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SIXTY-DAY NOTICE OF INTENT TO SUE FOR VIOLATION OF THE SAFE 
DRINKING WATER AND 

TOXIC ENFORCEMENT ACT OF 1986 
(Cal. Health & Safety Code § 25249.5, et seq.) (“Proposition 65”) 

 
 
Re:   Violations of Proposition 65 related to unleaded gasoline 
 
TO:   Office of the California Attorney General 

Prop 65 Enforcement Reporting. Via upload to the Office of the Attorney General's 
website at the following web address:  
https://oag.ca.gov/prop65/add-60-day-notice 
 
Sinclair Gas Station  
2502 Harbor Blvd 
Costa Mesa, CA 92627 

 
FROM:  Sandra Assareh, by and through Alvandi Law Group 
 
Dear Alleged Violators and Public Enforcement Agencies: 

This office, Alvandi Law Group, P.C. (hereinafter "ALG"), represents Claimant Sandra Assareh 
(“Claimant”), who serves this Notice of Violation (“Notice”) on Sinclair Gas Station (collectively 
“Violators”) pursuant to California Health & Safety Code section 25249.7(d) and in compliance 
with Proposition 65. This Notice satisfies a prerequisite for Claimant to commence an action 
against Violators in any Superior Court of California to enforce Proposition 65.   

I. INTRODUCTION: 

This Notice is provided to the public agencies listed above and in the attached proof of service 
pursuant to California Health & Safety Code § 25249.6, et seq. (“Proposition 65”). As noted above, 
notice is also being provided to the violator: Sinclair Gas Station. The violations covered by this 
Notice consists of a summary of Proposition 65, Statement of Violation, Number and Duration of 
Violation, Product Category/Type, Listed Chemical(s), Preservation of Evidence, Product 
Exposure, Routes of Exposure and type of harm resulting from exposure to the chemicals including 
but not limited to (the “ Chemicals”) as follows: 

• Unleaded gasoline, a product known to the State of California to cause cancer. 
 

https://oag.ca.gov/prop65/add-60-day-notice


II. PROPOSITION 65 INFORMATION – SUMMARY: 

A summary of Proposition 65 and its implementation regulations, prepared by the Office of 
Environmental Health Hazard Assessment, the lead agency designated under Proposition 65, is 
enclosed with the copy of the Notice served on the Notice Recipients. For more information 
concerning the provisions of Proposition 65, please feel free to contact the Office of Environmental 
Health Hazard Assessment’s (“OEHHA”) Proposition 65 Implementation Office at (916) 445-
6900. 

III. STATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS: 

Proposition 65 requires that a “clear and reasonable” warning be provided prior to exposure to 
certain listed chemicals. The Violators are in violation of Proposition 65 because the Violators 
have failed to provide a warning to consumers that they are being exposed to Chemicals. While in 
the course of doing business, the Violators are “knowingly and intentionally” exposing consumers 
to Chemicals without first providing a “clear and reasonable” warning. See Cal. Health and Safety 
Code § 25249.6. A warning for environmental exposures to listed chemicals at service stations 
must be provided at the most common location for exposures to listed chemicals. OEHHA has 
determined that these are most likely to occur at or near the gas pumps; therefore a warning must 
be provided at each gas pump. This process is consistent with existing industry practices. The sign 
must be printed in no smaller than 22-point type and be enclosed in a box so that it is set off from 
other warnings and information posted on the pumps. See Cal. Code Regs. tit. 27, § 25607.26 
Service Station and Vehicle Repair Facilities Warnings.  

The Violators have not provided any Proposition 65 warnings at the most common location for 
exposures to listed Chemicals. The Violators failed to post proper warning printed in at least 22-
point type and be enclosed in a box so that it is set off from other warnings and information posted 
on the pumps.  

