About the AG

  • Subscribe to the AG's RSS Feed
  • Join the AG's FaceBook
  • Follow the AG on Twitter
  • View the AG's YouTube Channel
  • View the AG's Tumblr Page

Credit Services Organization Registration Application

In order to obtain a Certificate of Registration from the Department of Justice as required by Califomia Civil Code section 1789.25, you must complete the application and provide all required documents. Please submit the application, along with a copy of your contract, information statement, separate notice of cancellation, and all other documents your organization requires the buyer to sign. Please send this information with a $100 filing fee made payable to the Department of Justice to:

Department of Justice
Attorney General's Office
P.O. Box 85266
San Diego, CA 92186-5266

Before a Certificate of Registration can be obtained, it will be necessary for the credit services organization to obtain a bond in the amount of $100,000, or make a deposit in lieu of the bond, and to file a copy with the Secretary of State. We will not issue the Certificate of Registration until the Secretary of State acknowledges that the bond or deposit has been properly filed. Please contact the Secretary of State to obtain the necessary forms.

Please contact the Secretary of State at the address below to obtain the form, or download a pdf copy from their web site.

Secretary of State
Special Filings Unit
1500 11th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

This application will not be processed until the completed application form, all required documents, and the $100 fee have been received, and the Secretary of State has acknowledged receipt of the bond or deposit.

Any Certificate of Registration issued will expire at the end of the year it is issued. It is your responsibility to renew your registration before January 1st of each year. No renewal notice or reminder will be sent.

You may obtain a copy of the application for registering your credit services organization, and read a copy of the law to learn important information on additional requirements, by clicking the links below.

Protecting Consumers

State & Federal Laws

You can search California laws on the Internet

California Law

View a checklist of significant California consumer laws

CA Dept of Consumer Affairs

Search U.S. laws on the Internet at U.S. Code

U.S. Code

Megan's Law

California Registered Sex Offender Database

Search Now

Megan's Law information is also available in these languages:

Site Navigation

Translate Website

  • Google™ Translation Disclaimer

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The Office of the Attorney General is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact:Bilingual Services Program at (916) 324-5482

A copy of this disclaimer can also be found on our Disclaimer page.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]