Information and Resources for Native American Victims of Crime

Victims’ Bill of Rights of 2008: Marsy’s Law

On November 4, 2008, the People of the State of California approved Proposition 9, the Victims’ Bill of Rights Act of 2008: Marsy’s Law. This measure amended the California Constitution to provide additional rights to victims. This card contains specific sections of the Victims’ Bill of Rights. Crime victims may obtain additional information regarding Marsy’s Law, resources and local Victim Witness Assistance Centers by contacting the Attorney General’s Victims’ Services Unit at 1-877-433-9069. A ‘victim’ is defined under the California Constitution as “a person who suffers direct or threatened physical, psychological, or financial harm as a result of the commission or attempted commission of a crime or delinquent act. The term ‘victim’ also includes the person’s spouse, parents, children, siblings, or guardian, and includes a lawful representative of a crime victim who is deceased, a minor, or physically or psychologically incapacitated. The term ‘victim’ does not include a person in custody for an offense, the accused, or a person whom the court finds would not act in the best interests of a minor victim.” (Cal. Const., art. I, § 28(e).)

Link: Native American Marsy's Card with Resources - English Version, pdf

For more information, please visit:

Sexual Assault Survivor’s Bill of Rights

Assembly Bill 1312 (Fletcher, 2017) amended sections of the penal code pertaining to victims of sexual assault and enhanced victims’ rights already granted by previous legislation. AB 1312 also added a new section to the penal code specific to local law enforcement. Section 680.2 mandates that all local law enforcement agencies develop a card that explains in a clear language the rights of sexual assault victims, and makes this card accessible to each provider in its jurisdiction responsible for medical evidentiary or physical examinations arising out of sexual assault (Cal. Pen. Code, § 680.2, subd. (a); (d).).

In an effort to assist local law enforcement agencies in meeting this requirement, the California Attorney General’s Office has developed the Sexual Assault Survivor’s Bill of Rights card that specifies all mandated information and can be used by any agency as their own. Simply download the card in any of the selected languages below and replace the prompts with agency information.

Link: Sexual Assault Survivor’s Bill of Rights card - English, pdf

For more information, visit:

Tribal Victim Services

Many tribal governments and tribal organizations also offer services for victims of crime. If you are a member of a tribe, you may wish to contact your tribe for more information about services and/or assistance they may offer for domestic violence, family services or other related services.

Tribal Victim Services Locations by Region

Click on an area of the map to view a listing of Tribal Victim Services, by region, in a specific geographical region of the State. This is not an exhaustive list of tribal victim service providers. The Attorney General does not endorse, have any responsibility for, or exercise control over these organizations’ and agencies’ views, services, and information.

Click to View the Northern California Region Click to View the Eastern Region Click to View the Central Region Click to View the Southern Region California Map Region

Northern - Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

Central - Alameda, Colusa, Contra Costa, Glenn, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Monterrey, Napa, San Benito, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, Yolo

Eastern - Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Inyo, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yuba

Southern - Imperial, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura