About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Self-Exclusion Program

In accordance with regulations, the Bureau administers a confidential list of Self-Excluded patrons. Self-Excluded patrons are banned from all licensed gambling establishments in the State of California. A licensed gambling establishment does not include Tribal Casino’s. Self-Excluded patrons are prohibited from collecting any winnings or recovering any losses for the term specified on their form, which can be 1 year, 5 years, or lifetime.

Please be advised that all Self-Exclusion terms are irrevocable.

What happens after the form is completed and processed? The Bureau will send a confirmation letter to the patron notifying them that their form has been accepted and that they have been added to the Self-Exclusion list. If a patron chooses the 1 or 5 year term, the Bureau will also notify the patron of the term expiration prior to the expiration date.

If an active Self-Exclusion patron enters a gambling establishment for any reason, the establishment is required to remove the patron from the premises and notify the Bureau of the incident. If a patron is playing in a gambling establishment, their winning or losses are confiscated and sent to the California Department of Public Health, Office of Problem Gambling.

The Bureau also notifies gambling establishments each time a patron is added to the Self-Exclusion list. The notification includes the patrons name, photo, date of birth, exclusion term, and any other personal descriptor information submitted on the Self-Exclusion form.

Also in accordance with regulations, Licensees are required to administer a Self-Restriction Program. Self-Restriction is an irrevocable, voluntary agreement to have restricted access to specific gambling establishments, or to the issuance of credit, check cashing, or marketing, from a particular licensed cardroom. The cardroom may voluntarily use the California Gambling Control Commission’s form or they may create their own. Self-Restriction periods are dictated by individual cardrooms and can vary from 30 days, 90 days, 1 year, or lifetime. All Self-Restriction forms are kept and maintained within individual cardrooms.

If you think that you or someone you know may have a gambling problem and do not want to self-exclude from gambling establishments, please go back to the Responsible Gambling page for other resources.

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]