California Attorney General Joins Bipartisan Multistate Coalition Urging Congress to Pass the Veteran Treatment Court Coordination Act

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Contact: (916) 210-6000,

SACRAMENTO—Attorney General Xavier Becerra, along with a bipartisan coalition of 44 state attorneys general, is urging Congress to further support Veteran Treatment Courts by passing the Veteran Treatment Court Coordination Act of 2019. Veteran Treatment Courts are diversionary court processes, similar to drug and mental health courts, used for minor, non-violent offenses. These courts pair veterans with mentors to address substance abuse and mental health issues and assist veterans with obtaining United States Veterans Administration benefits that can help them with treatment and employment. There are currently over 450 Veteran Treatment Courts in 40 states and territories.

“Veterans put their lives on the line in service of our country, it is only right that we do all we can to repay their selfless service,” said Attorney General Becerra. “That’s why I am joining my colleagues from around the nation calling on Congress to pass the Veteran Treatment Court Coordination Act of 2019. Providing veterans with the services and benefits they need to thrive is the very least we can do for those who bravely served.”  

In a letter to Senate leaders, Attorney General Becerra and 43 other attorneys general wrote to encourage the passage of House Resolution 886, the Veteran Treatment Court Coordination Act of 2019. House Resolution 886 would establish a Veteran Treatment Court Program in the United States Department of Justice to provide grants and technical assistance to state, local and tribal courts that implement Veteran Treatment Courts.

To read the full letter, click here.

Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody sponsored the letter. New Mexico Attorney General Hector Balderas co-sponsored the letter. The Attorneys General from the following states and territories signed the letter: Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.   


# # #