Without such warnings, California citizens lack the information necessary to make informed 
decisions as to whether and/ or how to eliminate or reduce the risk of exposure to the Chemical at 
the Location(s). Claimant is a citizen of the State of California who is acting in the interest of the 
general public to promote awareness of exposures to toxic chemicals and to improve human health 
and the environment by reducing hazardous substances. Claimant intends to bring a private 
enforcement action, pursuant to Cal. Health & Safety Code §25249.7(d), to address these 
violations. Claimant is represented by the undersigned and may be contacted through the 
undersigned at the telephone number and address set forth in the letterhead above. 

IV. ROUTE OF EXPOSURE 

The primary route of exposure to unleaded gasoline is through inhalation of its vapors. However, 
the Chemical can also enter the body through other routes of exposure, such as ingestion and 
dermal absorption through the skin. No clear and reasonable warning is provided regarding the 
carcinogenic hazards of exposure to the Chemical at the Location(s). 



By way of example but not limitation, exposures occur when California Citizens are pumping gas 
at the service station owned and/or operated by Violator(s) at the Location(s) identified above, and 
may potentially be exposed to a combination of chemicals listed under Proposition 65.  

V. NUMBER AND DURATION OF VIOLATIONS 

These violations have been occurring every day since at least 11/16/2009, and every day, and will 
continue every day until clear and reasonable warnings are provided and required by State law or 
until these known toxic chemicals are removed or reduced to allowable levels in the products. 

VI. EVIDENCE PRESERVATION REQUEST TO ALLEGED VIOLATOR(S): 

Alleged Violator(s) are hereby requested to preserve any and all evidence relating to the violations 
described herein. This includes, without limitation, preserving any warning materials concerning 
exposure to the Chemical at the Location(s) and all communications regarding any such exposures. 
This also includes, without limitation, documenting (through photography and/or video recording) 
the present existence, content, and location of all warning materials-including labels, signs, tags, 
and other language-at the Location(s) that the Violator(s) contends provides consumers with the 
"clear and reasonable" warning required by Health & Safety Code section 25249.6 regarding the 
exposures (and prese1ving any historical depictions of such warning materials). The failure to 
preserve the requested evidence may result in sanctions and other penalties. 

VII. CERTIFICATE OF MERIT 

Pursuant to Health & Safety Code §25249.6 and Title 11, California Code of Regulations, section 
3100, a Certificate of Merit is attached hereto. A second copy of the entire notice and Certificate 
of Merit is served on the Attorney General with all supporting documentation required by section 
3102 attached hereto. 

VIII. RESOLUTION OF NOTICED CLAIMS 

Consistent with goals of Proposition 65 and a desire to have these violations corrected, ALG is 
interested in seeking a resolution of this matter that includes a binding written agreement by the 
Violators to: (1) undertake best efforts to ensure that the requisite health hazard warnings are 
provided to the customers; and (3) pay an appropriate civil penalty. Such a resolution will prevent 
further unwarned customer exposure to the Chemical(s), as well as expensive and time-consuming 
litigation. It should be noted that counsel cannot (1) finalize any settlement until after the 60-day 
notice period has expired; or (2) speak for the California Attorney General or any District or City 
Attorney who has received this notice. Therefore, while reaching an agreement with ALG will 
resolve its claims; such an agreement may not satisfy the public prosecutors. 

Proposition 65 requires that notice of intent to sue be given to the violator(s) sixty (60) days before 
the suit is filed. Cal. Health & Safety Code § 25249.7(d)(1). With this letter, Claimant gives notice 
of the alleged violations to Violator and the appropriate governmental authorities. In absence of 
any action by the appropriate governmental authorities within sixty (60) calendar days of the date 
of sending this notice (plus ten (10) calendar days because the place of address is beyond the State 
of California but within the United States), Claimant may file suit. See Cal. Code Civ. Proc. §1013; 



Cal. Health & Safety Code § 25249.7(d)(1); and Cal. Code Regs. tit. 27 § 25903(d)(1). Claimant 
remains open and willing to discussing the possibility of resolving the grievances short of formal 
litigation. 

