• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

E - Firearms and Impression Evidence Program

Footwear Impression Evidence Comparison

Class Code: 
E141

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Los Angeles
Class Description: 
This 5-day (38-hour) course reviews essential information for those who examine footwear impression evidence and must provide written reports and expert testimony on their observations and conclusions. The course provides an understanding of basic footwear manufacturing techniques as they assist in the evaluation of class characteristics, as well as which aspects of manufacturing may enhance examination results. In addition, the wear and random individual characteristics, which enable positive identification of a shoe, are covered. Approximately 35-40 exercises and case examinations will be independently conducted by each student and discussed to teach and re-enforce both fundamental examination methodology and observations, and to provide experience with a variety of examination results ranging from identifications to non-identifications. Additional items to be covered include creation of exemplar impressions of suspected footwear, contusion impressions, shoe sizing, hands-on chemical enhancement of impressions, barefoot impressions, and a thorough review of the photography, casting and lifting methods necessary to recover this form of evidence
Instructor: 
William Bodziak, Bodziak Forensics, Palm Coast, FL
Teaching Methods: 
Lectures, practical exercises, critiques, discussions and examination
Objectives: 
To gain familiarity with principles, techniques and systematic practices used for the collection, recovery, preservation and examination of footwear and footwear impression evidence.
Prerequisites: 
This class is limited to qualified crime laboratory personnel who will examine footwear and footwear impression evidence. It is geared to both new and experienced examiners.
Materials Fee: 
A $100.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Forensic Pathology of Gunshot Wounds - Recognizing and Collecting Firearms Evidence

Class Code: 
E115

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento or Los Angeles
Class Description: 
This two-day course is designed for the medical and forensic professional who may investigate firearm related injuries. Recognizing such evidence and its proper collection will be covered. Interpretation of wounds and wound patterns will be stressed.
Instructor: 
Dr. Frank Sheridan, Chief Medical Examiner, San Bernardino County. Lucien Haag, Forensic Science Services Inc.
Teaching Methods: 
Lecture and PowerPoint
Objectives: 
The field of firearms is diverse, encompassing many years of products and development. When firearms or ammunition become evidence it is important for medical professionals and forensic experts to be able to recognize, collect and properly interpret such evidence. Topics will include firearms, ammunition, gunshot residue, gunpowder and shot patterns, clothing exams, wounding mechanisms and proper documentation.
Prerequisites: 
None, but preference will be given to pathologists, nurses, paramedics and forensic field investigators.
Preparation: 
Firearms nomenclature pre-reading package
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $240.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Firearms and Toolmarks Introduction II - Lab

Class Code: 
E103a

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
Currently in Development. For more information please contact our office, phone: (916) 227-3575 fax: (916) 454-5433
Prerequisites: 
Enrollment in Firearms Academy
Materials Fee: 
$0
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $0.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Firearms and Toolmarks Introduction II

Class Code: 
E103

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
This one-week (40-hour) course follows E102 for the new firearms examiner. The course continues through a typical firearms case at the point that actual striation or impression comparisons start. The course will set the basis for the most important part of the firearm and toolmark case-the actual comparison. Topics covered in this course include the history, manufacture and nomenclature of tools, origin of markings on projectiles and casings, concepts of uniqueness, test-firing practices, and an introduction to the comparison of striated and impressed marks. Each class is limited to 12 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Torrey Johnson
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, video recordings and practical workshops, and laboratory exercises.
Objectives: 
Students will be required to examine firearms and ammunition components, compare mechanical models of striations, compare tests and unknown marks, compare bullets and test firings, and write reports of conclusions.
Prerequisites: 
Successful completion of E102 Firearm Safety E101 is recommended.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading material may be assigned.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge is due at the beginning of class. Make checks payable to the Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Firearms and Toolmarks Introduction I - Lab

Class Code: 
E102a

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
Currently in Development. For more information please contact our office, phone: (916) 227-3575 fax: (916) 454-5433
Prerequisites: 
Enrollment in Firearms Academy

Course Contact:

Firearms and Toolmarks Introduction I

Class Code: 
E102

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute / Sacramento
Class Description: 
This one-week (38-hour) course is designed for the new firearms examiner. The course will take the criminalists through a typical firearms case up to the point that actual striated comparisons would start. Special emphasis will be placed on examination of recovered firearm components for information to a list of possible firearms, determine the brand of ammunition used, and intercomparison to other 'open' shooting cases. Topics covered in this course include the history, manufacture and nomenclature of firearms, introduction to ballistics, origin of markings on projectiles and casings, concepts of uniqueness, test-firing practices, crime scene considerations and introduction to the comparison of striated and impressed marks. Each class is limited to 12 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Michael F. Giusto, California Criminalistics Institute
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, video recordings and practical workshops, and laboratory exercises.
Objectives: 
Students will be required to examine firearms and ammunition components, measure class characteristics, prepare lists of 'possible weapons', determine cartridge designation and weapon chambering, select appropriate test-firing ammunition, and write reports of examination.
Prerequisites: 
Firearm Safety E101 is recommended.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading material may be assigned.
Materials Fee: 
A $35.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of class. Make check(s) payable to California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Firearms Safety

Class Code: 
E101

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
Various
Class Description: 
This three-day (24-hour) course will provide students with knowledge of basic firearm terminology, construction, and operation as well as first-hand experience in safely loading, test-firing, and unloading a variety of weapons. The weapons included are the ones commonly found in criminal cases: revolvers, pistols, rifles, shotguns, and automatic weapons. The primary focus is the safe operation and handling of weapons, ammunition. This course is intended for laboratory technicians, latent print examiners, criminalists, or crime scene specialists from law enforcement agencies who must handle evidence firearms in the course of their duties. Each class is limited to 20 students. POST has suspended Plan IV reimbursement until July 1, 2015.
Instructor: 
Dave Barber and Mike Giusto
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lecture, handling and range firing of more than 25 different firearms.
Objectives: 
Students will be able to collect firearms evidence safely. Students will be able to safely load and unload a wide variety of firearms action types.
Prerequisites: 
None.
Preparation: 
Pre-course reading material may be required
Materials Fee: 
A $75.00 materials fee will be charged to all non-BFS students. This charge will be due at the beginning of the class. Make checks payable to the California Department of Justice.
Tuition: 
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $360.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

Pages

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]