Schwarzenegger and Brown to Present Six Officers with Medal of Valor Awards

Wednesday, September 9, 2009
Contact: (916) 210-6000,

Sacramento - On September 10, 2009, at 11:30 a.m. in the State Capitol, Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and Attorney General Edmund G. Brown Jr. will present six California peace officers who exhibited extraordinary bravery in the line of duty with the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor at a ceremony in the State Capitol.

Date: Thursday, September 10, 2009
Time: 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Location: Governor’s Council Room, State Capitol building

On June 12, 2009, Brown nominated the following individuals for the Medal of Valor:

• Lieutenant Raymond Garcia and Officer Scott O’Connor of the El Segundo Police Department;
• Officers Brian Paul and Joe Romero of the Los Gatos/Monte Sereno Police Department;
• Sergeant Dave Peruzzaro of the San Mateo Police Department; and
• Officer Roger Smith of the California Highway Patrol.

On Thursday, Governor Schwarzenegger will officially award these individuals with the Medal at a ceremony in the Governor’s Council Room.

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest state award for valor awarded to a public safety officer. Under the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Act of 2003, the Attorney General nominates individuals who demonstrate extraordinary valor above and beyond the call of duty, and the Governor subsequently awards the medal.

# # #