Data Broker Registration
2021 Registration Information
The Department is not accepting registration or renewals for 2021 at this time. This website will be updated with new information on January 1, 2021 and registrants should not use the form below to pre-register for the 2021 calendar year. Information regarding the updated annual registration fee ($400) is pending approval by the Office of Administrative Law.
This submission is required by California Civil Code § 1798.99.82. California law requires a data broker, as that term is defined in California Civil Code § 1798.99.80, to register with the Attorney General on its internet website that is accessible to the public. The law mandates that a data broker shall pay a registration fee and provide information required by the statute, including the name of the data broker; primary physical, email, and internet website addresses; and any additional information or explanation the data broker chooses to provide concerning its data collection practices.
If you need to register for 2020, you may complete the form below and provide payment by check. You must register by first creating an account with a valid email address. After you have submitted the required information and it is approved, an invoice that includes mailing instructions for payment will be generated and emailed to the email address associated with the account. The invoice states that the initial registration fee is $360. Registration is not complete until the Attorney General receives the registration fee.
A data broker that has not registered by the January 31 statutory deadline should register as soon as possible and may be liable for civil penalties for each day the data broker fails to register.