Attorney General Lockyer Announces One-Day Drug Sweep Results in 115 Individuals Arrested, $11.9 Million in Drugs Seized

Friday, July 28, 2006
Contact: (916) 210-6000,

(STATEWIDE) – Attorney General Bill Lockyer today announced 44 task forces led by the California Department of Justice’s Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement (BNE) arrested at least 115 individuals and seized at least $11.9 million worth of drugs as part of a one-day nationwide crime sweep.

BNE task forces, comprised of state, local and federal law enforcement agencies, throughout the state served 16 search warrants, seized three firearms, confiscated 53 pounds of methamphetamine, 91 pounds of marijuana, and 37,747 marijuana plants.

State drug enforcement agencies across the U.S. on July 27, 2006 participated in a “national day of drug enforcement.” Organized by the National Alliance of State Drug Enforcement Agencies, “Operation Byrne Drugs” promoted the continued funding of the Byrne Justice Assistance Grant program that supports local and statewide drug enforcement. The federally funded program has suffered deep cuts over the last few years, directly affecting BNE. In fiscal year 2001-02, BNE received more than $11.5 million for personnel and operating costs. In fiscal year 2006-07, BNE received less than $6 million, nearly a 50% decline over five years.

“This is just one day’s work,” said Lockyer, “Imagine what they do all year long. Every resource, every source of support is crucial for their success. This grant has been a needed asset and we look forward to its continuation.”

BNE is the lead drug enforcement agency in California, providing leadership and support to local and regional law enforcement agencies to combat drugs, illegal weapons and violent crime in the state.

In addition to California, 34 other states participated, including Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, South Dakota, Iowa, Illinois, Vermont, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Nevada, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Hawaii, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Florida.

# # #