Regulations: Self Manufactured and Self Assembled Firearms
In 2018 the Legislature passed Senate Bill 746, amending Penal Code sections 29180 through 29184, which regulate the Department’s issuance of unique serial numbers for self-manufactured or self-assembled firearms, and for firearms that do not have a unique serial number or other identifying marks. As amended, Penal Code section 29180 requires new residents to apply for a serial number within 60 days of arrival for any firearm the resident wishes to possess in the state that does not have a unique serial number or other mark of identification.
The Department must take immediate action to amend existing regulations to allow new residents to apply for a serial number through its California Firearms Application Reporting System. Failure to take immediate action will threaten public safety, put new law-abiding residents at risk of violating the law, and create confusion for law enforcement.
California Code of Regulations, Title 11, Division 5, Chapter 41
Sections: 5505, 5507, 5509, 5510, 5511, 5513, 5514, 5516, 5517, 5518 and 5521
Status of the Proposal
This rulemaking is complete.
On January 28, 2020 the Office of Administrative Law approved the Department of Justice’s regulations regarding self manufactured and self assembled firearms and filed them with the Secretary of State. These regulations became operative on January 28, 2020.
45-Day Comment Period Documents
- Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (Including Informative Digest), pdf
- NOTE: The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking states the 45-day comment period will end on Monday, November 19, 2019. It should state Tuesday, November 19,2019.
- Text of Proposed Regulations, pdf
- Initial Statement of Reasons, pdf
- STD 399 Economic and Fiscal Impact Statement, pdf
- STD 400 (Part A), pdf
Final Rulemaking Documents
Anyone submitting a comment regarding a proposed action has the right to request a copy of the final statement of reasons
NOTE: This webpage will be deleted 12 months after the rulemaking is completed and the regulation is filed with the Secretary of State.