All communications regarding this notice may be made to Alvandi Law Group at the above-listed 
firm address and telephone number. 

 

Attachments: 
Certificate of Merit 
Supporting Documentation for Certificate of Merit (to Attorney General Only) 
Proposition 65: A Summary 
Proof of Service 
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Proof of Service via Electronic Upload 

I declare that I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the County of Orange. I am over 
the age of eighteen (18) and not a party to the within action. My business address is 20301 SW 
Acacia Street, Second Floor, Newport Beach, CA 92660. 

On June 23, 2023, I caused the following documents to be electronically served upon the Office 
of the Attorney General, State of California, via upload to the Office of the Attorney General's 
website at the following web address: https://oag.ca.gov/prop65/add-60-day-notice: 

Office of the California Attorney General 
Prop 65 Enforcement Reporting 
1515 Clay Street, Suite 2000 
Oakland, CA 94612-0550 

• 60-Day Notice of Violation of California Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement
Act; and

• Certificate of Merit, with confidential attachment.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is 
true and correct.  

Executed on , at Newport Beach, California. 

______________________ 
Blair M. Hamilton 

7/3/23

https://oag.ca.gov/prop65/add-60-day-notice


APPENDIX A 
 

OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH HAZARD ASSESSMENT 
CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

 
THE SAFE DRINKING WATER AND TOXIC ENFORCEMENT ACT OF 1986 

(PROPOSITION 65): A SUMMARY 
 
 

The following summary has been prepared by the California Office of Environmental 
Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA), the lead agency for the implementation of the 
Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986 (commonly known as 
“Proposition 65”). A copy of this summary must be included as an attachment to any 
notice of violation served upon an alleged violator of the Act. The summary provides 
basic information about the provisions of the law, and is intended to serve only as a 
convenient source of general information. It is not intended to provide authoritative 
guidance on the meaning or application of the law. The reader is directed to the statute 
and OEHHA implementing regulations (see citations below) for further information.  
 
FOR INFORMATION CONCERNING THE BASIS FOR THE ALLEGATIONS IN THE 
NOTICE RELATED TO YOUR BUSINESS, CONTACT THE PERSON IDENTIFIED ON 
THE NOTICE. 
 
The text of Proposition 65 (Health and Safety Code Sections 25249.5 through 
25249.13) is available online at: http://oehha.ca.gov/prop65/law/P65law72003.html. 
Regulations that provide more specific guidance on compliance, and that specify 
procedures to be followed by the State in carrying out certain aspects of the law, are 
found in Title 27 of the California Code of Regulations, sections 25102 through 27001.1 
These implementing regulations are available online at: 
http://oehha.ca.gov/prop65/law/P65Regs.html. 
 
WHAT DOES PROPOSITION 65 REQUIRE?  
 
The “Proposition 65 List.” Under Proposition 65, the lead agency (OEHHA) publishes 
a list of chemicals that are known to the State of California to cause cancer and/or 
reproductive toxicity. Chemicals are placed on the Proposition 65 list if they are known 
to cause cancer and/or birth defects or other reproductive harm, such as damage to 

                                                 
1 All further regulatory references are to sections of Title 27 of the California Code of Regulations unless 
otherwise indicated. The statute, regulations and relevant case law are available on the OEHHA website 
at: http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65/law/index.html.   



female or male reproductive systems or to the developing fetus. This list must be 
updated at least once a year. The current Proposition 65 list of chemicals is available on 
the OEHHA website at: http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65/prop65_list/Newlist.html. 
 
Only those chemicals that are on the list are regulated under Proposition 65.  
Businesses that produce, use, release or otherwise engage in activities involving listed 
chemicals must comply with the following: 
 
Clear and reasonable warnings. A business is required to warn a person before 
“knowingly and intentionally” exposing that person to a listed chemical unless an 
exemption applies.  The warning given must be “clear and reasonable.” This means that 
the warning must: (1) clearly make known that the chemical involved is known to cause 
cancer, or birth defects or other reproductive harm; and (2) be given in such a way that 
it will effectively reach the person before he or she is exposed to that chemical.  Some 
exposures are exempt from the warning requirement under certain circumstances 
discussed below.  
 
