• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Ethics in Forensic Science

Class Code: 

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Los Angeles
Class Description: 
This one-day (eight-hour) course focuses on the practical application of forensic science ethics codes to ethical dilemmas encountered in forensic science and offers instruction in the background of ethics codes. The course is not intended to teach individuals to be honest or good, and it is not a forum for an instructor to impose his or her personal views of what constitutes ethical conduct. Instead, the class provides tools to readily access the content of roughly two dozen forensic science ethics codes from around the world and gives individuals the opportunity to apply that content to realistic scenarioes and discuss their results with the class. Lecture materials offer insight into the role of morals, motivations for unethical conduct, the various types of codes, their history, their features and purpose, their differences and similarities, and their enforcement policies. Issues surrounding filing an ethics complaint or being the subject of an ethics allegation are discussed. The target audience is individuals who work with evidence in traditional crime laboratory disciplines or who teach in a forensics science program (for example: criminalists, latent print examiners, questioned document examiners, evidence technicians, and forensic science educators). Class size is limited to fifteen students.
Carolyn Gannett
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, class discussions, and small-group practical exercises.
Students will be required to become familiar with the content of ethics codes from several forensic science professional associations, and to complete practical exercises in applying that knowledge to realistic ethical dilemmas.
Prior to class, students must submit a short scenario (about one paragraph) describing an ethical dilemma in forensic science. The submitter shall redact any identifying information. The instructor will not link student names to those submissions that are used in class.
Materials Fee: 
$25.00 Materials fee will be charged to all non-CA DOJ students. This charge is due at the beginning of the class. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.
No cost to POST-supported or State of California based law enforcement agencies. A $120.00 tuition fee will be required for all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants. Make check(s) payable to the California Department of Justice.

Course Contact:

More Information: 

Schedule of Classes:

No classes are scheduled at this time.

Back To Top

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]