Attorney General Lockyer And Superintendent Of Public Instruction O'Connell Announce Recipients Of School Community Policing Partnership Grants

$11.3 Million Awarded to Local Education Agencies to Prevent School Violence

Thursday, May 19, 2005
Contact: (916) 210-6000,

(SACRAMENTO) – Attorney General Bill Lockyer and Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell today announced $11.3 million in grants have been awarded to 37 school districts and county education offices for programs that partner schools with local law enforcement, health and community organizations to help prevent school crime and increase campus safety.

Established in 1998, the School Community Policing Partnership (SCPP) allows the Attorney General's Office, in conjunction with the California Department of Education, to offer grants of up to $325,000 per grantee to be spent over three years to deter school violence. This year, 37 school districts and county offices received the grants. Funding for two similar programs were consolidated into the SCPP program this year, increasing the total funds available to $11.3 million from the previous $10.7 million.

"The collaboration between school districts, education offices, law enforcement and the community is an essential piece of the puzzle to ensure school safety and maintain a productive and positive environment for our youth," Lockyer said. "These recipients are well-deserving of the grants because their programs are making a positive difference in the lives of our children and our communities."

"Our research shows that when students feel safe in school, eat a healthy diet, and exercise, then they perform better at school," said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell. "These grants are vital to help schools make their campuses safe and drug free, so kids can focus on learning."

This year, a total of 170 agencies applied for the grants. The in-depth review and scoring process consisted of 11 review teams composed of school safety professionals from law enforcement, education and community organizations that read and scored the applications during a four-day period in March. The applicants were evaluated on two basic criteria: the school community's commitment to form and sustain a collaborative partnership, and its demonstration of need, which was based on school and community crime data and statistics.

The SCPP program requires the grants to represent schools in the north, central, south, rural, urban and suburban areas throughout the state. This year, the grants were awarded to 17 suburban, 10 rural, and 10 urban school districts or education offices. Nine are in Northern California, six are in Central California and 22 are in Southern California.

The successful grantees are:

* Alameda County Office of Education (Elmhurst MS, Oakland Unified SD)
* Bellflower Unified School District (Bellflower MS, Bellflower HS, Mayfair MS, Mayfair HS)
* Butte County Office of Education (Gridley HS, Biggs HS)
* Clovis Unified School District (Gateway HS, Excel HS, Enterprise HS, Clovis Community Day School)
* Coachella Valley Unified School District (Desert Mirage HS, Toro Canyon MS)
* Corona - Norco Unified School District (Norco HS, Norco Intermediate School)
* Cutler - Orosi Joint Unified School District (Orosi HS, Lovell HS, Yettem HS, Community Day School, El Monte Junior HS)
* Desert Sands Unified School District (Amistad Continuation HS)
* Fallbrook Union Elementary School District (James E. Potter Jr. HS)
* Glendale Unified School District (Rosemont MS)
* Greenfield Unified School District (Valle Verde, Fairview, McKee Elem., Greenfield MS)
* Imperial County Office of Education (Brawley Elementary SD)
* Irvine Unified School District (University HS)
* Julian Unified School District (Julian Elem., Julian Junior HS)
* Konocti Unified School District [Burns Valley Elem., East Lake Elem., Lower Lake Elem., Pomo Elem., Oak Hill MS, Lower Lake HS, Carle HS, Blue Heron, Genesis, Lewis (Independent)]
* La Mesa - Spring Valley School District (La Presa MS)
* Lodi Unified School District (Bear Creek HS
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 5 (Sunrise Elem.)
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 8 (Washington Preparatory; Duke Ellington Continuation HS)
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 3 (Tom Bradley Elem., Coliseum Elem., Audubon MS, Dorsey HS)
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 5 (Loreto Elem.)
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 7 (Norwood Street School)
* Los Angeles Unified School District, District 8 (Gardena HS)
* Modesto City Schools (MCS 33 K-12 sites)
* Moreno Valley Unified School District (March Mountain Continuation HS, March Valley Academic Center, Moreno Valley Community Learning Center, Bayside Community Day School, Charter School)
* Napa County Office of Education (Creekside MS, Chamberlain HS, Liberty HS)
* Novato Unified School District (Novato HS, Marin Oaks HS, Hill MS, San Jose MS)
* Ontario - Montclair School District (Serrano MS)
* Paso Robles Public Schools (Flamson MS)
* Sacramento County Office of Education (Countywide project - 16 Districts, 350 school sites)
* San Diego County Office of Education (Libby Elem., ML King MS, Clair Burgener Academy, El Camino HS)
* San Diego County Office of Education (Mission Hills HS, San Marcos HS, Twin Oaks HS)
* San Diego County Office of Education (Laurel Elem., Mission Elem., Jefferson MS, Oceanside HS)
* San Jacinto Unified School District (San Jacinto HS, Mt. View HS, North Mt. MS, Monte Vista MS)
* West Contra Costa Unified School District (Pinole Valley HS)
* Wheatland Elementary School District (Bear River MS)
* Yolo County Office of Education (Yolo County Office of Education Court/Community Schools)

For additional information on the SCPP program, please refer to this web site:

# # #