Subscribe to Our Newsletter
OAKLAND – California Attorney General Rob Bonta today issued a consumer alert following the Governor’s declaration of a state of emergency in Siskiyou County due to the Mill Fire. The Mill Fire has burned more than 3,900 acres since it began yesterday amid dangerous fire weather. In today’s alert, Attorney General Bonta reminds all Californians that price gouging during a state of emergency is illegal under Penal Code Section 396.
“Going into Labor Day weekend, Californians are bracing for brutal temperatures and increased fire risk,”said Attorney General Bonta. “Already in Siskiyou County, we’re seeing a fast-moving fire destroy homes and force evacuations. It is unacceptable to take advantage of any Californian during these times of crisis. With the Governor’s recent declaration of a state of emergency in Siskiyou County, I want to be crystal clear: Price gouging is illegal. If you see businesses raising the prices of essential supplies, please immediately report it to my office or to local authorities.”
California law generally prohibits charging a price that exceeds, by more than 10%, the price of an item before a state or local declaration of emergency. For any item a seller only began selling after an emergency declaration, the law generally prohibits charging a price that exceeds the seller's cost of the item by more than 50%. This law applies to those who sell food, emergency supplies, medical supplies, building materials, and gasoline. The law also applies to repair or reconstruction services, emergency cleanup services, certain transportation services, freight and storage services, hotel accommodations, and rental housing. Exceptions to this prohibition exist if, for example, the price of labor, goods, or materials has increased for the business.
Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to criminal prosecution that can result in a one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Violators are also subject to civil enforcement actions including civil penalties of up to $2,500 per violation, injunctive relief, and mandatory restitution. The Attorney General and local district attorneys can enforce the statute.
For additional information on price gouging, please see oag.ca.gov/consumers/pricegougingduringdisasters.