Prohibition from discharges into drinking water. A business must not knowingly 
discharge or release a listed chemical into water or onto land where it passes or 
probably will pass into a source of drinking water. Some discharges are exempt from 
this requirement under certain circumstances discussed below.   
 
DOES PROPOSITION 65 PROVIDE ANY EXEMPTIONS?  
 
Yes.  You should consult the current version of the statute and regulations 
(http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65/law/index.html) to determine all applicable 
exemptions, the most common of which are the following: 
 
Grace Period. Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after 
the chemical has been listed.  The Proposition 65 discharge prohibition does not apply 
to a discharge or release of a chemical that takes place less than 20 months after the 
listing of the chemical.  
 
Governmental agencies and public water utilities. All agencies of the federal, state 
or local government, as well as entities operating public water systems, are exempt.  
 
Businesses with nine or fewer employees. Neither the warning requirement nor the 
discharge prohibition applies to a business that employs a total of nine or fewer 
employees. This includes all employees, not just those present in California. 
 



Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer. For chemicals that are listed 
under Proposition 65 as known to the State to cause cancer, a warning is not required if 
the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level 
that poses “no significant risk.” This means that the exposure is calculated to result in 
not more than one excess case of cancer in 100,000 individuals exposed over a 70-year 
lifetime. The Proposition 65 regulations identify specific “No Significant Risk Levels” 
(NSRLs) for many listed carcinogens. Exposures below these levels are exempt from 
the warning requirement. See OEHHA's website at: 
http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65/getNSRLs.html for a list of NSRLs, and Section 25701 
et seq. of the regulations for information concerning how these levels are calculated. 
 
Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect at 1,000 times the 
level in question. For chemicals known to the State to cause reproductive toxicity, a 
warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the 
exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question. In 
other words, the level of exposure must be below the “no observable effect level” 
divided by 1,000. This number is known as the Maximum Allowable Dose Level 
(MADL). See OEHHA's website at: http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65/getNSRLs.html for 
a list of MADLs, and Section 25801 et seq. of the regulations for information concerning 
how these levels are calculated. 
 
Exposures to Naturally Occurring Chemicals in Food. Certain exposures to 
chemicals that naturally occur in foods (i.e., that do not result from any known human 
activity, including activity by someone other than the person causing the exposure) are 
exempt from the warning requirements of the law. If the chemical is a contaminant2 it 
must be reduced to the lowest level feasible. Regulations explaining this exemption can 
be found in Section 25501. 
 
Discharges that do not result in a “significant amount” of the listed chemical 
entering any source of drinking water. The prohibition from discharges into drinking 
water does not apply if the discharger is able to demonstrate that a “significant amount” 
of the listed chemical has not, does not, or will not pass into or probably pass into a 
source of drinking water, and that the discharge complies with all other applicable laws, 
regulations, permits, requirements, or orders. A “significant amount” means any 
detectable amount, except an amount that would meet the “no significant risk” level for 
chemicals that cause cancer or that is 1,000 times below the “no observable effect” 
level for chemicals that cause reproductive toxicity, if an individual were exposed to that 
amount in drinking water. 
 

                                                 
2 See Section 25501(a)(4). 



HOW IS PROPOSITION 65 ENFORCED?  
 
Enforcement is carried out through civil lawsuits. These lawsuits may be brought by the 
Attorney General, any district attorney, or certain city attorneys. Lawsuits may also be 
brought by private parties acting in the public interest, but only after providing notice of 
the alleged violation to the Attorney General, the appropriate district attorney and city 
attorney, and the business accused of the violation. The notice must provide adequate 
information to allow the recipient to assess the nature of the alleged violation. The 
notice must comply with the information and procedural requirements specified in 
Section 25903 of Title 27 and sections 3100-3103 of Title 11.  A private party may not 
pursue an independent enforcement action under Proposition 65 if one of the 
governmental officials noted above initiates an enforcement action within sixty days of 
the notice.  
 
