• Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel

Crime Scene Investigation II

Class Code: 

Subject Area:

Class Location: 
California Criminalistics Institute/ Various
Class Description: 

APPLICANTS MUST BE EMPLOYED AS A CRIMINALIST OR FORENSIC SCIENTIST IN AN ASCLD/LAB ACCREDITED LABORATORY. This five-day (38-hour) course is the second in the Crime Scene Series. Building on basic information learned in Crime Scene Investigation I, the course focuses on development of crime scene processing skills and the development of investigative information at the crime scene. Students will fully process at least three homicide crime scenes and present their work product for evaluation.
Each class is limited to 20 students.

Joe Rynearson, Bureau of Forensic Services and others
Teaching Methods: 
Classroom lectures, demonstrations to include range activity, role playing, laboratory exercises, and more complex mock scenes.
The course is intended to augment the laboratory crime scene training curriculum and prepare criminalists to qualify for authorization by their laboratory directors to perform duties within the crime scene discipline.
They must have had a firearms safety class (or a documented equivalent training course). This class is intended to build upon Crime Scene Investigation I, however potential students for this class may have addressed the Crime Scene Investigation I content through prior formal training and/or formal participation in their laboratory crime scene training curriculum. APPLICANTS MUST BE EMPLOYED AS A CRIMINALIST OR FORENSIC SCIENTIST IN AN ASCLD/LAB ACCREDITED LABORATORY
Students should have attended (in at least an observer capacity) some crime scenes processed by their laboratory. The student should be generally familiar with their laboratory’s a) crime scene training curriculum, b) crime scene technical procedures and c) quality system with regard to the release of information at the crime scene. Students will need to bring a basic crime scene collection kit and camera suitable for crime scene documentation. The student should also bring eye and ear protection for the range demonstration.
No cost to POST supported or State of California based Law Enforcement agencies. A $600.00 tuition fee will be required of all other public agency, private sector, or out-of-state applicants.

Course Contact:

More Information: 

Schedule of Classes:

Locationsort descending Date(s)
Riverside Fall 2017

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]