• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Crime Scene Investigation I

Class Code: 
S111

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Various
Class Description: 
This Introductory one-week (38-hour) course is designed to acquaint the student with the concepts of forensic crime scene investigation and the criminalist's role at the scene, including the legal aspects of scene investigation. The students will learn about various methods of crime scene documentation. The course will prepare the criminalist to accompany an experienced person to crime scenes. This class is intended for those in the initial learning modules of the crime scene training curriculum of their accredited laboratory. Each class is limited to 20 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Joe Rynearson, California Department of Justice Tom Keener, California Department of Justice, and others
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, demonstrations, role playing, laboratory exercises and mock scene processing. Students will also process three crime scenes in preparation for their attendance to Crime Scene II.
Objectives: 
Students will be introduced to and practice the skills needed to recognize the full informational value of evidence at the scene. The student will be acquainted with techniques of searching, documentation and packaging of evidence, as well as the legal aspects of scene investigation.
Prerequisites: 
Applicants must be employed in a forensic laboratory as a criminalist or forensic scientist.
Preparation: 
Students should have awareness/familiarity with their accredited laboratory's quality system and crime scene training curriculum.
Materials Fee: 
$35.00
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Schedule of Classes:


No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]