A business found to be in violation of Proposition 65 is subject to civil penalties of up to 
$2,500 per day for each violation. In addition, the business may be ordered by a court to 
stop committing the violation.  
 
A private party may not file an enforcement action based on certain exposures if the 
alleged violator meets specific conditions. For the following types of exposures, the Act 
provides an opportunity for the business to correct the alleged violation: 
 

x An exposure to alcoholic beverages that are consumed on the alleged violator's 
premises to the extent onsite consumption is permitted by law; 
 

x An exposure to a Proposition 65 listed chemical in a food or beverage prepared 
and sold on the alleged violator's premises that is primarily intended for 
immediate consumption on- or off-premises. This only applies if the chemical was 
not intentionally added to the food, and was formed by cooking or similar 
preparation of food or beverage components necessary to render the food or 
beverage palatable or to avoid microbiological contamination; 
 

x An exposure to environmental tobacco smoke caused by entry of persons (other 
than employees) on premises owned or operated by the alleged violator where 
smoking is permitted at any location on the premises; 
 

x An exposure to listed chemicals in engine exhaust, to the extent the exposure 
occurs inside a facility owned or operated by the alleged violator and primarily 
intended for parking non-commercial vehicles. 

 
If a private party alleges that a violation occurred based on one of the exposures 
described above, the private party must first provide the alleged violator a notice of 
special compliance procedure and proof of compliance form. 
 



A copy of the notice of special compliance procedure and proof of compliance form is 
included in Appendix B and can be downloaded from OEHHA's website at: 
http://oehha.ca.gov/prop65/law/p65law72003.html.  
 
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION ABOUT THE LAW OR REGULATIONS...  
 
Contact the Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment’s Proposition 65 
Implementation Office at (916) 445-6900 or via e-mail at 
P65Public.Comments@oehha.ca.gov.  
 
Revised: May 2017 
 
 
NOTE: Authority cited: Section 25249.12, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 
25249.5, 25249.6, 25249.7, 25249.9, 25249.10 and 25249.11, Health and Safety Code. 
 



Appendix A 
OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH HAZARD ASSESSMENT CALIFORNIA PROTECTION AGENCY 

THE SAFE DRINKING WATER AND TOXIC ENFORCEMENT ACTION 1986 

(PROPOSITION 65): A SUMMARY 

The following summary has been prepared 

by the office of Environmental Health 

Hazard Assessment, the lead and Toxic 

Enforcement Act 1986 (commonly known as 

AProposition 65") A copy of this summary 

must be included as an attachment to any 

notice of violation served upon an alleged 

violator of the Act. The summary provides 

basic information about the provisions of the 

law, and is intended to serve only as a 

convenient source of general information. It 

is not intended to provide law. The reader is 

directed to the statue and its implementing 

regulations (See citations below) for further 

information. 

Proposition 65 appears in California law as 

Health and Safety Code Sections 25249.5 

through 25249.13. Regulations that provide 

more specific guidance on compliance, and 

that specify procedures to be followed by the 

State in carrying out certain aspects of the 

law, are found in Title 27 of the California 

Code Regulations, Sections 250000 through 

27000. 

WHAT DOES PROPOSITION 65 

REQUIRE? 

 The “Governor=s List.@ Proposition 65 

requires the Governor to publish a list of 

chemicals that are known to the State of 

California to cause cancer, or birth defects or 

other  reproductive harm. This list must be 

updated at least once a year. Over 725 

chemicals have been listed as of November 

16, 2001. Only those chemicals that are on 

the list are regulated under this law. 

