall fix a reasonable attorney’s fee, which shall be fixed as a share of the 
amount actually received by the employer, to be paid to the employee’s attorney 
on account of the service rendered by him in effecting recovery for the benefit 
of the employer, which said fee shall be deducted from any amounts due to the 
employer.” 
3 § 3856. Allocation of payments from judgment for damages 

“In the event of suit against such third party: 
“(a) If the action is prosecuted by the employer alone, the court shall first 

order paid from any judgment for damages recovered the reasonable litigation 
expenses incurred in preparation and prosecution of such action, together with 
a reasonable attorney’s fee which shall be based solely upon the services 
rendered by the employer’s attorney in effecting recovery both for the benefit 
of the employer and the employee. After the payment of such expenses and 
attorney’s fees, the court shall apply out of the amount of such judgment an 
amount sufficient to reimburse the employer for the amount of his expenditure 
for compensation together with any amounts to which he may be entitled as 
special damages under Section 3852 and shall order any excess paid to the 
injured employee or other person entitled thereto. 

“(b) If the action is prosecuted by the employee alone, the court shall first 
order paid from any judgment for damages recovered the reasonable litigation 
expenses incurred in preparation and prosecution of such action, together with 
a reasonable attorney’s fee which shall be based solely upon the services 
rendered by the employee’s attorney in effecting recovery both for the benefit 
of the employee and the employer.  After the payment of such expenses and 
attorney’s fee the court shall, on application of the employer, allow as a first 
lien against the amount of such judgment for damages, the amount of the 
employer’s expenditure for compensation together with any amounts to which 
he may be entitled as special damages under Section 3852. 

“(c) If the action is prosecuted both by the employee and the employer, in a 
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the right of the employee litigant to equitable apportionment somewhat less clear. 
However, the California Supreme Court held in Quinn v. State of Calif., supra, 15 
Cal. 3d 162 that the statute did still provide for apportionment. Thus, in a case in 
which the worker might well stand entitled to contribution toward his attorney’s fee 
absent any statutory provision, this court cannot interpret a statute which on its face 
calls for weighing of benefits and burdens, as barring apportionment of fees.” (Id., 
at p. 170, emphasis in original.) 

The Quinn court’s statement that contribution might well have been 
required in the absence of statutory provision has been relied on in subsequent cases 
to justify equitable apportionment in common fund cases where no statutory or 
contractual mandate exists. (E.g., Kaiser Foundation Hospitals v. Workers’ Comp. 
Appeals Bd. (Calif. School for the Deaf), supra, 83 Cal. App. 3d 413; Kaiser 
Foundation Hospital v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (Brennan) (1979) 91 Cal. App. 
3d 493; Lee v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (1976) 57 Cal. App. 3d 458.) 

In 1976, the year after the Supreme Court’s decision in Quinn, the 
Legislature added to the lien provision of section 13966 the requirement that 25 
percent of the amount of the recovery subject to the state’s lien be paid to the 
probation department or victim responsible for the recovery. (Stats. 1976, ch. 661, 
§ 1.) This amendment accomplished two things. Without specifically so stating, the 
Legislature provided a contribution that could be applied to the victim/litigant legal 
costs. In addition the amended statute specifically provided for the allocation of 100 

single action or in consolidated actions, and they are represented by the same 
agreed attorney or by separate attorneys, the court shall first order paid from 
any judgment for damages recovered, the reasonable litigation expenses 
incurred in preparation and prosecution of such action or actions, together with 
reasonable attorneys’ fees based solely on the services rendered for the benefit 
of both parties where they are represented by the same attorney, and where they 
are represented by separate attorneys, based solely upon the service rendered in 
each instance by the attorney in effecting recovery for the benefit of the party 
represented. After the payment of such expenses and attorneys’ fees the court 
shall apply out of the amount of such judgment for damages an amount 
sufficient to reimburse the employer for the amount of his expenditures for 
compensation together with any other amounts to which he may be entitled as 
special damages under Section 3852. 

“(d) The amount of reasonable litigation expenses and the amount of 
attorneys’ fees under subdivisions (a). (b) and (c) of this section shall be fixed 
by the court. Where the employer and employee are represented by separate 
attorneys they may propose to the court, for its consideration and determination, 
the amount and division of such expenses and fees.” 
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percent of the amount subject to the state’s lien by providing for the remaining 75 
percent of the amount to be deposited in the Indemnity Fund. Therefore, even if the 
25 percent paid to the victim/litigant was not intended as’ the states share of 
litigation costs, the Legislature has clearly precluded an equitable remedy by 
specifically directing the disposal of the entire amount leaving nothing for payment 
of attorney’s fees from the amount subject to the lien except the 25 percent allocated 
to the victim/litigant. 

The current version of section 13966, supra, as amended in 1980 
(Stats. 1980, ch. 1370, § 5) requires that the victim/litigant’s 25 percent of the state’s 
recovery be returned only if claimed and then will be paid only if the state has 
recovered the entire amount of its lien. Any amount not claimed will go into the 
Indemnity Fund. 

In summary, the equitable apportionment of attorneys’ fees is a 
doctrine that will be applied in appropriate circumstances in the absence of a 
contrary legislative intent. Government Code section 13966 contains such contrary 
legislative intent in that it provides for the disposition of 100 percent of the state’s 
lien without allowing for any deductions specifically for attorneys’ fees. The statute 
does provide, however, for 25 percent of the state’s lien recovery to be paid to a 
victim/litigant (when the full lien is recovered). The addition of that provision to the 
lien provisions immediately after the Supreme Court’s decision in Quinn v. State of 
Calif., supra, 15 Cal. 3d 162 suggests that the 25 percent was intended as the state’s 
contribution for attorneys’ fees. 

***** 
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