Businesses that produce, use, release, or 

otherwise engage in activities involving 

those chemicals must comply with the 

following: 

Clear and Reasonable Warnings. A 

business is required to warn a person before 

Aknowingly and intentionally@ exposing that 

person to a listed chemical. The warning 

given must be Aclear and reasonable.@ This 

means that the warning must: (1) clearly 

make known that the chemical involved is 

known to cause cancer or birth defects or 

other reproductive harm; and (2) be given in 

such a way that is will effectively reach the 

person before he or she is exposed. 

Exposures are exempt from the warning 

requirement if they occur less than twelve 

months after the date of the listing of the 

chemical. 

Prohibition from discharges into drinking 
water. A business must not knowingly 

discharge or release a listed chemical into 

water or onto land where it passes or 

probably will pass into a source of drinking 

water. Discharges are exempt from this 

requirement if they occur less than twenty 

months after the date of the listing of 

chemical. 

DOES PROPOSITION 65 PROVIDE 

ANY EXEMPTIONS? 

Yes. The law exempts: 

Governmental agencies and public water 
utilities. All agencies of the federal, State or 

local government, as well as entities 

operating public water systems, are exempt. 



Exposures that pose no significant risk of 
cancer. For chemicals that are listed as 

known to the State to cause cancer 

(Acarcinogens@), a warning is not required if 

the business can demonstrate that the 

exposure occurs at a level that poses Ano 

significant risk.@ This means that the 

exposure is calculated to result in not more 

than one excess case of cancer in 100,000 

individuals exposed over a 70- year lifetime. 

The Proposition 65 regulations identify 

specific A no significant risk@ levels for more 

than 250 listed carcinogens. 

Exposures that will produce no observable 
reproductive effect at 1,000 times the level 
in question. For chemicals known to the 

State to cause birth defects or other 

reproductive harm (Areproductive 

toxicants@), a warning is not required if the 

business can demonstrate that the exposure 

will produce no observable effect, even at 

1,000 times the level in question. In other 

words, the level of exposure must be below 

the Ano observable effect level (NOEL), A 
divided by a 1,000- fold safety or uncertainty 

factor. The Ano observable effect level@ is the 

highest dose level which has not been 

associated with an observable adverse 

reproductive or developmental effect. 

Discharge that do not result in a 
Asignificant amount@ of the listed chemical 
entering into any source of drinking water.  
The prohibition from discharges into 

drinking water does not apply if the 

discharger is able to demonstrate that a 

Asignificant amount@ of the list chemical has 

not, does not, or will not enter any drinking 

water source, and that the discharge complies 

with all other applicable laws, regulations, 

permits, requirements, or orders. A 

Asignificant amount@ means any detectable 

amount; expect an amount that would meet 

the A no significant risk@ or Ano observable 

effect@ test if an individual were exposed to 

such an amount in drinking water. 

 HOW IS PROPOSITION 65 

ENFORCED? 

Enforcement is carried out through civil 

lawsuits. These lawsuits may be brought be 

the Attorney General, any district attorney, or 

certain city attorneys (those in cities with a 

population exceeding 750,000). Lawsuit may 

also be brought by private parties acting in 

the public interest, but only after providing 

notice of the alleged violation to the Attorney 

General, the appropriate district attorney and 

city attorney, and the business accused of the 

violation. The notice must provide adequate 

information to allow the recipient to assess 

the nature of the alleged violation. A notice 

must comply with the information and 

procedural requirements specified in 

regulations (Title 27. California Code of 

Regulations, Section 25903). A private party 

may not pursue an enforcement action 

directly under Proposition 65 if one of the 

governmental officials noted above initiates 

an action within sixty days of notice. 

A business found to be in violation of 

Proposition 65 is subject to civil penalties of 

up to $2,500 per day for each violation. In 

addition, the business may be ordered by a 

court of law to stop committing the violation. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION.... 
Contact the Office of Environmental Health 

Hazard Assessment=s Proposition 65 

Implementation Office at (916)445-6900 
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